HjemGrupperSnakUdforskZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
SantaThing signup ends Monday at 12pm Eastern US. Check it out!
afvis
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Foundling (Monster Blood Tattoo, Book 1) af…
Indlæser...

Foundling (Monster Blood Tattoo, Book 1) (original 2006; udgave 2007)

af D. M. Cornish (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
1,1394813,445 (3.92)75
Having grown up in a home for foundlings and possessing a girl's name, Rossamünd sets out to report to his new job as a lamplighter and has several adventures along the way as he meets people and monsters who are more complicated that he previously thought. Includes glossaries and maps.
Medlem:Yesiks
Titel:Foundling (Monster Blood Tattoo, Book 1)
Forfattere:D. M. Cornish (Forfatter)
Info:Speak (2007), Edition: Reprint, 448 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

Monster Blood Tattoo, Book 1: Foundling af D. M. Cornish (2006)

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 75 omtaler

Engelsk (46)  Svensk (2)  Alle sprog (48)
Viser 1-5 af 48 (næste | vis alle)
Intrigued is the best term I can muster. While trying to place the place and time historically, the story sucked me in and I arrived at the end still wondering at the strange world the author has created. The tale of the unwanted or unrecognized child born on the wrong side of the sheets is basic to many such tales. The monsters I am still trying to figure out because it seems the main character has an affinity for them. On to the second book. Again trying to keep a scorecard in your mind is difficult when you aren't sure who is on whose side. Good job ( )
  bdinsman | Sep 10, 2020 |
Read all 3 one after the other. Great dark fantasy about the orphan boy Rossamund who has a girl's name and is teased while he lives in the Victorian style orphanage. R inhabits a world where magic and monsters are real, and people display their special magical gifts and abilities by dressing a certain way - shaving their hair, wearing outlandish costumes of special material and getting tattoos. If someone kills a monster in this world, they take the blood of the monster and mark themselves with it in a tattoo to show they have defeated the monster. I thought all three books were brilliant and the illustrations were great.
This series of books would appeal to lovers of fantasy like HP and also those who like their stories a bit on the dark side, and their heroes/heroines are not typical of what you might expect.
Good Reads Summary: Foundling begins the journey of Rossamund, a boy with a girl’s name, who is just about to begin a dangerous life in the service of the Emperor. What starts as a simple journey is threatened by encounters with monsters—and people, who may be worse. Learning who to trust and who to fear is neither easy nor without its perils, and Rossamund must choose his path carefully. ( )
  nicsreads | Aug 12, 2020 |
Listened to on CD with an effective narrator.

The story is absorbing with careful, almost Dickensian, attention to details of setting and character. Cornish departs from Dickens in depicting a menacing alternate world, a somewhat feckless but likeable protagonist and an adventure-filled plot. Might appeal to readers who liked Oppel's "Skybreaker" or Westerfeld's "Leviathan". ( )
  msmilton | Jul 18, 2018 |
Listened to on CD with an effective narrator.

The story is absorbing with careful, almost Dickensian, attention to details of setting and character. Cornish departs from Dickens in depicting a menacing alternate world, a somewhat feckless but likeable protagonist and an adventure-filled plot. Might appeal to readers who liked Oppel's "Skybreaker" or Westerfeld's "Leviathan". ( )
  msmilton | Jul 18, 2018 |
Rosamund is a foundling, a stray child, who has been raised in a foundlingery (an orphanage, of sorts) to become a sailor, but is instead hire out as a lamplighter. This first book in the Monster Blood Tattoo series tells the story of his adventure-filled journey from the orphanage to his new job, during which he meets monsters, a monster-fighter, wicked sailors, a brave postman, and a scary and mysterious guy who wears a box on his head.
The world-building in this first book is amazing and so intricate - so much so that there's an extensive glossary and set of appendices at the back to help the reader navigate so much new information. I like Rosamund a great deal, and I'll definitely come back to the series to learn more about the world Cornish has created. ( )
  electrascaife | Jul 2, 2018 |
Viser 1-5 af 48 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere (3 mulige)

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
D. M. Cornishprimær forfatteralle udgaverberegnet
Jacobsen, LeifOversættermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Lindgren, NilleOversættermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Lindgren, NilleOversættermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Chapter 1:

foundling (noun) also wastrel. Stray people, usually children, found without a home or shelter on the streets of cities or even, amazingly, wandering exposed in the wilds. The usual destinations for such orphaned children are workhouses, mills, or the mines, although a fortunate few may find their way to a foundlingery. Such a place can care for a small number of foundlings and wastrels, fitting them for a more productive life and sparing them the agonies of harder labor.
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Will and Mandii,
who were the first to believe
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Rossamünd was a boy with a girl's name.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk (2)

Having grown up in a home for foundlings and possessing a girl's name, Rossamünd sets out to report to his new job as a lamplighter and has several adventures along the way as he meets people and monsters who are more complicated that he previously thought. Includes glossaries and maps.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.92)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 16
2.5 5
3 34
3.5 18
4 88
4.5 11
5 61

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 164,366,098 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig