HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

How to Be Eaten: A Novel af Maria Adelmann
Indlæser...

How to Be Eaten: A Novel (udgave 2023)

af Maria Adelmann (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingSamtaler
293690,377 (3.54)Ingen
Fiction. Literature. Mythology. HTML:

One of NPR's Best Books of the Year: This darkly funny and provocative novel reimagines classic fairy tale characters as modern women in a support group for trauma.

In present-day New York City, five women meet in a basement support group to process their traumas. Bernice grapples with the fallout of dating a psychopathic, blue-bearded billionaire. Ruby, once devoured by a wolf, now wears him as a coat. Gretel questions her memory of being held captive in a house made of candy. Ashlee, the winner of a Bachelor-esque dating show, wonders if she really got her promised fairy tale ending. And Raina's love story will shock them all.
Though the women start out wary of one another, judging each other??s stories, gradually they begin to realize that they may have more in common than they supposed . . . What really brought them here? What secrets will they reveal? And is it too late for them to rescue each other?
??Dark, edgy, and wickedly funny, this debut for readers of Carmen Maria Machado, Kristen Arnett, and Kelly Link takes our coziest, most beloved childhood stories, exposes them as anti-feminist nightmares, and transforms them into a new kind of myth for grown-up women.

*Belletrist June Book Club Pick*

Named a Best Book of May by TIME Magazine & Glamour One of NPR??s Best Books of the… (mere)

Medlem:2005eggroll
Titel:How to Be Eaten: A Novel
Forfattere:Maria Adelmann (Forfatter)
Info:Back Bay Books (2023), 304 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

How to Be Eaten af Maria Adelmann

  1. 00
    The Final Girl Support Group af Grady Hendrix (jmiserak)
    jmiserak: This is the horror version of this book.
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

Viser 5 af 5
Maybe one of them strangest books I’ve read. The idea was great, but the characters felt flat and were superficially developed. It was just an odd, weird story. (Hardcover, library) ( )
  ldyluck | Jan 6, 2024 |
Really loved it! ( )
  Stefuto | Oct 31, 2023 |
Adelmann, Maria. How to Be Eaten. Little, Brown, 2022.
If you are intrigued by the premise of Maria Adelmann’s How to Be Eaten, you will probably enjoy the whole performance. We begin in contemporary New York, where several women have gathered as part of a trauma support group moderated by a sensitive young man who might remind you of a high school teacher. But nothing is what it seems. The women are analogs of heroines from Grimms’ fairy tales suffering posttraumatic stress from the experiences that made them famous. There is Berniece, who married a psychopathic killer and is haunted by the ghosts of his victims. There is Gretel, who was kidnapped as a child, killed her abductor, and suffers from an eating disorder. There is Ruby, who wears the stinking pelt of a wolf who once ate her. Finally, there is Ashlee, who won a husband on a competitive dating show like The Bachelor. There is some sly satire of for-profit therapy and the media exploitation of trauma victims. 4 stars. ( )
  Tom-e | Jan 27, 2023 |
Series Info/Source: This is a stand alone book. I borrowed this on ebook from my library.

Thoughts: This is one of the books I put on my ten authors to read in 2022 list. I thought the premise of this book sounded amazing and have been waiting anxiously for my copy to come up to borrow at the library. I ended up being very disappointed in this book for many reasons.

The story focuses on each of five women who meet at a support group in New York City to tell their modern day stories of surviving classic fairy tale scenarios twisted to modern day situations. I guess my expectations were just too high for this book, it just wasn't what I was expecting or hoping for.

This is more a collection of five short stories, very loosely tied together by a wisp of a larger story that doesn't make a lot of sense. In lengthy chapters each of the five women are given a chance to tell their story. In each case the story does have slight fantastical elements (very slight). However, mainly they are just stories about five women who make bad decisions (either because of low self-esteem, societal pressure, or need) and find themselves involved with bad men. It's to be more of a commentary on how poorly women are treated by society than anything else.

The overall story that ties all the mini-stories together was confusing and poorly done. It did not work well. The stories themselves come across as a bit dis-jointed too. They jump around willy-nilly in time and can be hard to follow. This is definitely very, very adult; there is a lot of fairly explicit sex and the people are viciously mean to each other.

This was one of my most anticipated reads of the year and it just wasn't very well done. Both the writing and the construction of the book needed some help. That being said I did appreciate that these classic fairy tales were basically woven into modern day stories of caution for women. I always feel like that is what classic fairy tales are anyway; stories of caution and I appreciate the effort to modernize them in a darkly vicious way. However, even this was a bit lacking and I kept thinking that the stories could have gone a bit deeper and been a bit more dark.

My Summary (3/5): Overall this was okay but disappointing when weighed against my expectations (which were admittedly high). I found the lack of cohesion throughout the book troubling. I also thought it felt a bit preachy at times about the dangers to women in our society; I like the parallels between modern day and classic fairy tales but it felt heavy-handed at times. The writing didn't flow well and was hard to follow. Am I unhappy I read it? Well, it was okay and it was a quick read but it was also surprisingly forgettable. However, I won't be seeking out more books by this author. ( )
  krau0098 | Sep 23, 2022 |
fiction - fairy tale heroines/victims tell their stories in group therapy setting, dark and twisty (CW: assault, serial killers, depression, self-cutting, eating disorders, PTSD, trolling)

very dark and gritty; impulsively read, like a car accident you can't look away from. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 1, 2022 |
Viser 5 af 5
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Fiction. Literature. Mythology. HTML:

One of NPR's Best Books of the Year: This darkly funny and provocative novel reimagines classic fairy tale characters as modern women in a support group for trauma.

In present-day New York City, five women meet in a basement support group to process their traumas. Bernice grapples with the fallout of dating a psychopathic, blue-bearded billionaire. Ruby, once devoured by a wolf, now wears him as a coat. Gretel questions her memory of being held captive in a house made of candy. Ashlee, the winner of a Bachelor-esque dating show, wonders if she really got her promised fairy tale ending. And Raina's love story will shock them all.
Though the women start out wary of one another, judging each other??s stories, gradually they begin to realize that they may have more in common than they supposed . . . What really brought them here? What secrets will they reveal? And is it too late for them to rescue each other?
??Dark, edgy, and wickedly funny, this debut for readers of Carmen Maria Machado, Kristen Arnett, and Kelly Link takes our coziest, most beloved childhood stories, exposes them as anti-feminist nightmares, and transforms them into a new kind of myth for grown-up women.

*Belletrist June Book Club Pick*

Named a Best Book of May by TIME Magazine & Glamour One of NPR??s Best Books of the

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.54)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 8
3.5 6
4 10
4.5 1
5 5

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 205,843,849 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig