HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The Villa: A Novel af Rachel Hawkins
Indlæser...

The Villa: A Novel (udgave 2023)

af Rachel Hawkins (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
5754242,108 (3.73)7
"From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend. Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce's girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album--and ends in Pierce's brutal murder. As Emily digs into the villa's complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974. That perhaps Pierce's murder wasn't just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock & roll gone wrong, but that something more sinister might have occurred--and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind. Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge--and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends. Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle--the birthplace of Frankenstein--The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy"--… (mere)
Medlem:beninck
Titel:The Villa: A Novel
Forfattere:Rachel Hawkins (Forfatter)
Info:St. Martin's Press (2023), 288 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:***
Nøgleord:DIGITAL COPY

Værk information

The Villa af Rachel Hawkins

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 7 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 42 (næste | vis alle)
My second Rachel Hawkins book and I liked this one even more then The Heiress. This author twist and turn a story better the many I've read for a while. I loved the back drop story of others that have come before and how the plot took a different road due to actions of them.The characters worked my nerves for a bit but I ended up liking them in the end. ( )
  mchwest | Jun 9, 2024 |
In the current day when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend.
In the 1970s the story-line is inspired by the summer when Mary Shelly stayed in Venice with Claire, Lord Byron and John William Polidori, There writing Frankenstein.
The way both story lines concluded was very interesting and well done.
The story of relationships and what people will do for love. ( )
  nx74defiant | Feb 8, 2024 |
Midagi gootilikku siin küll ei olnud, aga kavalalt kirjutatud väga kaasahaarav lugu, mis flirtis kenasti hulga klišeedega, aga vedas suurepäraselt välja. ( )
  sashery | Jan 29, 2024 |
This book was a fun read. It was really quick read!! I don't both times lines in this book work as well for me. I was much more connected to the present stroyline. I also loved the main character is book and i often stuggle with that in thrillers. I also loved the italian settign and thought the mystery was unique and i def like the listening experience!! ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
This book was a fun read. It was really quick read!! I don't both times lines in this book work as well for me. I was much more connected to the present stroyline. I also loved the main character is book and i often stuggle with that in thrillers. I also loved the italian settign and thought the mystery was unique and i def like the listening experience!! ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 42 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Mary and Claire
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Houses remember.

That was what Mr. O'Hare had said to Victoria the first day she and her family came to Somerton, the day that began the end of everything.

With it's publication in 1976, Lilith Rising blew open the doors of the Boys Club occupied by such horror authors as William Peter Blatty, Jay Anson, and Thomas Tryon, a feat made even more impressive by the youth of its author. -Prologue
Somewhere around the time she started calling herelf "Chess," I realized I might actually hate my best friend. -Chapter One
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend. Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce's girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album--and ends in Pierce's brutal murder. As Emily digs into the villa's complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974. That perhaps Pierce's murder wasn't just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock & roll gone wrong, but that something more sinister might have occurred--and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind. Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge--and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends. Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle--the birthplace of Frankenstein--The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy"--

Ingen biblioteksbeskrivelser fundet.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Aktuelle diskussioner

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.73)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 6
2.5 5
3 37
3.5 13
4 50
4.5 9
5 23

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 207,162,016 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig