HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Twins: A Graphic Novel (1) af Varian Johnson
Indlæser...

Twins: A Graphic Novel (1) (udgave 2020)

af Varian Johnson (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
1269173,009 (4.22)2
Medlem:mescurry
Titel:Twins: A Graphic Novel (1)
Forfattere:Varian Johnson (Forfatter)
Info:Graphix (2020), Edition: Illustrated, 256 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Detaljer om værket

Twins af Varian Johnson

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 2 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 9 (næste | vis alle)
Recommended Ages: Gr. 3-7

Plot Summary: Twins Fran and Maureen are best friends who like to do everything together, except now that they're starting middle school, the girls can't seem to get along. When they both decide to run for student council, things get even more difficult! They are fighting constantly at home, their friend group is split, and neither of them are happy. Will they ever get along again?

Setting:

Characters:
Francine - AKA Fran
Maureen - Fran's twin

Recurring Themes: family, friendship, student council, coming-of-age, competition, confidence, cadets, crushes

Controversial Issues: VERY few mentions of having a crush on someone, or being embarrassed by having a boy in her bedroom (to help with student council strategy planning), sisters come before boys at the very end

Personal Thoughts: I will admit I got the twins confused multiple times, especially at the beginning. But the big idea that they were growing apart was easy to understand.

Genre: realistic fiction

Pacing: fast, graphic novel
Characters: fairly well developed just confused the twins at the beginning, family unit is amazing
Frame:
Storyline:

Activity:
  pigeonlover | Sep 8, 2021 |
This is a great graphic novel for primary readers, and it gives a detailed look about two identical twins who a very different in personality and they are staring their first day of school. The twins are used to doing everything together and this book does great job of showing the rough transition to middle school. I would use this book in the future to show how it is important to celebrate our differences and even if your are identical twins no personality is the same. ( )
  HunterBartoo | Apr 20, 2021 |
Coming into this, I was a bit burned out on twin sister stories where one is the introvert and the other is the social butterfly having read Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl and Fangirl: The Manga Vol. 1 just last week and yesterday. So I was slow to warm up to Twins, but the characters and solid writing and art of this middle school drama won me over.

As in Fangirl, a rift opens up between twin sisters when the outgoing one wants more independence, leaving the shy one to flounder on her own as she tries to figure out who she is without her twin/crutch. A marching drill class (Like ROTC for middle school as an alternative to PE; is this really a thing?) and a class election provide the prompting she needs to break out of her shell. Unlike Fangirl the story moves along quickly and wraps up in half the pages (or a quarter of the manga series).

I would like to see a sequel or something else from the same team. ( )
  villemezbrown | Dec 20, 2020 |
The Carter twins are in sixth grade and It’s the first day of school. Francine and Maureen are African American identical twins and are facing new challenges in sixth grade leaving them with new and mixed feeling. Maureen is the shyer twin and is nervous about middle school: She has a new confusing schedule, cadet corps, and, worst of all, classes without Francine. They have always done everything together. Well irs sixth grade snd they are growing up. Francine, very outgoing and comfortable in all situations, is looking forward to everything sixth grade can offer. She can’t wait to be in new surroundings, try new classes, and grab new opportunities to shine, like joining the student council race. She decides to run for the top office, president! Why not, go big? Francine is all set to start campaigning, but then out of the blue or so it seems to Fran, Maureen decides to run for president as well. This begins to tear the sisters two apart. As Francine pushes to stand out, Maureen yearns to fit in, and they just cannot see through each other’s eyes.

This reader, a teacher, feels the story really captures the rocky transition from the comfort of elementary school to the new and sometimes-scary world of middle school. The sibling bond is sweet yet rocky as each conflict and triumph pushes them apart or pulls them together. The parents were my favorite. I really liked how they handled their girls in such a loving and patient manner. I also thought it cute that the dad always seemed to be barefooted.

Wright’s bright, very colorful and rich illustrations fill the pages with vibrancy and emotion. The pictures are so visually appealing, The student body shows diversity and the Carter home is filled with warmth, humor, and realism. Make a note at the beginning as you read of the small details that differentiate Maureen and Francine, because their features are mirrored as identical twins tend to be.

This was a truly enjoyable book. ( )
  jothebookgirl | Dec 11, 2020 |
Maureen and Francine have shared pretty much everything for all of their lives, but this year Francine – Fran – is pulling away, going by a new nickname and pursuing different interests. In a fit of pique, Maureen decides to run for class president – the same position that Fran has been planning to pursue for months. When the competition turns ugly, will the feuding sisters go too far?

This is a fun middle-grade graphic novel that will appeal to fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft. The warm family relationships at the heart of the story and the stresses and strains of beginning middle school will ring true for many young readers. ( )
  foggidawn | Dec 8, 2020 |
Viser 1-5 af 9 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Varian Johnsonprimær forfatteralle udgaverberegnet
Wright, ShannonIllustratorhovedforfatteralle udgaverbekræftet
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Sorry, girls, but this one is for Brad and Andrea - V.J.
For my brothers Duke and Travis, my mentor, Kelly, and of course, Brandon - S.W.
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
O'Connor Middle School

"Sixth grade! First day of the rest of your lives!"
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.22)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 1
4 13
4.5 1
5 9

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 163,253,922 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig