HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

The Bangalore Detectives Club (2022)

af Harini Nagendra

Andre forfattere: Se andre forfattere sektionen.

Serier: Kaveri and Ramu (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
23015116,779 (3.38)33
Fiction. Mystery. HTML:

The first in a charming, joyful cozy crime series set in 1920s Bangalore, featuring sari-wearing detective Kaveri and her husband, Ramu. Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith's The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency.

When clever, headstrong Kaveri moves to Bangalore to marry handsome young doctor Ramu, she's resigned herself to a quiet life.

But that all changes the night of the party at the Century Club, where she escapes to the garden for some peace and quiet??and instead spots an uninvited guest in the shadows. Half an hour later, the party turns into a murder scene.

When a vulnerable woman is connected to the crime, Kaveri becomes determined to save her and launches a private investigation to find the killer, tracing his steps from an illustrious brothel to an Englishman's mansion. She soon finds that sleuthing in a sari isn't as hard as it seems when you have a talent for mathematics, a head for logic, and a doctor for a husband ...

And she's going to need them all as the case leads her deeper into a hotbed of danger, sedition, and intrigue in Bangalore's darkest alleyways.… (mere)

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 33 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 15 (næste | vis alle)
Easy read, lovely description of the 1920s Bangalore and its intricate social hierarchies wrapped up in a gripping mystery. Totally recommend this for a leisurely read. ( )
  harsharaghuram | Mar 8, 2024 |
Sporadically engaging and readable, the story provides a picturesque insight of 1920's India and the colourful life of well-to-do citizens. While it is pleasant to read about Kaveri, the main protagonist, the flawed plotting and unrealistic portrayal of the life and times detracted from a solid narrative. The novel is not plotted sufficiently well, being contradictory or begging belief too many times. ( )
  SandyAMcPherson | Jan 18, 2024 |
It was enjoyable from a cozy mystery perspective, a bit of political/cultural tension. But overall the sleuthing/mystery part was a bit dull. The main character spoke to suspects and they just spilled their secrets. She moved easily from clue to clue, and the police inspector started sharing evidence with her. ( )
  monnibo | Jan 3, 2024 |
This charming mystery, set in 1920s Bangalore, India, is full of surprises. Kaveri is a young bride who barely knows her husband, Ramu, a handsome doctor. They’re attending a party at the Century Club when a murder takes place, and Kaveri’s curiosity draws her into sleuthing. Unlike so many traditional husbands who want to hold their wives back, Ramu is proud of Kaveri’s cleverness (though he’s also concerned for her safety). Another surprise is the police officer on the case, who admires Kaveri’s skill rather than being alarmed or defensive. The author weaves aspects of Indian culture into the story and even shares some of the main character’s recipes at the end of the book. I enjoyed Kaveri’s caper and hope to read many more! ( )
  ajrenshaw99 | Sep 1, 2023 |
Interesting setting gets two stars, but couldn't finish -- characters too unreal. ( )
  annbury | Jul 28, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 15 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere (1 mulig)

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Harini Nagendraprimær forfatteralle udgaverberegnet
Getty ImagesOmslagsfotograf/tegner/...medforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Martin, LindyOmslagsdesignermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Nankani, SoneelaFortællermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
ShutterstockOmslagsfotograf/tegner/...medforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
"Instinct is a marvellous thing. It can neither be explained nor ignored."

Agatha Christie, The Mysterious Affair at Styles
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Venkatachalam Suri and

Dhwani Nagendra Suri, always
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
The stranger was from Majjigepura, the village of buttermilk. (Prologue)
Bangalore, April 1921

Mrs. Kaveri Murthy pulled out her oldest sari, nine yards of checked cotton in dark brown.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Fiction. Mystery. HTML:

The first in a charming, joyful cozy crime series set in 1920s Bangalore, featuring sari-wearing detective Kaveri and her husband, Ramu. Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith's The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency.

When clever, headstrong Kaveri moves to Bangalore to marry handsome young doctor Ramu, she's resigned herself to a quiet life.

But that all changes the night of the party at the Century Club, where she escapes to the garden for some peace and quiet??and instead spots an uninvited guest in the shadows. Half an hour later, the party turns into a murder scene.

When a vulnerable woman is connected to the crime, Kaveri becomes determined to save her and launches a private investigation to find the killer, tracing his steps from an illustrious brothel to an Englishman's mansion. She soon finds that sleuthing in a sari isn't as hard as it seems when you have a talent for mathematics, a head for logic, and a doctor for a husband ...

And she's going to need them all as the case leads her deeper into a hotbed of danger, sedition, and intrigue in Bangalore's darkest alleyways.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.38)
0.5
1 1
1.5 2
2 2
2.5 4
3 30
3.5 11
4 20
4.5 2
5 5

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 204,455,527 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig