HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

af Roseanne A. Brown

Andre forfattere: Se andre forfattere sektionen.

Serier: A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
9052224,171 (4.07)15
Fantasy. Romance. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:

An instant New York Times bestseller!

The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attractionfrom debut author Roseanne A. Brown. This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Rene Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran. But when a vengeful spirit abducts his younger sister, Nadia, as payment to enter the city, Malik strikes a fatal dealkill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia's freedom.

But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck. Grief-stricken, Karina decides to resurrect her mother through ancient magic . . . requiring the beating heart of a king. And she knows just how to obtain one: by offering her hand in marriage to the victor of the Solstasia competition.

When Malik rigs his way into the contest, they are set on a heart-pounding course to destroy each other. But as attraction flares between them and ancient evils stir, will they be able to see their tasks to the death?

"Magic creates a centuries-long divide between peoples in this stunning debut novel inspired by North African and West African folklore. An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative reminiscent of Children of Blood and Bone." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")

.
… (mere)
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 15 omtaler

Engelsk (21)  Tysk (1)  Alle sprog (22)
Viser 1-5 af 22 (næste | vis alle)
4.75 stars. In a lot of ways, this doesn't break the usual YA formula, but I still really enjoyed it. What stood out to me, aside from the unique inclusion of West African folklore, was the main characters. One is a princess, Karina, with the pressure to fill her mother - the queen's - shoes but also to fulfill the needs of a terrible necromantic spell. The other is a boy, Malik, refugee from a vilified nation, desperate to save his young sister from the clutches of an evil, supernatural being who wants the royal line ended. Their paths collide ofer the backdrop of a contest between chosen champions during a once-in-a-lifetime cosmic event.

Karina is unlikable - in a likeable way? If that makes any sense. She doesn't follow a typical princess archetype in YA. She's ruthless. Malik on the other hand, has not only very real outward struggles, but suffers from severe anxiety and panic attacks. The two were a very interesting combo together. I liked their romance, though it kinda took the backseat in the story. Overall, though, I was mesmerized by the lore and what might happen next. ( )
1 stem escapinginpaper | May 18, 2024 |
#ReadAroundTheWorld #Ghana

This is the debut novel of Ghanaian author Roseanne A. Brown, and is the first of a YA fantasy duology based on West African folklore.

This is an enemies-to-lovers type romance with the main characters, Malik and Karina, pitted against each other. Malik has been given the quest of killing Karina, crown princess of Ziran, and daughter of the reigning Sultana, by the evil spirit who has kidnapped his little sister. Karina has her own slightly more loopy reasons to need to kill Malik, as she wants to bring her mother back to life after her recent assassination, and the magic requires the beating heart of a king. She decides to marry the winner of the Solstasia competition, thus creating a king she can kill. Can the two of them see their quests through, despite the attraction between them?

Malik is portrayed as a gentle person, who suffers anxiety and panic attacks. Karina has always fought against her destiny and bonds, and tries to gain some independence. I enjoyed this book, particularly Malik’s character. I did not fully understand the magic system. I did not completely enjoy the audio-narration either, it seems odd to me in a fantasy with black characters, based on African mythology, that the characters would need American accents rather than African ones. ( )
  mimbza | Apr 7, 2024 |
Very slow-paced but intrigue steadily builds throughout the story. The male lead, Malik, is soft-hearted and always messing things up while Karina is clever and headstrong but bratty. At times, I thought certain scenes dragged, but the ending was good. I needed more time with the Kestrel to feel anything for her. I know her death was the catalyst for Karina to become Sultana, but it felt underdeveloped. Also, sorry, but I felt for Leila. So many times she had to remind him to get his butt into gear.

I think it’s lovely the book includes content warnings at the beginning. ( )
  DestDest | Nov 26, 2023 |
recommended by Bethany
  pollycallahan | Jul 1, 2023 |
I really enjoyed this book, but I just wasn't particularly attached to any of the characters which sucked. ( )
  ALeighPete | Mar 10, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 22 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Roseanne A. Brownprimær forfatteralle udgaverberegnet
Beckles, A. J.Fortællermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Cobb, JordanFortællermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet

Tilhører serien

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Mom and Dad

and for every Black child that’s wondered

if they’re enough—you are.
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
“Abraa! Abraa! Come and gather—a story is about to begin!”
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Fantasy. Romance. Young Adult Fiction. HTML:

An instant New York Times bestseller!

The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder each other despite their growing attractionfrom debut author Roseanne A. Brown. This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Rene Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

For Malik, the Solstasia festival is a chance to escape his war-stricken home and start a new life with his sisters in the prosperous desert city of Ziran. But when a vengeful spirit abducts his younger sister, Nadia, as payment to enter the city, Malik strikes a fatal dealkill Karina, Crown Princess of Ziran, for Nadia's freedom.

But Karina has deadly aspirations of her own. Her mother, the Sultana, has been assassinated; her court threatens mutiny; and Solstasia looms like a knife over her neck. Grief-stricken, Karina decides to resurrect her mother through ancient magic . . . requiring the beating heart of a king. And she knows just how to obtain one: by offering her hand in marriage to the victor of the Solstasia competition.

When Malik rigs his way into the contest, they are set on a heart-pounding course to destroy each other. But as attraction flares between them and ancient evils stir, will they be able to see their tasks to the death?

"Magic creates a centuries-long divide between peoples in this stunning debut novel inspired by North African and West African folklore. An action-packed tale of injustice, magic, and romance, this novel immerses readers in a thrilling world and narrative reminiscent of Children of Blood and Bone." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")

.

Ingen biblioteksbeskrivelser fundet.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Aktuelle diskussioner

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.07)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 15
3.5 1
4 28
4.5 2
5 23

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 208,781,557 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig