HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and…
Indlæser...

All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1) (udgave 2020)

af Adalyn Grace

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingSamtaler
385350,151 (3.6)Ingen
"Fierce and unrelenting...Do yourself a favor and get lost in this beautiful book!" --Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace's All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber's Caraval and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series. She will reign. As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer--the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it's never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy's dangerous soul magic. When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he'll help her prove she's fit to rule, if she'll help him reclaim his stolen magic. But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder--and more peril--than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she'll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stowaway she never expected... or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever. I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom. An Imprint Book "Vicious and alluring, All the Stars and Teeth is a force to be reckoned with." --Hafsah Faizal, author of We Hunt the Flame "Jam-packed with swashbuckling adventure, swoonworthy romance, and dark, lush magic." --Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray… (mere)
Medlem:Jessica_Scott
Titel:All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
Forfattere:Adalyn Grace
Info:Imprint, Kindle Edition, 373 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:to-read

Detaljer om værket

All the Stars and Teeth af Adalyn Grace

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

Viser 3 af 3
I know I have been leaning heavily towards fantasy novels lately. So when I say that All the Stars and Teeth is a fantastic novel, it means something. Yes, it follows the standard young adult fantasy novel format. There is a love interest (although minor), and it is a bit predictable and simplistic. However, Amora Montara is such an amazing character that none of that other stuff matters.

Fierce is the best word I can use to describe Amora. She has a strong personality, as one would expect, but she also has an unwavering sense of duty. Moreover, she has a well-defined sense of identity – something that tends to be missing in young adult heroines. Normally, they have to grow into their identities. Amora never needs to do that. Her identity drives all of her actions and desires. It is what gives her purpose and ultimately what you come to respect about her the most.

Another facet of Amora’s character I find highly admirable is her strong ethics and sense of justice. She never hides her head in the sand but demands answers to situations that seem to be contrary to what she was taught. When she begins to question her magic, the sparks truly fly. We have all read heroines who blindly follow their teachings rather than the evidence. Yet, Amora does not hesitate to question at the first sign of differences, even if it means rethinking the one thing that she holds most sacred about her family.

Speaking of magic, hers is unlike anything I have ever seen in a YA novel. It adds a deliciously dark note to the entire story that simply enhances Amora’s character and her quest for information. In addition, it challenges those strongly held ethics that so define her.

Amora Montara is the type of leader we all deserve – honest, caring, willing to listen, and most importantly, willing to learn. She doesn’t take the easy path but does what is right for her people. There is no angst, no hand-wringing about tough decisions. Everything about Amora is decisive and for the greater good. Gods, I love her.
  jmchshannon | Mar 19, 2020 |
Series Info/Source: This is a stand alone book that I borrowed from the library.

Story (3/5): The story starts out a bit dark, with our heroine trying to harness the soul magic she wields in a very gruesome way as part of a ritual to claim the throne of Visidia. When things go wrong she ends up fleeing with a pirate to find out what else is going wrong with the kingdom as a whole. The magic is interesting but a lot is thrown at the reader at once. The story is primarily a sailing adventure but the majority of the plot is politics driven (not my favorite).

Characters (3/5): I didn’t really like or engage with any of the characters, they all seemed selfish and immature to me. They were also a bit thin on characterization and came off as very two dimensional.

Setting (3/5): There is some interesting world-building here with all the islands and their different forms of magic. However, getting all this thrown at us at once is just too much of an info dump. There is an index in front to help. However, there was a lot of telling us about the different islands and very little showing.

Writing Style (3/5): I thought the writing sounded stiff and a bit immature at times...lots of telling and not much decent description. This made it hard for me to really engage with, and enjoy, the story.

Summary (3/5): Overall I thought this was okay but nothing special. Just another YA fantasy. The writing style just seemed a bit immature and did too much telling the reader about things rather than engaging the reader in the story. Not my favorite and I don't plan on picking up more books by this author. There's just so much YA fantasy to pick from and this one didn't stand out as being exceptional. ( )
  krau0098 | Feb 28, 2020 |
A very neat blend of magic, secrets, action, monsters (both human and otherwise), adventure and romance. Amora is both strong and likable, chafing at the restrictions her father imposes on her as the only other person able to use soul magic, when her long awaited demonstration to prove she's his legacy goes terribly bad, she flees with a mysterious young man claiming to be a pirate. Add in a treacherous journey, lots of blood and a really interesting mermaid and you have a dandy story. ( )
  sennebec | Feb 8, 2020 |
Viser 3 af 3
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"Fierce and unrelenting...Do yourself a favor and get lost in this beautiful book!" --Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace's All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber's Caraval and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series. She will reign. As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer--the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it's never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy's dangerous soul magic. When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he'll help her prove she's fit to rule, if she'll help him reclaim his stolen magic. But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder--and more peril--than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she'll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stowaway she never expected... or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever. I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom. An Imprint Book "Vicious and alluring, All the Stars and Teeth is a force to be reckoned with." --Hafsah Faizal, author of We Hunt the Flame "Jam-packed with swashbuckling adventure, swoonworthy romance, and dark, lush magic." --Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.6)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 8
3.5 1
4 6
4.5
5 6

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 158,955,264 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig