HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

She Is a Haunting af Trang Thanh Tran
Indlæser...

She Is a Haunting (udgave 2023)

af Trang Thanh Tran (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
3891066,634 (3.73)4
This house eats and is eaten . . . "A riveting debut from a remarkable new voice! Trang Thanh Tran weaves an impressive gothic mystery in which Jade's father is determined to restore a decrepit home to its former glory and Jade is the only person who feels the soul-crushing devastation of colonialism lingering within its walls." Angeline Boulley, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Firekeeper's Daughter A House with a terrifying appetite haunts a broken family in this atmospheric horror, perfect for fans of Mexican Gothic . When Jade Nguyen arrives in Vietnam for a visit with her estranged father, she has one goal: survive five weeks pretending to be a happy family in the French colonial house Ba is restoring. She's always lied to fit in, so if she's straight enough, Vietnamese enough, American enough, she can get out with the college money he promised. But the house has other plans. Night after night, Jade wakes up paralyzed. The walls exude a thrumming sound while bugs leave their legs and feelers in places they don't belong. She finds curious traces of her ancestors in the gardens they once tended. And at night Jade can't ignore the ghost of the beautiful bride who leaves cryptic warnings: Don't eat. Neither Ba nor her sweet sister Lily believe that there is anything strange happening. With help from a delinquent girl, Jade will prove this housethe home they have always wantedwill not rest until it destroys them. Maybe, this time, she can keep her family together. As she roots out the house's rot, she must also face the truth of who she is and who she must become to save them all.… (mere)
Medlem:KUSGD
Titel:She Is a Haunting
Forfattere:Trang Thanh Tran (Forfatter)
Info:Bloomsbury YA (2023), 352 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Værk information

She Is a Haunting af Trang Thanh Tran

  1. 00
    Mexican Gothic af Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Booklover217)
  2. 00
    Black Water Sister af Zen Cho (Aquila)
    Aquila: Obvious similarities, quite different books.
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 4 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 10 (næste | vis alle)
I really enjoy horror tales in which the house itself is the villain. The first half of the book is wonderful, spooky and mysterious, but it felt like it went on too long and then just.....ended. That being said the concept of colonialism rotting the house from the inside out was a very nuanced and unique way to tell a haunted house story. ( )
  jenkies720 | Jun 7, 2024 |
She is a Haunting follows the story of seventeen-year-old Jade Nguyen, who is spending the summer in Vietnam with her estranged father while he fixes up the family's old colonial house, in the hopes of gaining income by renting the home out to vacationers in the future. We learn very early on in the book that Jade has somewhat of an exhausting life; she constantly has to pretend to be what she's not depending on where she is and who is around. For example, when it comes to her family, she needs to pretend she's straight; when home in America she needs to be as "Americanized" as possible, and vice versa when she's in Vietnam. Even though she and her father have a strained relationship, Jade keeps reminding herself to "play nice and play house" in order to convince her dad to pay for her college tuition. In midst of Jade playing pretend to satisfy those around her, she begins to experience supernatural things in the house; she suffers from sleep paralysis, finds bug parts all over the house, sees ghosts and endures warnings from her ancestors. This book was interesting, in that the "horror" aspect was creepy enough to keep me reading, but the fleshing out of the main character, and character development in general, wasn't exactly stellar. I think this book would be enjoyable for high school students who are fans of the horror genre, and I do think that a great selling point to this story is Jade's bisexuality and the pressure that her Vietnamese heritage puts on her to be a certain way. ( )
  RaeDCordova | Apr 17, 2024 |
Lyrical and beautifully written! I think I'd enjoy it more as an audio so I could get the cadence of the writing and storytelling more. Will try again later... ( )
  eboods | Feb 28, 2024 |
WHAT?! Brutally crushing but beautifully written. Will stay with me for quite a while. Unlike anything I’ve read before. ( )
  the.lesbian.library | Jan 15, 2024 |
Jade agrees to go to Vietnam to help her estranged Dad open up a new house he is renovating on the promise of some funds for college. But the house is haunted by two ghosts. One Vietnamese woman and one a colonial woman and with the help of Florence, jade is determined to stop her Dad opening the House and its possession of him and her sister. There are creepy insects, visions and twists - is the friendly ghost actually friendly? in this foreboding tale of stifling colonial takeover, racism and haunting in the oppressive heat of Vietnam. A top notch horror read for anyone who has been to Asia and experienced the unfriendly horrors of its past. Great reading. ( )
  nicsreads | Dec 20, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 10 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For my mother and hers, and hers.

To the angry girls, to the ones figuring it out:
you are always enough.
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
The house eats and is eaten.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

This house eats and is eaten . . . "A riveting debut from a remarkable new voice! Trang Thanh Tran weaves an impressive gothic mystery in which Jade's father is determined to restore a decrepit home to its former glory and Jade is the only person who feels the soul-crushing devastation of colonialism lingering within its walls." Angeline Boulley, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Firekeeper's Daughter A House with a terrifying appetite haunts a broken family in this atmospheric horror, perfect for fans of Mexican Gothic . When Jade Nguyen arrives in Vietnam for a visit with her estranged father, she has one goal: survive five weeks pretending to be a happy family in the French colonial house Ba is restoring. She's always lied to fit in, so if she's straight enough, Vietnamese enough, American enough, she can get out with the college money he promised. But the house has other plans. Night after night, Jade wakes up paralyzed. The walls exude a thrumming sound while bugs leave their legs and feelers in places they don't belong. She finds curious traces of her ancestors in the gardens they once tended. And at night Jade can't ignore the ghost of the beautiful bride who leaves cryptic warnings: Don't eat. Neither Ba nor her sweet sister Lily believe that there is anything strange happening. With help from a delinquent girl, Jade will prove this housethe home they have always wantedwill not rest until it destroys them. Maybe, this time, she can keep her family together. As she roots out the house's rot, she must also face the truth of who she is and who she must become to save them all.

Ingen biblioteksbeskrivelser fundet.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Aktuelle diskussioner

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.73)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 14
3.5 3
4 16
4.5 1
5 7

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 208,295,499 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig