HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (2011)

af Catherynne M. Valente

Andre forfattere: Se andre forfattere sektionen.

Serier: The Girl Who (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
3,8042593,203 (4.06)334
Twelve-year-old September's ordinary life in Omaha turns to adventure when a Green Wind takes her to Fairyland to retrieve a talisman the new and fickle Marquess wants from the enchanted woods.
  1. 190
    Alice i eventyrland af Lewis Carroll (kaledrina, Crumble_Tumble)
    Crumble_Tumble: Both of these fantasy tales are a bit out there, a little crazy, a little hard to undestand. But once you get it, it's amazing. I LOVE these kinds of books
  2. 181
    The Phantom Tollbooth af Norton Juster (aarti, calmclam)
  3. 150
    Stjernestøv af Neil Gaiman (aarti, Jannes, rakerman)
    Jannes: Gaiman might be inspired by Dunsany and Mirrlees while Valente leans slightly more toward Carroll and Baum, but both of them are modern authors tackling the classic fairytale, both are great stylists, and both books are highly enjoyable.
    rakerman: Stardust is also a modern fairy tale, but I found it to be a much stronger book. The flow of chapter by chapter standalone encounters in The Girl was light and entertaining but for me had a weaker narrative flow than in Stardust.
  4. 123
    Non Lon Don af China Miéville (foggidawn)
  5. 80
    Troldmanden fra Oz af L. Frank Baum (ErisofDiscord)
  6. 81
    Coraline af Neil Gaiman (foggidawn)
  7. 60
    Palimpsest af Catherynne Valente (Jannes)
    Jannes: The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland was first concieved in Palimpsest as one of the protaginists' favourite book. Then it sort got a life of it's own, so to speak. Palimpsest is probably not for children, though.
  8. 50
    Nobody af Neil Gaiman (clfisha)
    clfisha: Its not a fairytale but if your looking for more inventive, rich and dark YA try this.
  9. 50
    Flora Segunda: Being the Magickal Mishaps of a Girl of Spirit, Her Glass-Gazing Sidekick, Two Ominous Butlers (One Blue), a House with Eleven Thousand Rooms, and a Red Dog af Ysabeau S. Wilce (macsbrains)
  10. 50
    De små blå mænd : en fortælling fra Diskverden af Terry Pratchett (MyriadBooks)
  11. 40
    At the Back of the North Wind af George MacDonald (rakerman)
    rakerman: Wind spirits play an important role in both The Girl and At the Back of the North Wind. The books both have aspects of wonder and sorrow, with a similar idea of a child taken away into a magical land.
  12. 73
    Harun og eventyrhavet af Salman Rushdie (lorax)
    lorax: Both are beautifully written fairy tales about young people traveling to another world, readable by kids but with much for adults to enjoy.
  13. 10
    Furthermore af Tahereh Mafi (aethercowboy)
  14. 10
    The Nex af Tim Pratt (TomWaitsTables)
  15. 21
    Peter Pan og Wendy af J. M. Barrie (MickyFine)
  16. 21
    Rose Daughter af Robin McKinley (baseballbabe)
  17. 10
    Dragonfly af Frederic S. Durbin (jessinfl)
  18. 00
    The Habitation of the Blessed af Catherynne M. Valente (LBV123)
  19. 11
    The Book of Lost Things af John Connolly (jessinfl)
  20. 00
    The Boy with the Cuckoo-Clock Heart af Mathias Malzieu (AlexDraven)

(se alle 27 anbefalinger)

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 334 omtaler

Engelsk (254)  Ungarsk (1)  Tysk (1)  Alle sprog (256)
Viser 1-5 af 256 (næste | vis alle)
"When you are born, your courage is new and clean. You are brave enough for anything: crawling off of staircases, saying your first words without fearing that someone will think you are foolish, putting strange things in your mouth. But as you get older, your courage attracts gunk and crusty things and dirt and fear and knowing how bad things can get and what pain feels like. By the time you're half-grown, your courage barely moves at all, it's so grunged up with living." ( )
1 stem sashery | Jan 29, 2024 |
This is a delightful, rich, well-written story. I had to read every single word or risk missing some lovely detail. I was devoted to the main character and her fascinating friends. There was an underlying creepy sexual vibe that occasionally made me uncomfortable (the 12 year old September is “ravished”, which in this context means brought to Fairyland by the Green Wind, but left me feeling a little uncomfortable. ( )
  mslibrarynerd | Jan 13, 2024 |
This book was about a very fine adventure. It should be read, out loud, to people of all ages, especially those who live in such interesting times as ours. ( )
  mimo | Dec 18, 2023 |
Valente creates a classic children's fantasy adventure in the vein of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz with touches of Terry Pratchett and Lemony Snicket. September, a twelve-year-old girl from Omaha, Nebraska is drawn into Fairyland. Soon agrees to help some witches by stealing back a wooden spoon from Fairyland's tyrannical ruler the Marquess. She is helped by A-Through-L, a hybrid wyvern and library, and a marid named Saturday. But the Marquess gives her another quest, to recover a magical sword, while simultaneously hindering all of September's efforts.

And all of this happens well before September circumnavigates Fairyland in a ship of her own making. This novel is wonderfully imaginative and funny, deconstructing fantasy literature while also celebrating it. I expect to be reading more novels in this series. ( )
  Othemts | Nov 15, 2023 |
I lived this book. Wonderful fairy tale with beautiful language. ( )
  cdaley | Nov 2, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 256 (næste | vis alle)
I won’t lie. Some folks do NOT like this book, and I can understand why that is. For me, though, this is just one of the smarter juxtapositions of the fantastical with the tongue-twisted. Here you have an author who clearly enjoys writing. And if that enjoyment seeps through the page and into the reader’s perceptions, then here is a book that they’ll clearly enjoy reading. A true original and like nothing you’ve really ever seen before.
tilføjet af PhoenixFalls | RedigerSchool Library Journal (Jun 1, 2011)
 
Told by an omniscient narrator who directly engages readers, the densely textured text deftly mixes and matches familiar fairytale elements, creating a world as bizarre and enchanting as any Wonderland or Oz and a heroine as curious, resourceful and brave as any Alice or Dorothy. Complex, rich and memorable.
tilføjet af melonbrawl | RedigerKirkus Reviews (Apr 1, 2011)
 
The book's appeal is crystal clear from the outset: this is a kind of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by way of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, made vivid by Juan's Tenniel-inflected illustrations.
tilføjet af PhoenixFalls | RedigerPublisher's Weekly (Mar 14, 2011)
 

» Tilføj andre forfattere

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Valente, Catherynne M.primær forfatteralle udgaverbekræftet
Juan, AnaIllustratormedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For all those who walked this strange road with me,
and held out their hands when I faltered.
This is a ship of our own making.
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Chapter 1

Exeunt on a Leopard
In Which a Girl Named September Is Spirited Off by Means of a Leopard, Learns the Rules of Fairyland, and Solves a Puzzle

Once upon a time, a girl named September grew very tired indeed of her parents' house, where she washed the same pink-and-yellow teacups and matching gravy boats every day, slept on the same embroidered pillow, and played with the same small and amiable dog.

Citater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
One ought not judge: All children are heartless. They have not grown up yet, which is why they can climb tall trees and say shocking things and leap so very high that grown-up hearts flutter in terror. Hearts weigh quite a lot. That is why it takes so long to grow one.

Hats have power. They can change you into someone else.

When one is traveling, everything looks brighter and lovelier. That does not mean it is brighter and lovelier; it just means that sweet, kindly home suffers in comparison to tarted-up foreign places with all their jewels on.

Stories have a way of changing faces. They are unruly things, undisciplined, given to delinquency and the throwing of erasers. This is why we must close them up into thick, solid books, so they cannot get out and cause trouble.
In September's world, many things began with pan. Pandemic, Pangaea, Panacea, Panoply. These were all big words, to be sure, but as has been said, September read often, and liked it best when words did not pretend to be simple, but put on their full armor and rode out with colors flying.
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk (1)

Twelve-year-old September's ordinary life in Omaha turns to adventure when a Green Wind takes her to Fairyland to retrieve a talisman the new and fickle Marquess wants from the enchanted woods.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.06)
0.5
1 15
1.5 1
2 37
2.5 5
3 130
3.5 42
4 319
4.5 54
5 312

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 202,143,441 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig