HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

A Pride of Kings (The Plantagenets Book 1)…
Indlæser...

A Pride of Kings (The Plantagenets Book 1) (udgave 2016)

af Juliet Dymoke (Forfatter)

Serier: The Plantagenets (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingSamtaler
452435,921 (3.44)Ingen
Condemned by King Stephen.Loved by King Henry.Honoured by King Richard.Betrayed by King John.For William Marshall, the greatest knight of the realm, serving royalty is an unpredictable business. * * *Having survived the threat of beheading from Stephen as a child, Marshall rises from nothing to a place in court serving King Henry II.Accused of acting on his love for the beautiful Queen Margaret, William is saved by his trust and loyalty to the King.But the battle for the throne is relentless, and when Henry's own son John rises against him, William must decide if he can remain loyal to the crown...A Pride of Kings, the first in the Plantagenet series, is an epic chronicle of love, heroism, loyalty and betrayal in one of the most fascinating periods of English history.Ideal for fans of Sharon Kay Penman, Elizabeth Chadwick or Jean Plaidy.… (mere)
Medlem:baileysgran
Titel:A Pride of Kings (The Plantagenets Book 1)
Forfattere:Juliet Dymoke (Forfatter)
Info:Three Castles Media Ltd. (2016), Edition: 3, 160 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:historical fiction, Plantagenet, Edward II

Detaljer om værket

A Pride of Kings af Juliet Dymoke

Ingen.

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

Viser 2 af 2
Enjoyable

I enjoyed this book on William Marshall. I only knew a little about him from other I about other people. This is the first story that was centered around him. He was a great and most loyal knight even when it was difficult to do so. I look forward to the other books in the series. ( )
  ChrisCaz | Feb 23, 2021 |
A Pride of Kings is the first in a series of six books featuring the Plantagenet kings and queens. As the back of this book says, this is ”a series of historical novels which tell the story of the Plantagenet monarchs through the eyes of the men and women who served them, loved them, or betrayed them, and in so doing, helped shape the events of English history.”

This book focuses on the story of William Marshal, the man who served Henry II and his sons, in the late 12th and early 13th centuries. The novel is a short one, but it follows William Marshal from 1168 up nearly until his death, jumping a lot in time (for example, one minute William’s marrying Isabel; the next minute their daughter—and third child—is being born). Comparisons will inevitably be drawn between this book and Elizabeth Chadwick’s The Greatest Knight; and by extension, Sharon Kay Penman’s novels on Henry II and his family. Chadwick’s book is much more meatier than A Pride of Kings, but this novel is enjoyable nonetheless (and it’s less rose-colored and awe-struck in its treatment of William Marshal than The Greatest Knight).

It’s less the story of William Marshal, and it focuses more on the Plantagenet family, for all their flaws. A Pride of Kings sometimes skimps on the details, but it’s a pretty straightforward novelization of the lives of the Plantagenets, as seen through the eyes of one who served them. It’s a pleasant book, and Dymoke's style is very readable (apart from the misspellings), but fans of Elizabeth Chadwick and Sharon Kay Penman may be disappointed. ( )
  Kasthu | Dec 28, 2009 |
Viser 2 af 2
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Condemned by King Stephen.Loved by King Henry.Honoured by King Richard.Betrayed by King John.For William Marshall, the greatest knight of the realm, serving royalty is an unpredictable business. * * *Having survived the threat of beheading from Stephen as a child, Marshall rises from nothing to a place in court serving King Henry II.Accused of acting on his love for the beautiful Queen Margaret, William is saved by his trust and loyalty to the King.But the battle for the throne is relentless, and when Henry's own son John rises against him, William must decide if he can remain loyal to the crown...A Pride of Kings, the first in the Plantagenet series, is an epic chronicle of love, heroism, loyalty and betrayal in one of the most fascinating periods of English history.Ideal for fans of Sharon Kay Penman, Elizabeth Chadwick or Jean Plaidy.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.44)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 4
4.5
5

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 155,750,802 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig