HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Not Without Hope af Nick Schuyler
Indlæser...

Not Without Hope (udgave 2010)

af Nick Schuyler (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
1379199,474 (3.47)2
Biography & Autobiography. Nonfiction. HTML:

Not Without Hope is the true story of the headline-making tragedy that took the lives of three football players: NFL stars Marquis Cooper and Corey Smith, and Will Bleakley from the University of South Florida. Told by the sole survivor of the ill-fated fishing trip, Nick Schuyler, with New York Times bestselling author and sports journalist Jere Longford, Not Without Hope is an inspiring and unforgettable story of courage and strength, friendship and loss, and, most importantly, hope, in the vein of Touching the Void, Into Thin Air, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Piers Paul Read's classic survival tale, Alive.

.… (mere)
Medlem:LeahWiederspahn
Titel:Not Without Hope
Forfattere:Nick Schuyler (Forfatter)
Info:William Morrow (2010), Edition: 1, 256 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:****
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

Not Without Hope af Nick Schuyler

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 2 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 9 (næste | vis alle)
I recently found a new YouTube channel that covers tragic events in history and one of the episodes featured this incredible story. At the end of the segment, they referenced this book, so I immediately went to my library and checked it out and read it cover to cover in one sitting.

I have quite the fear of open waters, and am very sensitive to motions, so I felt an almost claustrophobic feeling while I was reading. This is truly one of my biggest nightmares and I cannot even fathom what these men went through, and for Nick to have to watch his friends die one by one like that. Truly horrific!! I know I will never look at anchors the same again and my fears have been heightened to the ninth degree as far as my fear of open waters.

I don’t know how many times I was reading and wishing this was fiction. As soon as I would read one more tragic detail that was almost too much to bear there would be another moment even more excruciating, almost like the waves that crashed into the capsized boat. I teared up time after time as the inevitable came to fruition, my heart hurting right along with Nick, Marquis, Corey, and Will. When Nick screamed that final guttural, “WHY??” It echoed right along in my heart with him as tears streamed down my face.

This is in no way a story for the faint of heart. It hits so deep and so visceral that it’s almost physically painful at times to read. So many moments I had to put the book down and just take a breath. I felt like I was in another world after I finished reading, and this story hasn’t left my mind and heart since. Just like Nick, I found myself also thinking, “What if…” and thinking just how senseless this tragedy was. Why didn’t they heed the weather warnings? Was a $400 anchor really such a big price to pay? If they would’ve cut the line and went back in would this story have a better ending? We can only speculate and sadly it doesn’t change the outcome, so it’s pointless.

What I enjoyed the most about reading this book was all the parts where I got to know who these men were. Seeing how they all became friends and what brought them together was great. I just wish their story wouldn’t have had such a tragic ending. The writing is authentic and was like hearing a friend talk about a nightmare that they couldn’t wake up from. Thank you to Nick for his bravery in telling his truth.

I remember hearing about this when it happened, but I understand on such a deeper level now. Though it was a tough read I am so thankful and grateful that I had the opportunity to read it. I’ve heard there is a movie coming out in a few months and honestly, I don’t know if I have the emotional stamina to handle it. A very powerful and horrific story that I will never forget. ( )
  cflores0420 | Apr 2, 2024 |
Enjoyed this book a lot. A bit of a...eulogy for his lost buddies. Well written, though a bit too sporty and masculine at some points for me. I really didn't care exactly what type of excercises he did with his frineds... (squat this, crunch that, whatever...). And honestly, the majority of people that would be into that sort of specific info...[stero]typcially wouldn't be sitting down to read. But overall a really intersting story. ( )
  ShanLand | Feb 28, 2022 |
A tragic and haunting story that will leave you to draw your own conclusion because there's only 1 man who knows what really happened, and this is his story. A worst nightmare scenario. I personally loved the book and read it after watching him appear on NBC. Would recommend to anyone... ( )
  Mischenko | Nov 30, 2017 |
A riveting story, told quite poorly. Basic gist: a bunch of happenin' brewski-buddy "bros" go fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, capsize the boat, and one survives. It's a story of one bad and/or stupid choice after another - would have been great slapstick if it weren't so pathetically sad. How so much stupidity can be displayed in such a short time is mind-boggling.
I couldn't help but compare this story to something like "Alive" or Shackleton, where, in similar scarey situations, the men (boys, in the case of "Alive") all work together and face adversity as a unit. In great contrast, here are 4 egotistical "stud"s who all fight for "number 1" instead of working together and, as a result, only the most self-centered guy survives, allowing the others to work for his benefit. It was like a "Survivor" episode. And how shallow can these guys get?!! : the only survivor is in the hospital and bemoans the fact that all his 6-pack abs body building workouts have gone to waste - oh my! so sad! - it's gonna take him weeks, months! I tell you, to get back that physique... facepalm. ( )
  marshapetry | Jun 2, 2013 |
A well-written memoir about a horrifying and tragic trip. Mr. Schuyler recounts the circumstances that led to the deaths of three of his friends. What separates this book from other survivor stories is that Mr. Schuyler comes across as himself. He does not try to hide his arrogance or his confusion as to why he was the only one who survived. Whether this was on purpose or just how the book fell, I don't know but the ultimate outcome was that the book felt real. ( )
  sunnydrk | Mar 18, 2012 |
Viser 1-5 af 9 (næste | vis alle)
One year ago, athletic trainer Nick Schuyler survived for 43 hours clinging to an overturned boat in the Gulf of Mexico, in an accident that took the lives of two National Football League players and another friend. “Not Without Hope,” Schuyler’s memoir, recalls their profoundly sad struggle for life.
 
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Biography & Autobiography. Nonfiction. HTML:

Not Without Hope is the true story of the headline-making tragedy that took the lives of three football players: NFL stars Marquis Cooper and Corey Smith, and Will Bleakley from the University of South Florida. Told by the sole survivor of the ill-fated fishing trip, Nick Schuyler, with New York Times bestselling author and sports journalist Jere Longford, Not Without Hope is an inspiring and unforgettable story of courage and strength, friendship and loss, and, most importantly, hope, in the vein of Touching the Void, Into Thin Air, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Piers Paul Read's classic survival tale, Alive.

.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.47)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 5
2.5 1
3 8
3.5 1
4 7
4.5 1
5 8

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 204,788,187 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig