HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Machine: A White Space Novel af Elizabeth…
Indlæser...

Machine: A White Space Novel (udgave 2020)

af Elizabeth Bear (Forfatter)

Serier: White Space (2)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
23716111,654 (3.78)21
"In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after going dangerously awry. Meet Doctor Jens. She hasn't had a decent cup of coffee in fifteen years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she's never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee. But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away. Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can't resist a mystery and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she's about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths. Written in Elizabeth Bear's signature "rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental" (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won't be able to put down"--… (mere)
Medlem:dzautumn
Titel:Machine: A White Space Novel
Forfattere:Elizabeth Bear (Forfatter)
Info:Gallery / Saga Press (2020), 496 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

Machine af Elizabeth Bear

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 21 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 16 (næste | vis alle)
A good story, good characters and I love the homage to James White's Sector General. A distress call brings the space ambulance to a distant and strange location where two ships are discovered, a generation ship and a merchant ship, but everyone is dead or in stasis except a comely golden AI. That's how the story begins, but it rapidly becomes apparent that all is not in the least bit as it appears, the target is . . . . but I can't tell you that can I? Dr. Jens has a severe auto-immune problem and depends on her 'exo-suit' to let her function, she has personal issues beside the constant pain management, to do with loyalty and where to bestow it. She is asked to investigate a problem in the hospital itself, and it slowly becomes apparent that all is seriously not well and she has to think and feel her way through how to handle the matter. I found myself wishing to know more about how the people who survive being re-awakened from 600 years ago, in cryo for who knows how long, were going to cope, but this wasn't their story. At the end Dr. Jens internal monologue really did go on for too long. Kind of gave the ending a bit of the leaky balloon feeling. ***1/2 ( )
  sibylline | Aug 18, 2023 |
2606
  freixas | Mar 31, 2023 |
The second book is written that you really don’t have to read the previous book set in this universe. A few things are mentioned that happened in the book and there are a few characters overlap but nothing that would leave someone confused about what is going on. The story focus on space ambulance doctor who’s crew is sent to a mayday signal. They find an old generation ship and a modern ship docked to it. The crew of the modern ship is completely incapacitated and the people on the generation ship are in a crude form of cryo with only a basic AI taking care of them. They bring some of the pods and the AI back to the hospital for treatment and quickly find the modern AIs on the station have become infected with a virus. Dr Jens is concerned for her patients, but she is quickly tapped for her old skills in law enforcement to find out who is doing this. The mystery is good and the universe is well thought out about how society has changed. There are lots of different alien species and you do get the feeling that they are aliens and not just humans in disguise.


Digital review copy provided by the publisher through Edelweiss
( )
  Glennis.LeBlanc | Jan 4, 2023 |
It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t the type of sci fi I particularly enjoy. It was a bit wordy and repetitive. Characterization was okay. The main character was a preachy and rolled around in her own head too much. ( )
  Luziadovalongo | Jul 14, 2022 |
I received this ebook from NetGalley in return for a fair and honest review.

I liked this book. I haven’t read this author before and I was pleasantly surprised by how the novel kept my interest. It is an entertaining read. ( )
  Arkrayder | Apr 8, 2022 |
Viser 1-5 af 16 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Elizabeth Bearprimær forfatteralle udgaverberegnet
Andoh, AdjoaFortællermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after going dangerously awry. Meet Doctor Jens. She hasn't had a decent cup of coffee in fifteen years. Her workday begins when she jumps out of perfectly good space ships and continues with developing treatments for sick alien species she's never seen before. She loves her life. Even without the coffee. But Dr. Jens is about to discover an astonishing mystery: two ships, one ancient and one new, locked in a deadly embrace. The crew is suffering from an unknown ailment and the shipmind is trapped in an inadequate body, much of her memory pared away. Unfortunately, Dr. Jens can't resist a mystery and she begins doing some digging. She has no idea that she's about to discover horrifying and life-changing truths. Written in Elizabeth Bear's signature "rollicking, suspenseful, and sentimental" (Publishers Weekly) style, Machine is a fresh and electrifying space opera that you won't be able to put down"--

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

LibraryThing-forfatter

Elizabeth Bear er LibraryThing-forfatter, en forfatter som har sit personlige bibliotek opført på LibraryThing.

profil side | forfatterside

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.78)
0.5 1
1
1.5 1
2 3
2.5 1
3 8
3.5 5
4 24
4.5 3
5 10

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 201,926,936 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig