HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Godkiller (Fallen Gods Book 1) (English…
Indlæser...

Godkiller (Fallen Gods Book 1) (English Edition) (original 2023; udgave 2023)

af Hannah Kaner (Autor)

Serier: Fallen Gods (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
9142023,366 (4.01)2
Fantasy. Fiction. Literature. HTML:

"A richly rendered world . . . Kaner writes action that's both fun and intelligible . . . If "The Last of Us" didn't slake your thirst for stories of a grizzled fighter taking a tough kid on the road, then Godkiller should be your jam."?? The Washington Post

"Godkiller will have you in its grasp from the first pages. . . An extraordinary journey." ?? Samantha Shannon, New York Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree

Enter a land of gods and monsters, soldiers and mercenaries, secrets and wishes??the explosive #1 internationally bestselling fantasy debut in a new trilogy for fans of The Witcher and Gideon the Ninth

Gods are forbidden in the kingdom of Middren. Formed by human desires and fed by their worship, there are countless gods in the world??but after a great war, the new king outlawed them and now pays "godkillers" to destroy any who try to rise from the shadows.

As a child, Kissen saw her family murdered by a fire god. Now, she makes a living killing them and enjoys it. But all this changes when Kissen is tasked with helping a young noble girl with a god problem. The child's soul is bonded to a tiny god of white lies, and Kissen can't kill it without ending the girl's life too.

Joined by a disillusioned knight on a secret quest, the unlikely group must travel to the ruined city of Blenraden, where the last of the wild gods reside, to each beg a favor. Pursued by assassins and demons, and in the midst of burgeoning civil war, they will all face a reckoning. Something is rotting at the heart of their world, and they are the only ones who can stop it.

"An epic fantasy odyssey begins . . . Kaner's debut is incredibly inclusive . . . It delivers high action while centering on characters that are not often depicted this fully."?? Entertainment Weekly

"Beautifully imagined and intensely felt . . . Godkiller is a bone-rattling fantasy thriller that flies by in a breathtaking rush." ?? Joe Hill, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Locke & Key

"Epic and intimate, tender and sharp, Godkiller is a triumph of storytelling." ?? Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For t… (mere)

Medlem:Kmanselm
Titel:Godkiller (Fallen Gods Book 1) (English Edition)
Forfattere:Hannah Kaner (Autor)
Info:Harper Voyager (2023), 293 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

Godkiller af Hannah Kaner (2023)

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 2 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 19 (næste | vis alle)
The world of Godkiller is one in which small and often helpful spirits like those that find lost keys, or who aid fertility, can absorb the energy of worship and grow into powerful beings - called gods by their followers - whose greed for more worship and more power corrupts them, making them harmful and malevolent. These are the gods that Kissen kills for a living, and as we meet these gods we are glad she does. But one day she meets a little girl who is somehow bonded to a small spirit, a god of white lies. It seem that if she kills the god the girl might die too. Who's ever heard of this? The girl, Inara, is on the run from the killers of her family. Kissen agrees to take Inara and her little god to a place where they can perhaps be unbound. Along the way they meet Elo, who is on a quest to save the king.

This is the first book in the series and I liked it. The characters and place are believable. The writing is good. There is enough intrigue in the story to leave me wanting to read the entire series. ( )
  Dokfintong | Apr 25, 2024 |
Kissen's family were killed by people trying to appease a fire god, now she kills gods and yearns to avenge herself on the one god who changed her life forever and robbed her of her leg.
Skedi is the god of white lies and is bound to Inara who suddenly finds herself without her family, who yearns to loosen the bonds between her and this little god, but fears her future in a country where gods and god worshiping is forbidden.
Elogast is a baker, a good baker, but in his past he was a knight, until he wasn't and now he has a mission to help a friend, one that just might change the world.
Twisty with relationships that build in the story and characters who have a lot of scars, outside and inside and I immediately reserved the sequel. ( )
  wyvernfriend | Apr 23, 2024 |
Oh, wow. This was… bad, really bad. I expected this to be fantasy while in fact this is a young-adult novel that feels like it was written by a teenager.

Kissen (I’m sorry but as a German, I’m having a hard time with this name…), our queer, one-legged hero, goes on an adventure with a former knight, childhood friend of the king, a spoilt brat, Inara, from a noble house - a house that was literally burned down, including Inara’s beloved servants, and mother. Inara also has a pest problem, manifesting as a god (of white lies).

Among that lies naive romance, attempted-coming-of-age, fantasy-lite and a looooong journey that drags and drags and… You get the gist.

The writing is also mediocre at best and, even worse, errors abound: »Kissen wasn’t going to let him stupid that easily.«

Thankfully, that was the most aggravating mistake but, still, a disgrace.

I’m abandoning this at 70% to later slumber on my Kissen.

One star out of five.

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Mastodon | Instagram | Pinterest | Medium | Matrix | Tumblr

Ceterum censeo Putin esse delendam

Ceterum censeo Putin esse delendam ( )
  philantrop | Apr 15, 2024 |
The fates of a Godkiller, a baker, and a young girl and her pet God intertwine in this fantasy novel. I really wanted to like this more than I did, but for some reason neither the world, the story nor the characters really captured my interest. However, it really picked up by the end and pushed me into probable sequel-reading territory. ( )
  73pctGeek | Apr 12, 2024 |
This book has an amazing cast of protagonists with Kissen, Elo, and Inara. All haunted by a past that has nearly broken them, much like their country in the aftermath of a brutal war. I loved their slow-burn relationship and the way that truths about Elo's past and Inara's identity gradually came out. And that final horrible plot twist where Arren was actually just manipulating Elo so he could get more power -- wow! And the ending was just perfect -- I'm so glad that all of them lived, and that Inara has come into her power. (I still don't trust Skedi though.)

Oh, and Kissen's found family from way back -- love them, they're awesome! ( )
  lavaturtle | Feb 26, 2024 |
Viser 1-5 af 19 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Fantasy. Fiction. Literature. HTML:

"A richly rendered world . . . Kaner writes action that's both fun and intelligible . . . If "The Last of Us" didn't slake your thirst for stories of a grizzled fighter taking a tough kid on the road, then Godkiller should be your jam."?? The Washington Post

"Godkiller will have you in its grasp from the first pages. . . An extraordinary journey." ?? Samantha Shannon, New York Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree

Enter a land of gods and monsters, soldiers and mercenaries, secrets and wishes??the explosive #1 internationally bestselling fantasy debut in a new trilogy for fans of The Witcher and Gideon the Ninth

Gods are forbidden in the kingdom of Middren. Formed by human desires and fed by their worship, there are countless gods in the world??but after a great war, the new king outlawed them and now pays "godkillers" to destroy any who try to rise from the shadows.

As a child, Kissen saw her family murdered by a fire god. Now, she makes a living killing them and enjoys it. But all this changes when Kissen is tasked with helping a young noble girl with a god problem. The child's soul is bonded to a tiny god of white lies, and Kissen can't kill it without ending the girl's life too.

Joined by a disillusioned knight on a secret quest, the unlikely group must travel to the ruined city of Blenraden, where the last of the wild gods reside, to each beg a favor. Pursued by assassins and demons, and in the midst of burgeoning civil war, they will all face a reckoning. Something is rotting at the heart of their world, and they are the only ones who can stop it.

"An epic fantasy odyssey begins . . . Kaner's debut is incredibly inclusive . . . It delivers high action while centering on characters that are not often depicted this fully."?? Entertainment Weekly

"Beautifully imagined and intensely felt . . . Godkiller is a bone-rattling fantasy thriller that flies by in a breathtaking rush." ?? Joe Hill, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Locke & Key

"Epic and intimate, tender and sharp, Godkiller is a triumph of storytelling." ?? Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For t

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.01)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5 1
3 11
3.5 7
4 26
4.5 7
5 20

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 205,728,003 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig