HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir…
Indlæser...

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir (original 2020; udgave 2020)

af Robin Ha (Forfatter), Robin Ha (Illustrator)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
2482184,286 (4.3)41
"A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.… (mere)
Medlem:HHABaltimore
Titel:Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir
Forfattere:Robin Ha (Forfatter)
Andre forfattere:Robin Ha (Illustrator)
Info:Balzer Bray (2020), Edition: Illustrated, 240 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Korean American, Immigration, Memoir

Detaljer om værket

Almost American Girl af Robin Ha (2020)

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 41 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 21 (næste | vis alle)
I've been seeing recommendations for Almost American Girl by Robin Ha for a while now, so I decided I had better finally see what the buzz was about. And now I am so mad at myself for not reading it sooner! Almost American Girl is a graphic novel memoir documenting the author's teenage years, primarily focused on one school year. The story opens as 14-year-old Ha and her mother are in their apartment in Seoul, South Korea, packing their bags for a vacation to a faraway place called "Alabama". Ha isn't really sure why they are traveling to a less-than-desirable vacation spot, but ever the dutiful daughter, she keeps her concerns to herself. After they have been there a few days, her mother delivers news that feels like a punch to the gut - her mother is going to marry a man in Alabama, and they will not be returning to their home.
Being a teenager about to enter high school is already tough- starting a new school year in a brand-new country where you don't know the language, the culture, or have any friends is nearly unbearable. The primary focus of the memoir is the year Ha spends desperately trying to understand why her mother would make such a drastic decision and figuring out the best way to deal with the consequences of that choice. It is so painful to watch Ha struggle through her first few months; it is impossible not to feel her confusion, her anger, and her deep sadness. The book does a really remarkable job of making you feel everything she is going through, even though it is a situation that not many can relate to.
One way that Ha chooses to cope with the stresses in her life is to draw comics. I found that added a whole new layer to the beauty to the story as she is not only the author, but the illustrator. It is so fascinating to watch her embrace her creative side and grow in art knowing that, in the future, art is how she will make her living.
Almost American Girl is a book I had trouble putting down. I was so sucked in by the story I could not make myself slow down. It was such a great story, one that I am so excited to recommend to others. ( )
  Chinesa72 | Jul 28, 2021 |
“I didn’t exactly fit in Korea or America. I had become Korean American. And that was okay with me.”

Written and illustrated by Robin Ha, ALMOST AMERICAN GIRL is a YA graphic memoir detailing Robin’s experience after her mother’s sudden relocation of them from Seoul, Korea to Huntsville, Alabama when Robin was fourteen. Through vivid artwork and intimate dialogue, ALMOST AMERICAN GIRL details Robin’s ensuing struggle with extreme culture shock and isolation in her unexpected new home.

Growing up with a single mother in 1990s Korea wasn’t always easy. As a result, Robin had become used to being a bit of an “outsider” even in her own homeland. But when her mother announces on their vacation to Alabama that she’s marrying the man they’re visiting and moving them both to America, Robin is devastated. Stranded in Alabama with a stepfamily that seems committed to disliking her, a school without any ESL classes, cut off from her friends at home, and no access to her beloved comic books, Robin struggles to find her footing.

ALMOST AMERICAN GIRL is a story about immigration, belonging, and art as a place of safety, connection, and refuge. But even more than that, it is a story of mother-daughter relationships and finding compassion for the often invisible struggles of our parents. Ha’s artwork brilliantly weaves Robin’s present-day experiences in Alabama with flashbacks to her — and her mother’s — time in Korea, creating a poignant and moving story of intergenerational resilience and triumph.

CW: racism, sexism, bullying, divorce ( )
  SamBortle | Jul 23, 2021 |
teen/adult graphic memoir - 14y.o. girl abruptly emigrates to Alabama from Seoul and struggles to make friends while learning English and dealing with her mom's new in-laws. ( )
  reader1009 | Jul 3, 2021 |
Robin has lived in Seoul, South Korea for her entire life. That was until she took a vacation to Alabama. Robin had no idea that this vacation would become her new permanent home. She has to attend a new school were she did not know anyone, understand the language, and struggled to fit in.
  Jessica0614 | Jun 2, 2021 |
Graphic Novel
  HHABaltimore | Mar 9, 2021 |
Viser 1-5 af 21 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
To my mother, whose tenacity has taught me never to give up
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
August 7, 1995, Seoul, South Korea
"Welcome to Good Morning English!"
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.3)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 5
3.5 2
4 34
4.5 5
5 28

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 162,287,527 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig