HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Through Wolf's Eyes (Wolf, Book 1) af Jane…
Indlæser...

Through Wolf's Eyes (Wolf, Book 1) (original 2001; udgave 2002)

af Jane Lindskold (Forfatter)

Serier: Firekeeper Saga (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
1,2562015,637 (3.86)29
Dnf it was well written it has good concept I just don’t have the attention span ( )
  kittyfoyle | Apr 23, 2024 |
Viser 20 af 20
Dnf it was well written it has good concept I just don’t have the attention span ( )
  kittyfoyle | Apr 23, 2024 |
An old college friend recently informed me that her roommate Jane became a popular science fiction writer. I remember them both being huge sci fi fans and I actually tried reading a few books sci fi books while in college to see what all the hoopla was about.Actually never did see what the fascination was all about. But after 25 years I figured it couldn't hurt to pick up one of Jane's books and give the genre another try.
I've always been fascinated with wolves so I selected Through Wolf's Eyes. And while I did enjoy the whole girl being raised by wolves theme, which was the sole focus of the 100 pages of the book. In the next 400 pages the wolf girl becomes almost secondary to all the petty bickering between the members of the noble families striving to become the next monarch. And unfortunately, all this petty bickering just bored me silly. ( )
  kevinkevbo | Jul 14, 2023 |
I had such high hopes for this book. As someone who loves both fantasy and wolves, this series seemed like a perfect fit for my tastes... but instead, I admit I was tempted to abandon it at various points, and for the first time I can remember, I decided to simply actively skim whole chapters devoted to particular characters. That is, obviously, not a good sign for how I felt about the book as a whole.

On its surface, the concept here is simple--and I think that's where its power lies. For me, the chapters that focused on Firekeeper, her wolf companion Blind Seer, and their immediate companions were the heart of the work, and although I would have liked a bit more attention to be paid to Blind Seer--rather than him sometimes seeming only like a human voice in wolf form vs an actual wolf--those chapters felt engaging and true to the concept that made me pick up the book. Unfortunately, I'd say that half of this book was devoted to exploring court lineage and intrigue, to the extent of including full chapters focused on characters who, truly, the reader didn't need to get to know at anywhere near such length. The book would have been so much stronger if the writer had forced herself to stick to telling the story through chapters focused on Firekeeper and her immediate companions. Instead, however, it felt as if Lindskold wanted to spend time explaining every bit of world-building she'd come up with and every character's family--even if, in the end, they'd have no real effect on the story.

I suspect that, had this book been around 300 pages instead of near 600, I would have raved about it and immediately ordered the rest of the series. As things stand, I doubt I'll read anything more from the author. I do already have the second book in the series--I got it together with the first, I was so sure I'd enjoy this--so I may look at the book jacket and see if it sounds like there's a stronger focal point in the second book, but it's just as possible that I'll simply give the book away. This was an incredibly disappointing read, and I suspect the author was more interested in writing about court intrigue than fantasy, but thought this would be an angle through which to sell court politics. Certainly, that's how it felt. ( )
  whitewavedarling | Apr 29, 2021 |
"Too many side characters&subplots. Darian Carter does not seem like a real person--one reviewer called him too damn lucky. I hope Lindskold does something with the UST she's built up w/ Firekeeper and Carter. Soon. Firekeeper is a damn cool character." ( )
  treehorse | Nov 7, 2019 |
I loved this book. The character of firekeeper was engaging and her understanding and interpretation of the people she encountered was fascinating. I loved how she was a loved and valued member of the wolf pack. I'm very eager to read the next book in the series. ( )
  bradylouie | Jan 22, 2017 |
A young girl, raised by Royal wolves [bigger and smarter] is taken back to medieval civilization as the possible heir of a kingdom. Turns out she isn't, but she ends up saving the King and helping the kingdom.

The first in at least 6 Wolf novels. This was a very enjoyable read. There was NO angst, no bitter self-recriminations. The author kept the emotional tone of the book upbeat, forward moving and didn't let you get mired in despair and the past. Worth getting in hardback. ( )
  BookstoogeLT | Dec 10, 2016 |
Excellent start for what should be a fine series. Great set of characters good and bad, though the latter do get whittled down slightly in the course of the story. Firekeeper with her wild falcon and wolf compadres transition well into the ranks of nobility added and tutored by the faithful Derian. The plebeian names of the nobles such as Lord Oyster, are a little disconcerting initially but are easier to manage than the more fanciful ones created by other authors. Looking forward to Book 2. ( )
  jamespurcell | Jun 4, 2015 |
I just could not get into it. The writing was bland, the characters blander, and the plot entirely predictable. ( )
  jen.e.moore | Jul 15, 2014 |
Okay, so, to start: This book includes (1) a world map, (2) a royal family tree, and (3) a glossary of characters. Any guesses as to why supplementary materials like these are included in so many fantasy novels? SO THAT EXTRANEOUS WORLD-BUILDING FACTOIDS DON'T NEED TO BE REVEALED THROUGH OVERLY-EXPOSITORY NARRATION OR DIALOGUE.

And yet that constituted 40% of the book.

There was a scene in which one cousin recounts to another HIS WHOLE FAMILY'S NAMES. To his cousin. Who has known this family all her life. In another scene, a character explains that the border between the primary country and its greatest rival is a river -- as if this wouldn't be common knowledge (and readily visible in the aforementioned map). Several pages are dedicated to an Old-Testament-style recounting of who begat whom; quite a few more describe the geological events that formed a once-used setting. To put it briefly: far too much time was spent agonizing over unnecessary or oft-repeated details.

The premise was great; the plot was decent; the writing put me to sleep. Luckily, the pace picked up CONSIDERABLY in the last quarter of the book, which got me through it. The sequel's been gathering dust on my shelf for the last decade or so (which is actually why I picked this one up), so I'll give a run at that next, but if the writing is as torturous as in this one, I'll put it aside within the first hundred pages. ( )
  NeitherNora | Sep 7, 2013 |
In typical epic fantasy style, Through Wolf's Eyes is both long and filled to the brim with characters to remember. There are lots of battles and backstabbings, too. Additionally, there is a hint of magic, not the spell kind, but a subtler magic, talents certain people have for gardening or healing or working with animals. The world building here is excellent and I liked the idea of the girl raised by wolves and of the Greater animals. (There are Great wolves, the kind who raised Firekeeper, who are smarter and larger than regular wolves; the same is true of other animals, like falcons.)

The cast of characters, too, is quite likable, although I did not get too especially attached to most of them. Firekeeper is interesting, but not yet really a fitting heroine. She is too much wolf yet to have any romantic entanglements with her own kind or to involve herself too deeply. Derian, who becomes responsible for her training, is a good guy, who I think could become quite a good fellow later on. My favorite character by far is Doc, Jared; he's just such an intelligent sweetie pie. I actually quite liked King Tedric, as well. Lady Elise started out as a bit of an airhead, but grows into a much better character. Lady Sapphire is a bit tetchy and whiny, but kicks serious ass.

For those who do not read epic fantasy, I should warn that with this novel especially, but also the genre generally, the plot often moves kind of slowly. There will be exciting battles here and there, but there is a lot of necessary back story and plot development to get through, so there will almost always be some parts that drag and some completely irritating characters you have to follow along with. Through Wolf's Eyes definitely has slow parts and has less action than most, focusing primarily on the search for an heir to Hawk Haven, although I promise there are battles and such later on.

So far this is a good read, if a bit slow, and I look forward to reading the next, which is good, because I'm planning to read through the whole series. ( )
  A_Reader_of_Fictions | Apr 1, 2013 |
This book was really good. I thoroughly enjoyed Firekeeper's character and her unique point of view. I have to admit that my eyes started to glaze over with some of the political parts of it, but only because I've never enjoyed politics of any sort in a book, not because of poor writing.

I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fantasy and animal magic. ( )
  ShannaRedwind | Mar 31, 2013 |
Three and a half stars, curse Goodreads' rating system. Oh well.

I can't help feeling this must have been kind of a hard sell. "The primary heirs to the throne have all died, and a nobleman decides to make a play for greater power by going in search of a missing, disinherited prince and his family, and finds what appears to be the prince's daughter, who has been raised by wolves since about the age of five..."

Making it less ridiculous an idea is that this *is* a fantasy novel, in which the wolves involved in the raising are a higher order of creature - royal wolves, smarter, faster, stronger, etc. They have raised the girl as one of their own as far as they can, sorely lacking in the depth of senses but compensated by abilities even greater wolves cannot attain. She is Firekeeper, which is self-explanatory.

There has always been a prophecy among the wolves that she would return to her own kind, and she does so when she braves the camp of Kestrel, the aforementioned nobleman. The first person she meets is Derian Carter (in this world one's surname generally indicates profession), and before he knows what hit him he is her bodyguard and teacher, trying to instill in her as much civilized behavior and language as possible.

This could have been deeply annoying. So often use of pidgin or elementary English rings false and serves only to cause irritation, and many writers make the unfortunate choice to linger over the character's misadventures with fork and ballgown; this wasn't bad. If anything, I thought Firekeeper advanced a little too quickly, but what do I know? Maybe she's just that clever and Derian is just a very good teacher.

The relationships in and around the keep are well done. I keep expecting it to be more George R.R. Martin, as there are a few similarities in worldbuilding and tone, but this is a brighter world, with more people who can be trusted (seemingly). Firekeeper makes a few friends quickly, and while this had me flinching at first, I soon found it safe to stop: she does not seem likely to come to harm with them.

Firekeeper is a fascinating character, and rings true: an intelligent young woman who would rather be like the only family she has ever known, but who accepts the duty of being human and among nobles (for the time being). She is never ashamed of not being human, nor of not being wolf - wolves don't feel shame, therefore neither does she. I like that that isn't drummed out of her; I could wish it would rub off on some of her friends. She does well enough with learning to speak, but reading and art appreciation escapes her: wolves also don't rely heavily on visuals to get by in the world. Her best friend, Blind Seer, is wonderful, all wolf and gorgeous, and the peregrine falcon who also watches her back is nicely done - anthropomorphism at its best. Among the humans, the bad guys are a little cliched and gloating evil-for-evil's-sake, but the protagonistic characters are good folk. I like Derian, a great deal. The Duke who takes her as his ward had his own interests at heart from the beginning - but he also takes very seriously the duties he took on with her. He won't cast her off just because she might not become what he hoped.

Things were going along very nicely, the climax was winding down, when suddenly Chapter 28 came along like a solid brick wall. Suddenly the book goes from fairly solid story-telling to ... infodump. Pure and unadulterated infodump. It could be construed as being Allister's ponderings, but no: I can't think of a more perfect example of infodump. And I think it's safe to say that, having skimmed it, it wasn't really necessary. There had to have been other ways to get that information out than to spend five dense pages talking about the past several monarchies. Bad, bad idea, and one major reason I didn't go higher with my rating.

More extensive review on my blog: http://agoldoffish.wordpress.com/2011/06/03/through-wolfs-eyes-jane-lindskold ( )
1 stem Stewartry | Jun 12, 2011 |
Firekeeper has spent a lot of her life living with wolves, she doesn't really remember her human family. She now has to try to fit back into this world where they believe that she's an heir to the throne and while learning about humanity is difficult, learning how to be royal is even more difficult.

It's an interesting story with a great strong main character who really stands up for herself. ( )
  wyvernfriend | Jul 25, 2010 |
The king is near death, and all but one of his clear heirs have already died. In a bit of political maneuvering, one earl ventures out to find the dispossessed youngest son, whose settlement in the wilderness disappeared years before. When he brings back a feral young woman, he tries to pass her off as the king's granddaughter - adding yet another complication into the already problematic succession. From there, this book turns into a fairly normal, involved political fantasy, but with it all seen through the eyes of a girl raised by larger-than-normal, smarter-than-normal wolves. This hook, and the excellent writing, kept me interested and reading on, despite my general ambivalence for convoluted plot-lines and large character lists with titles and complicated relationships. ( )
1 stem Larkken | Feb 22, 2010 |
Not what I thought it was. I was expecting another of Jane's Athanor novels, or something similar. Instead, something more like Pat Murphy's Wild Angel - a feral child book, although in a fantasy setting.Why so many feral wolf women books, I wonder? I seem to have read quite a few lately. Continued aftereffects of pop psychology like _Women who run with the Wolves_? Seems a healthy subgenre, but it's not exactly producing blockbusters.The ending was not very good. Bad Ending! Bad! No cookie!I was expecting the story to end, even though I'd realized there might be a sequel. Instead, it just seemed to stop. The main problem had been resolved, but in a sort of by the way manner. And then I turned the next page and there wasn't any more story on it. ( )
  krisiti | Jul 1, 2009 |
This is the first novel in a fantasy series about a very complex and fascinating world. Despite the cover, it’s not just about a girl and a pack of wolves, by far. She’ll travel far and discover all sorts of places and cultures. Yes, unlike most fantasy worlds, this one is actually filled with different countries, with their histories, traditions, ways of life, etc. There is also a growing number of interesting characters, and the main heroine herself is also a fairly complex (and likeable) person. Strong female characters have been fashionable as of late, but sadly many of them seem to have been born from the desire to supply the demand rather than inspiration, and much as I like the idea itself, Firekeeper is actually the first such heroine I’ve read about who seems like a real human being rather than an artificial construct. Even villains in this series resemble real-life people rather than demonic personifications of a thirst for power or other dark yearnings. The same naturalness applies to the plot, which is the opposite of conventional, to put it mildly – all my predictions regarding book 1 came to naught, and then I simply stopped making any. Also remarkably, the series maintains its high quality throughout its 6 novels. It was a treat to read, and describes one of the very few fantasy worlds I wish I could visit for real. ( )
  Ella_Jill | Feb 28, 2009 |
Not as terrible as I thought it'd be, considering the title. The 'rise' from girl raised by wolves to city lady is not ridiculous, and not complete—she's still very much a thing of the wild. So no meteoric change to princess or anything, just learning human stuff. This is so very much part of a series and I guess it's a good intro, but not enough for me to want to read the rest of the dang things.Some hints at magic, which is pretty whatever. Most interesting parts are how the court is run (everybody is in-fighting to be chosen as the King's heir). Royalty is portrayed as human and sometimes stupid, sometimes nice. Good for the writer. ( )
1 stem bzedan | Nov 17, 2008 |
Jane Lindskold's "Through Wolf's Eyes" is primarily a story about a woman - Blysse - raised by intelligent wolves who is brought into court, thought to be the granddaughter of the old, heir-less King. The early portion of the book covers her leaving the company of wolves and going with an expedition of men who went looking for the (now dead) son of the king, and her initial adjustment to living with humans.

The bulk of the book follows the politics of the local Kingdom Hawk Haven and Blysse's passage through it (with her wolf kin Blind Seer and falcon Elation). The relationships between the aristocrats and their jockeying for the throne is dizzying at first - it would be best to look at the one page genealogy chart before starting on Part II of book - but aren't ultimately too complicated, as the book centers around a few major players. As the book proceeds, increasing amounts of time are spent in chapters from the perspective of characters other than Blysse.

Most of the characters are effectively drawn, but the best chapters are those from the perspective of Blysse, who is very much a product of her upbringing among wolves; the book leaves her for perhaps too long stretches later on. The worst parts are from the perspective of Prince Newell, a ridiculously cackling villain with some truly abysmal plotting for the throne. The machinations of others, and especially the uncertain witchcraft of Melina Shield (is it real or just psychological?), are far better.

Although on balance the early chapters are the best part of the book, the later portions are not a big letdown; "Through Wolf's Eyes" is a good fantasy. ( )
2 stem agis | Apr 12, 2008 |
I picked this book up as a lark not really knowing what to expect, but liking the title I thought I'd give it a try. I really was not disapointed. The book seems on the surface like many other fantasy novels. A girl is raised by wolves an must conform the human world etc, etc. However, however the book is much more than that Firekeeper is an interesting and dynamic character and Blind Seer just as thought out and remains true to his own character. Its interesting that book has so many characters, but I never really found myself overwhelmed or thinging that people were flat. In fact, many of the characters evolve in completely unexpected, but believable ways. You may finding yourself loving a character you once hated. The whole world is equally rich and full. Overall, I loved this book and speeded through it. The rest of the series is equally enjoyable and I would hightly recommend it to everyone who enjoys great characters and a fast fun plot. ( )
  Nikkles | Apr 16, 2007 |
A new take on the wild-child-raised-by-animals archetype; in this case, the animals in question are as intelligent as humans. Firekeeper, the wolf-girl, is brought back into human society after living with Royal wolves for as long as she can remember. Her perspective on human society is an interesting one, with her comparisons to wolf society and her thoughts on what does or does not make sense. For example, in her mind, the castle gardener ranks higher than the nobles, or should, because the gardener provides food. Overall, a very well written and thought provoking book. ( )
  dragonimp | Apr 11, 2007 |
Viser 20 af 20

Aktuelle diskussioner

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.86)
0.5 1
1 2
1.5 2
2 12
2.5 6
3 52
3.5 17
4 94
4.5 12
5 65

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 207,330,329 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig