HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The Black Flamingo af Dean Atta
Indlæser...

The Black Flamingo (original 2020; udgave 2020)

af Dean Atta (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
6582635,570 (4.3)15
Poetry. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) HTML:

Stonewall Book Award Winner * A Time Magazine Best YA Book of All Time

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican??but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs??and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are??and allow us to shine.

"In this uplifting coming-of-age novel told in accessible verse, Atta chronicles the growth and glory of Michael Angeli, a mixed-race kid from London, as he navigates his cultural identity as Cypriot and Jamaican as well as his emerging sexuality." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")… (mere)

Medlem:Jamitha
Titel:The Black Flamingo
Forfattere:Dean Atta (Forfatter)
Info:Balzer Bray (2020), 416 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek, Læser for øjeblikket
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

The Black Flamingo af Dean Atta (2020)

  1. 00
    The Knockout Queen af Rufi Thorpe (cmeblock)
    cmeblock: Teen Friendship, LGBTQ, Humor
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 15 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 26 (næste | vis alle)
This book is such a beautiful story that touches on issues that desperately need to be heard, especially in these times.

I can't wait to read more from Dean Atta! ( )
  tootall77hc | May 9, 2024 |
Gr 9 Up—Biracial Michael works through his identity, race, and sexuality as he finds himself through his drag
persona, the Black Flamingo, in this novel in verse. Michael's story reminds readers that being true to who you are is
what makes you truly fabulous.
  BackstoryBooks | Apr 2, 2024 |
DNF at 45%. I thought this would be because I love drag and novels in verse, but I just don’t think this book is for me. I saw the author read some of the poems on YouTube, and those poems were great, but I don’t think they represented the entirety of what I read. I’m sad to DNF this book because I haven’t got to the drag part yet, but the book is almost halfway done and it hasn’t even touched on the part that I was excited for, which was the drag. I just don’t think I can force myself to keep reading for that part when I haven’t even enjoyed what I’ve already read. I appreciated some of the discussions on identity and I hope that someone else will enjoy this, though!
  lizjenkins | Mar 10, 2024 |
I wasn't expecting the verse. I wasn't that into it in the first half but came around towards the end---maybe because Michael's poetry also gets better when he's in college. ( )
  caedocyon | Feb 23, 2024 |
Written in prose so it's a quick read ( )
  Fatula | Sep 25, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 26 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For George
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Today is my sixth birthday and I'm hiding in my room.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Poetry. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. LGBTQIA+ (Fiction.) HTML:

Stonewall Book Award Winner * A Time Magazine Best YA Book of All Time

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican??but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs??and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are??and allow us to shine.

"In this uplifting coming-of-age novel told in accessible verse, Atta chronicles the growth and glory of Michael Angeli, a mixed-race kid from London, as he navigates his cultural identity as Cypriot and Jamaican as well as his emerging sexuality." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.3)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2
2.5 1
3 13
3.5 3
4 48
4.5 2
5 55

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 206,092,016 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig