HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

They Wish They Were Us af Jessica Goodman
Indlæser...

They Wish They Were Us (udgave 2021)

af Jessica Goodman (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingSamtaler
4791751,825 (3.44)Ingen
Suspense. Thriller. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:TV ADAPTATION "THE PLAYERS' TABLE" STARRING HALSEY AND EUPHORIA'S SYDNEY SWEENEY COMING TO HBO MAX

??A pristine infusion of Gossip Girl and Netflix's Elite, this prep-school thriller has it all: plaid skirts, secret societies, and a gripping murder mystery, but paired with an adept critique of the powers and privileges that goeth before the fall.? ?? Elle
In Gold Coast, Long Island, everything from the expensive downtown shops to the manicured beaches, to the pressed uniforms of Jill Newman and her friends, looks perfect. But as Jill found out three years ago, nothing is as it seems.
Freshman year Jill's best friend, the brilliant, dazzling Shaila Arnold, was killed by her boyfriend. After that dark night on the beach, Graham confessed, the case was closed, and Jill tried to move on.
Now, it's Jill's senior year and she's determined to make it her best yet. After all, she's a senior and a Player??a member of Gold Coast Prep's exclusive, not-so-secret secret society. Senior Players have the best parties, highest grades and the admiration of the entire school. This is going to be Jill's year. She's sure of it.
But when Jill starts getting texts proclaiming Graham's innocence, her dreams of the perfect senior year start to crumble. If Graham didn't kill Shaila, who did? Jill vows to find out, but digging deeper could mean putting her friendships, and her future,
… (mere)
Medlem:haleymschr
Titel:They Wish They Were Us
Forfattere:Jessica Goodman (Forfatter)
Info:Razorbill (2021), 352 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

They Wish They Were Us af Jessica Goodman

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

Viser 1-5 af 17 (næste | vis alle)
*I got this book for review for the publisher for my honest thoughts*

This is a thriller that had some of my favorite elements a cool setting a long island boarding school, a secret society and a murder mystery. I really grew to love these characters throughout this read and loved the dyamanics of the cast. I found this book to engaging read. I think the second hand of this book and the pacing was much stronger. I really loved Jill as main character and loved how this book tackled harder issues like male and female relationships, school, cheating and murder. It was engaging mystery and I really hope we get more books set in this world in the future. ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
*I got this book for review for the publisher for my honest thoughts*

This is a thriller that had some of my favorite elements a cool setting a long island boarding school, a secret society and a murder mystery. I really grew to love these characters throughout this read and loved the dyamanics of the cast. I found this book to engaging read. I think the second hand of this book and the pacing was much stronger. I really loved Jill as main character and loved how this book tackled harder issues like male and female relationships, school, cheating and murder. It was engaging mystery and I really hope we get more books set in this world in the future. ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
An average YA thriller. I did enjoy reading it, but I never felt compelled to read large chunks at a time. The author tried to make the characters distinct, but there ended up being a lot of telling and not showing since we only get the story from the perspective of one person. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. ( )
  LynnMPK | Jun 28, 2023 |
This was the first book I decided to read upon coming home from ALA Midwinter. It just sounded so much like a ME book-- I love secret societies and prep school mysteries. Plus, the title just screams MEAN GIRLS.

It starts out introducing us to Jill, she's a Senior scholarship student at an exclusive prep school. She's also in a "secret society" that everyone sort of, kind of knows about called The Players. They get perks like access to papers and tests, help from alumni to get into the colleges of their choice, and they throw the best parties.

Jill has been through a lot. During her Freshman year, her best friend, Shaila, was murdered. Graham Colloway confessed the night it happened-- which also happened to be their initiation night. See, to get into The Players, you have to go through a hell of a Freshman year. They get ruthlessly hazed, ending in an initiation that's meant to be remembered. After Shaila's death, her boyfriend, Graham, confessed and was sent to a juvenile detention center-- but 3 years later he's taking it all back. Someone is texting Jill telling her Graham is innocent and Jill can't help but wonder if they all got it wrong.

I really enjoyed this one. It wasn't perfect, but I loved reading about the hazing, the imbalance of power, the exclusive membership. It’s all interesting and toxic. I loved the way it was told in present day and through flashbacks. I felt it really gave the reader a full view of the circumstances and what led up to them.

It would've been a 5 star for me if the mystery hadn't been so obvious. I think if you read a lot of mysteries this one will not surprise you in the end. If you don't it might not be as obvious. I think the more you read in a genre, the more the "twists" become easier to see coming-- and that was the case with this book for me.

BUT-- I don't want you to this this book is all about the mystery. I think it was equally about the teen drama. The Players were full of their own turmoil, deceit, and pressures. So, even when the mystery wasn't giving me what I needed, the drama fully was.

OVERALL: I loved wading into Jill's world and seeing all the flaws of prep schools, secret societies, and rich communities. I felt like this book was 50/50 mystery and teen drama-- a good mix to keep your interest at peak levels!! I totally recommend to fans of Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl.

My Blog:

Pink Polka Dot Books
( )
  Michelle_PPDB | Mar 18, 2023 |
A compelling YA novel about sorta-bad affluent popular kids who do sorta-bad stuff while trying to become and maintain being the elite in school and in life. The premise is compelling as are the relationships. They're prep school kids with secrets. Rachel has a secret and it may involve her brother, Graham. She wants to tell Jill, but Jill is hesitant. Jill is involved with Adam, and with Henry, and the love interest angle is one of the more compelling ones in the book. It's a quick read with lots of teen drama, and not a lot of imagery or stage-setting. It kept my interest but I did want to see more school scenes illustrated and feel more immersed in their world. Lots of dialogue with little reflection in the narration; straightforward prose with a plot that kept me reading. Fans of Jawbreaker, You, I Know What You Did Last Summer, Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars will enjoy the thrills and teen drama in this book.

TW for mentions of violence against women. ( )
  ostbying | Jan 1, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 17 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

Distinctions

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
To Mom and Dad,
for the roots and the wings.
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
IT'S A MIRACLE anyone gets out of high school alive. Everything is a risk or a well-placed trap. If you're not done in by your own heart, so trampled and swollen, you might fall victim to a totally cliched but equally trafic demice - a drunk-driving accident, a red light missed while texting, too many of the wrong kinds of pills. But that's not how Shaila Arnold went. -Prologue
THE FIRST DAY of school always means the same thing: a tribute to Shaila. Today should be the first day of her senior year. Instead, she is, like she had been for the past three years, dead And we are due for one more reminder. -Chapter One
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Suspense. Thriller. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:TV ADAPTATION "THE PLAYERS' TABLE" STARRING HALSEY AND EUPHORIA'S SYDNEY SWEENEY COMING TO HBO MAX

??A pristine infusion of Gossip Girl and Netflix's Elite, this prep-school thriller has it all: plaid skirts, secret societies, and a gripping murder mystery, but paired with an adept critique of the powers and privileges that goeth before the fall.? ?? Elle
In Gold Coast, Long Island, everything from the expensive downtown shops to the manicured beaches, to the pressed uniforms of Jill Newman and her friends, looks perfect. But as Jill found out three years ago, nothing is as it seems.
Freshman year Jill's best friend, the brilliant, dazzling Shaila Arnold, was killed by her boyfriend. After that dark night on the beach, Graham confessed, the case was closed, and Jill tried to move on.
Now, it's Jill's senior year and she's determined to make it her best yet. After all, she's a senior and a Player??a member of Gold Coast Prep's exclusive, not-so-secret secret society. Senior Players have the best parties, highest grades and the admiration of the entire school. This is going to be Jill's year. She's sure of it.
But when Jill starts getting texts proclaiming Graham's innocence, her dreams of the perfect senior year start to crumble. If Graham didn't kill Shaila, who did? Jill vows to find out, but digging deeper could mean putting her friendships, and her future,

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.44)
0.5
1
1.5
2 5
2.5 1
3 17
3.5 1
4 15
4.5 1
5 4

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 206,089,511 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig