HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Ordinary Hazards: A Novel af Anna Bruno
Indlæser...

Ordinary Hazards: A Novel (udgave 2020)

af Anna Bruno (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingSamtaler
435472,042 (4)Ingen
"For fans of Celeste Ng and Claire Messud comes an impeccably paced and transfixing debut novel about how life's little decisions can ultimately yield the most powerful consequences. It is 5pm and Emma has settled into her hometown bar for the evening, nine months after her divorce from Lucas, a man she met in this very room on a blind date orchestrated by the very locals who now surround her. As she observes their banter and reminisces, key facts about her history begin to emerge, and the past comes bearing down on her like a freight train"--… (mere)
Medlem:pgchuis
Titel:Ordinary Hazards: A Novel
Forfattere:Anna Bruno (Forfatter)
Info:Atria Books (2020), 272 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:****
Nøgleord:contemporary

Detaljer om værket

Ordinary Hazards af Anna Bruno

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

Viser 5 af 5
I do not remember where I first heard about this book but I ordered it from our curbside only pickup library and found it very hard to put down once I started it. It did take a little while to understand the structure and narrative but the author did a seamless job of integrating the current setting-one evening in a bar-with the backstory of the main characters. She also did an admirable job of bringing in other characters, mostly regulars from the bar, to add to the story. I really liked the book and hope that Ms. Bruno writes more. ( )
  Bookbets50 | Jan 6, 2021 |
THE FINAL FINAL has been Emma’s and Lucas’ preferred bar for years. But on her 35th birthday, Emma isn’t anymore the woman she used to be. She is drinking alone, acknowledging the other regulars and thinking about what has gone wrong in her life during the last couple of years. Her professional choice which deeply annoyed her success-oriented father, her marriage with Lucas which was never easy but also not too bad, the happiness when their son Lionel was born. And now she is sitting in a bar drinking and ignoring the texts from her friend Grace who seemingly has arranged something for her birthday. The more the evening advances the more the tension in the bar rises and unexpectedly, she learns things which lead to a dramatic end.

What I liked most about Anna Bruno’s novel were first, the atmosphere of the bar and second, the development of the protagonist. On the one hand, we have a place where you typically do not find an average single woman drinking alone. At first, everybody is friendly, they have known each other for years but keep a natural distance, they are only bar acquaintances it seems with no further connection and know not to trespass the personal sphere of each other. Over the course of time, you learn more about the other guests and slowly the heat is rising. This comes quite as a surprise which only underlines how perfectly this has been developed.

The whole plot centres around Emma and her pondering. It does not take too long to understand that something important must have happened that lead to the separation and deeply impacted her psychological state. It is just those things that happen in life, evidently ordinary hazards.

I loved the structure of the novel, having two timelines interwoven which each other which culminate in a distressing climax. Vividly narrated at a moderate pace, I really enjoyed delving into it. ( )
  miss.mesmerized | Aug 30, 2020 |
4+. She sits alone. She's alone now but wasn't always. It is a neighborhood bar, we all have them. My small town has more than one. It wasn't always her bar, but it is now. It is where she met Lucas, though he doesn't come here anymore. Just his friends do, his friends but maybe not hers. As she drinks, she thinks back to his she got to where she is now. So, starts the story of Emma, and the others in the bar, and for the first third of the book, I felt it was just okay. Writing good , intriguing enough to keep going.

Then, with a remarkable sleight of hand, very unusual in a first time author, the book takes off. I became engrossed in Emma's story but also the stories of the others in the bar. You know the type, those whose high school days were the most memorable, stuck in time, holding grudges from the last. Those who seem stuck in time, can't move forward.

Why is Emma alone? What happened to Lucas? Everyone has a story, a story that although theirs, also touches on others. What is Emma's? Can it be fixed, can she find the strength to move on? Anyway by books end I was in tears. This is an incredible book by a first time author. A book that shows a remarkable talent and maturity in its delivery. In one night lives will change, but will it be for the better? Ah,the questions of life. Bittersweet.

My monthly read with Esil and Angela and I do believe we were all in tears by books end.

ARC from Edelweiss. ( )
  Beamis12 | Aug 28, 2020 |
Ordinary Hazards is a book that sneaks up on you. It all happens one evening at The Final Final, the last bar on the way out of town. It’s five o’clock and Emma is parked on a stool drinking whiskey. The Final Final is one of those local bars where folks hang out and “everybody knows your name and they’re always glad you came.”

Emma is a big deal in finance, a college professor, author, and founder of a new investment firm. So what’s she doing hanging out at a local bar with vinyl flooring that oozes age? The Final Final was her ex-husband’s bar and the folks who drink there are people she met through him. But, as the night goes on, we learn there is far more to her story and the stories of her fellow patrons. Small actions and discussions pile on each other over the night until there is a crisis, one that forces Emma to reevaluate what she wants in life.

When I say Ordinary Hazards sneaks up on you, I think it would be more accurate to say Emma sneaks up on you. She isn’t very likable at first. She seems to see herself as outside the people of The Final Final, a notch above them. She seems to judge them while still needing them. But as the story progresses, I realized I did like her and that she liked these folks she hung out with. As an exploration of love, marriage, and grief, it works. I confess I cried even though the author did not dwell on tragedy.

I think that is what makes the book work so well. We all know how we are about the tragic in our lives. We skitter away from talking about it, uncomfortable about speaking of pain and grief. We don’t want to cry in front of others or hear our voice break. We don’t want our pain to make others uncomfortable. Emma’s thoughts circumnavigate her pain, touching on it lightly at first before revealing the full story. That circling and skittering past her pain came through as so authentic and real, that when the story is revealed, there is this raw urgency that never happens when writers lay it all out at the beginning. This book is a wonder.

I received an e-galley of Ordinary Hazards from the publisher through NetGalley

Ordinary Hazards at Atria Books | Simon & Schuster
Anne Bruno author site
https://tonstantweaderreviews.wordpress.com/2020/08/25/9781982126957/ ( )
  Tonstant.Weader | Aug 25, 2020 |
I received a copy of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley.

I read this more or less in one sitting and I thought the format (set over the course of a single evening, but made up in large part of memories and scenes from the past, with something terrible having happened and being revealed gradually) worked really well here. Ordinarily I find that kind of 'but that was before the bad thing happened...' structure tiresome, but in this author's hands it seemed organic and well-paced.

Divorced Emma spends an evening in a bar drinking (vast amounts) with the regulars. Previously she has been to the bar with her ex-husband Lucas - indeed it was his 'local' first. Gradually we learn about Emma's life and particularly her marriage. While I thought this novel was very good, not everything worked for me. Emma was a hard character to like and I never understood the theme of her best-seller (something about stories and investments?). I didn't really buy into her being a hedge fund manager somehow either. Some of the other characters were hard to get a handle on - what did Fancy Pete bring to the plot? - and the dog Addie, was a more fully-developed character than most of the humans.

Finally the ending felt a little over-dramatic (although if you must live in a country where you can sit at a bar with a concealed weapon...). ( )
  pgchuis | Jul 15, 2020 |
Viser 5 af 5
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"For fans of Celeste Ng and Claire Messud comes an impeccably paced and transfixing debut novel about how life's little decisions can ultimately yield the most powerful consequences. It is 5pm and Emma has settled into her hometown bar for the evening, nine months after her divorce from Lucas, a man she met in this very room on a blind date orchestrated by the very locals who now surround her. As she observes their banter and reminisces, key facts about her history begin to emerge, and the past comes bearing down on her like a freight train"--

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 4
4.5 2
5

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 162,290,716 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig