HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

The Collected Regrets of Clover

af Mikki Brammer

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
5252446,244 (4.05)3
Fiction. Literature. HTML:

"This weird, lovely and sweetly satisfying novel [is] engaging and accessible...Clover's emergence from a shuttered life is moving enough to elicit tears, and Brammer's take on death and grieving is profound enough to feel genuinely instructional." ????The New York Times Book Review

What's the point of giving someone a beautiful death if you can't give yourself a beautiful life?

From the day she watched her kindergarten teacher drop dead during a dramatic telling of Peter Rabbit, Clover Brooks has felt a stronger connection with the dying than she has with the living. After the beloved grandfather who raised her dies alone while she is traveling, Clover becomes a death doula in New York City, dedicating her life to ushering people peacefully through their end-of-life process.
Clover spends so much time with the dying that she has no life of her own, until the final wishes of a feisty old woman send Clover on a trip across the country to uncover a forgotten love story????and perhaps, her own happy ending. As she finds herself struggling to navigate the uncharted roads of romance and friendship, Clover is forced to examine what she really wants, and whether she'll have the courage to go after it.
Probing, clever, and hopeful, The Collected Regrets of Clover is perfect for readers of The Midnight Library and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine as it turns the normally taboo subject of death into a reason to celebrat
… (mere)

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 3 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 22 (næste | vis alle)
I’m not going to lie, it took me 2/3 of this book before it came to a point where I didn’t want to put it down. During those slow times, I pondered about a 3.5 or a 4 as a rating. Thank god I continued on and didn’t rate until the end. This book is a 5, and here’s why.

Clover is a death doula - which is to say that she sits with and helps those dying navigate their end of life. She is also an extreme loaner. Raised from the age of 6 by her grandpa when her parents passed away, Clover fell into her profession due to a personal regret; not being with her grandfather when he passed.

Throughout the years following her grandpa’s death, Clover, who is well into her 30s, has never had a romantic relationship. She’s never been loved in that way, she hasn’t even been kissed. So when she is hired by Sebastian, a quirky, yet handsome man from a wealthy family to be a doula for his beloved grandmother, Clover thinks her luck has changed.

In the background of Clover’s tiny circle is her 89-year-old neighbor, Leo, and the new resident to her New York City’s building, Sylvie. Leo and Sylvie weave there way unexpectedly throughout Clover’s life and encourage her, along with her new charge, the illustrious Claudia, who is dying of cancer, to see life through a new lens, to take the advice of her previous clients and live her life.

The Collected Regrets of Clover comes to a beautiful crescendo when Clover meets Hugo, the grandson of Claudia’s long-lost love, and he helps Clover piece her life together.

The prose throughout is well-written, and the ending is simply beautiful. I can’t say I’m a note in the margin kinda gal, but two sentences in this book now have sticky notes on them and I leave them with you to ponder and to encourage you to read Mikki Brammer’s book, you won’t regret it. [WARNING: If you don’t want to spoil two of the best lines in the book, don’t read the next two paragraphs.]

First, when Claudia is revealing some of her regrets to Clover she rawly states what so many feel: “I mostly regret putting the needs of others ahead of my own. But as a woman, that’s what I was taught to do. Your husband, your children, your parents — their happiness all mattered more. You were always someone’s wife, or mother, or daughter before you were yourself. It’s like I didn’t live my life for myself, as myself. Like I wasted what I was given.” —Oof. If that doesn’t resonate.

Second: “...maybe we have different business with the same souls in each lifetime. And it doesn’t always work out how we want it to in every one of them.” —I LOVE this. There is hope for people with regret thinking they let their true love get away. ( )
  LyndaWolters1 | Apr 3, 2024 |
Story of Clover, a death doula, who discoveres herself and decides to live outside of her comfort zone. ( )
  janismack | Mar 9, 2024 |
Very unusual topic for fiction in this category, but well done. ( )
  libq | Feb 6, 2024 |
This beautifully written story has its ups and downs, but it's main goal is to make you reflect and feel hopeful about life. And that it does. Clover takes us for a journey, that sometimes feels too real, to let people in.

The main negative point is that some of the characters feel too one dimensional.

Some of my favourite quotes from this book:
“But the secret to a beautiful death is to live a beautiful life. Putting your heart out there. Letting it get broken. Taking chances. Making mistakes.”
"That’s the thing about loneliness: no one ever chooses it." ( )
  omseijas | Feb 3, 2024 |
This is a story about a young woman who is a death doula. Clover helps people transition from this life into death, preparing them. When they voice their regrets, she collects them in a series of journals, and later acts on them, to alleviate the regret from those who are died.
Sebastian hires Clover to care for his ailing grandmother. Originally, she is unable to tell Claudia the reason she is visiting, and instead Clover asks Claudia about her life as a photojournalist. When Clover shows Claudia and old picture of Hugo, Claudia reveals her regret-which was not marrying Hugo. Clover hopes to find Hugo before Claudia dies, to give them a chance to connect 60 years later.
So touching and beautiful. ( )
  rmarcin | Nov 20, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 22 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Fiction. Literature. HTML:

"This weird, lovely and sweetly satisfying novel [is] engaging and accessible...Clover's emergence from a shuttered life is moving enough to elicit tears, and Brammer's take on death and grieving is profound enough to feel genuinely instructional." ????The New York Times Book Review

What's the point of giving someone a beautiful death if you can't give yourself a beautiful life?

From the day she watched her kindergarten teacher drop dead during a dramatic telling of Peter Rabbit, Clover Brooks has felt a stronger connection with the dying than she has with the living. After the beloved grandfather who raised her dies alone while she is traveling, Clover becomes a death doula in New York City, dedicating her life to ushering people peacefully through their end-of-life process.
Clover spends so much time with the dying that she has no life of her own, until the final wishes of a feisty old woman send Clover on a trip across the country to uncover a forgotten love story????and perhaps, her own happy ending. As she finds herself struggling to navigate the uncharted roads of romance and friendship, Clover is forced to examine what she really wants, and whether she'll have the courage to go after it.
Probing, clever, and hopeful, The Collected Regrets of Clover is perfect for readers of The Midnight Library and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine as it turns the normally taboo subject of death into a reason to celebrat

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.05)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 9
3.5 3
4 28
4.5 10
5 19

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 204,636,971 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig