HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Clytemnestra: A Novel af Costanza Casati
Indlæser...

Clytemnestra: A Novel (udgave 2024)

af Costanza Casati (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
5692142,281 (4.06)4
"Madeline Miller's Circe meets Cersei Lannister in a stunning debut following Clytemnestra, the most notorious heroine of the ancient world and the events that forged her into the legendary queen. As for queens, they are either hated or forgotten. She already knows which option suits her best... You were born to a king, but you marry a tyrant. You stand by helplessly as he sacrifices your child to placate the gods. You watch him wage war on a foreign shore, and you comfort yourself with violent thoughts of your own. Because this was not the first offence against you. This was not the life you ever deserved. And this will not be your undoing. Slowly, you plot. But when your husband returns in triumph, you become a woman with a choice. Acceptance or vengeance, infamy follows both. So, you bide your time and force the gods' hands in the game of retribution. For you understood something long ago that the others never did. If power isn't given to you, you have to take it for yourself. A blazing novel set in the world of Ancient Greece for fans of Jennifer Saint and Natalie Haynes, this is a thrilling tale of power and prophecies, of hatred, love, and of an unforgettable Queen who fiercely dealt out death to those who wronged her"--… (mere)
Medlem:2005eggroll
Titel:Clytemnestra: A Novel
Forfattere:Costanza Casati (Forfatter)
Info:Sourcebooks Landmark (2024), 512 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

Clytemnestra af Costanza Casati

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 4 omtaler

Engelsk (18)  Ungarsk (1)  Alle sprog (19)
Viser 1-5 af 19 (næste | vis alle)
Not as lyrical as Madeline Miller but a solid telling of a tragic queen’s life and her motivations. ( )
  mimji | Apr 20, 2024 |
I enjoyed reading about Clytemnestra ... but be warned there are some brutal and violent parts to the story. ( )
  ellink | Jan 22, 2024 |
*** Warning for anyone reading this on the Goodreads app which doesn't honour spoilers - if you don't already know the Greek myth on which this is based, there are spoilers. Be advised also that elements would warrant content warnings if this were independently rather than traditionally published. ***

I've been reading various novels based on Greek mythology and had been hoping to obtain a copy of this one since hearing about it pre-publication. I was lucky enough to find one in nearly new condition from an online book dealer. The hardback itself is beautifully produced, including the dustjacket and end papers.

I'm pleased to find that the writing holds up too. The first person present tense narration, mostly by Clytemnestra, moves along with good pace. The interesting and engaging first section deals with her childhood in Sparta. She is close to her siblings, especially Helen (who goes on to become known as Helen of Troy) and one of her twin brothers, Castor. The other brother, Polydeuces, is very close to Helen. The portrayal of Helen as an insecure child, disliked by their father, is an interesting one - the take on this being that, where someone's father was unknown, the story was put about that one of the gods had fathered them. Leda had had an affair with someone who later left, and the rumour-mill has it that he was Helen's father. Clytemnestra's attempt to protect her sister by shielding her from this eventually causes a rift in their closeness.

The author has made the choice to not portray the gods as characters. So people believe in them - or lose their faith in the face of suffering - but their significance in the story lies in what people do in their names.

Part of the story deals with same-sex relationships, which are handled sensitively, with one of the three younger sisters having to negotiate the pitfalls of having such a relationship, something that would incur severe punishment if it came to their father's attention. Although Clytemnestra has a fairly loving family, mainly because of her mother and siblings, and is her father's favourite, the regime for Spartan children is a savage one. They are brought up to fight other children and can be injured and even killed, while expected to put up a tough front and suppress their feelings.

Clytemnestra finds love with the king of a far-off country, but tragedy strikes when her father does a deal with the murderous brothers, Agamemnon and Menelaus. Although I knew the story already, the sequence when this comes to a head is truly shocking as is the later sacrifice of her eldest daughter by Agamemnon. Clytemnestra's emotions on both occasions are believable as is the beyond-awful situation where she is forced to marry the murderer of her husband and child. She will never submit, something Agamemnon craves as he loves to beat down and destroy resistance, and there are some disturbing mentions throughout the story of how he beats and rapes her early in their marriage. After realising she is pregnant, she decides to play a long game for the sake of her child and subsequent children, although she never gives up her aim of one day killing him.

There are a number of jump cuts between different points in the history, the longest being fifteen years to the point where the Trojan War is about to commence. The portrayal of Aegisthus as a damaged man is an interesting interpretation, very different to that by some other novelists (for example Colm Toibin's 'House of Names') There are a couple of scenes near the end where the viewpoint changes to another character. I can see why the author did that, to portray events that happen when Clytemnestra is not present, but it still jars. The writing is also a little clunky in places. But I thoroughly enjoyed the book and would rate it overall at 4 stars. ( )
  kitsune_reader | Nov 23, 2023 |
Fantastic! Fierce and inventive and powerful... Will eagerly read Casati's next book. ( )
  decaturmamaof2 | Nov 22, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 19 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Clytemnestra looks down at the steep ravine but can see no trace of dead bodies.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"Madeline Miller's Circe meets Cersei Lannister in a stunning debut following Clytemnestra, the most notorious heroine of the ancient world and the events that forged her into the legendary queen. As for queens, they are either hated or forgotten. She already knows which option suits her best... You were born to a king, but you marry a tyrant. You stand by helplessly as he sacrifices your child to placate the gods. You watch him wage war on a foreign shore, and you comfort yourself with violent thoughts of your own. Because this was not the first offence against you. This was not the life you ever deserved. And this will not be your undoing. Slowly, you plot. But when your husband returns in triumph, you become a woman with a choice. Acceptance or vengeance, infamy follows both. So, you bide your time and force the gods' hands in the game of retribution. For you understood something long ago that the others never did. If power isn't given to you, you have to take it for yourself. A blazing novel set in the world of Ancient Greece for fans of Jennifer Saint and Natalie Haynes, this is a thrilling tale of power and prophecies, of hatred, love, and of an unforgettable Queen who fiercely dealt out death to those who wronged her"--

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.06)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 11
3.5 2
4 22
4.5 5
5 15

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 205,843,859 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig