HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The Jane Austen Society: A Novel af Natalie…
Indlæser...

The Jane Austen Society: A Novel (udgave 2021)

af Natalie Jenner (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
5655832,501 (3.79)50
""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--… (mere)
Medlem:Karenbrady63
Titel:The Jane Austen Society: A Novel
Forfattere:Natalie Jenner (Forfatter)
Info:St. Martin's Griffin (2021), 336 pages
Samlinger:Ønskeliste
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Detaljer om værket

The Jane Austen Society af Natalie Jenner

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 50 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 58 (næste | vis alle)
Maybe I’m alone in this complaint but at times I was disoriented by the characters ages. The way some of them were talked about put a picture in my head of an elderly person only to discover they’re somewhere in their forties and even once their age had been plainly stated there were still these double-takes where I was like, wait, why are they talking about this person as if they’re at the end of their life when their chronological age said otherwise. I realize life expectancy was different then than now and we now also look at forty in younger terms than ever before, still, I’d imagine even in the 1940’s there would have been a glaring difference between a forty year old and a senior citizen on their deathbed and I wish that difference had been more apparent here, I mean, the way everyone discusses Frances you’d think she’s so over the hill that it’s a wonder her father would even be alive.

The age thing also made an already large age gap in one romance feel gargantuan and for me picturing a young woman with basically her grandpa doused any possibility of being a fan of that pairing (in actuality he’s not grandpa age he’s just talked about like he is, still, he’s twenty or so years older, old enough to have been her doctor when she was a kid which I found uncomfortable). One other romance was clearly headed towards a dead end from the beginning while two other romances happen more off the page than on, particularly the LGBTQ one, so I really didn’t find myself all that invested in that aspect of the book.

I did like Evie Stone to the point where I wished her life outside of her job had been explored further on the page, the pleasure she took in cataloging the library was wonderfully nerdy and assertive and I wanted more of her in the story.

In addition to Evie, most of these three stars are due to the love with which Jane Austen and her books are discussed throughout this story. The engagement I failed to feel elsewhere in the book was always present in those conversations where the characters passionately dissected Jane’s characters. If you don’t have many fellow readers in your life, eavesdropping on those literary discussions is very enjoyable. ( )
  SJGirl | Sep 12, 2021 |
The seeds are sown in 1932 for a group of people to come together in Jane Austen's Chawton to help preserve her heritage. It starts with a chance meeting between an American lady, Mary Anne, a fan of Jane Austen and labourer Adam Berwick, which leads him to start reading Pride and Prejudice, and then her other works
By 1945 American actress Miss Mimi (Mary Anne) Harrison, acquires some of Jane Austen jewellery, via an auction at Sotheby where she meets auctioneer Yardley Sinclair. Then at Chawton we learn about Francis Knight, last of the Knights and an agoraphobic, Dr Grey, ex-school teacher Mrs Aveline Grover, Andrew Forrester solicitor and, Evie Stone, servant at the Manor.
A group of diverse people who are brought together because of their love of Jane Austen's books. Can the Society result in helping these wounded people. Will they be able to find what is missing in their lives, and will they at last allow romance to enter their lives.
An enjoyable and interesting story with its diverse characters
Received a paperback copy from the publishers ( )
  Vesper1931 | Jul 29, 2021 |
The plot and the main characters in The Jane Austen Society are fictional, but many of the facts about Jane Austen and Chawton UK, the community where Miss Austen spent the last eight years of her life, are real. The story takes place in Chawton, just after World War II, more than a hundred years after Jane Austen died. The characters are still living with the pain of the world war, but they have the support of each other. This novel honors the value of intimate friendships and small-town life.

The story is about Jane Austen fans, who are obsessed with her books. They read and re-read the novels repeatedly, then compare the characters' lives and values with their own. They have decided to form a society with the purpose of raising money to establish a museum honoring Austen. These fans consist mainly of people who have grown up in Chawton, but a few others, also obsessed with Austen, are brought into the group. Among those additions there is a famous actress named Mimi Harrison and an auctioneer from Sotheby's named Yardley Sinclair. The group ends up with a wonderful mix of expertise, fame and down-home charm. These friends love literature, specifically Austen's books, but also learn to love each other. There is romance in the book as well as barriers to overcome in pursuit of their goals.

The book is charming and fun, but also has its tense moments. I enjoyed it thoroughly. ( )
  SteveLindahl | May 19, 2021 |
In 1946 a fictional Jane Austen Society sets out to purchase Austen’s former home and turn it into a museum.

I enjoyed the characters’ discussions of Austen’s novels but, much to my surprise, this book just didn’t didn’t make me care about the Society’s goal. And I thought the romances would have been more satisfying if at least one of them had been portrayed with greater depth. Especially since all the discussion of Austen’s work meant I was more inclined to contrast this story with Austen’s than I would have otherwise been. (Invoke comparisons with Austen at your peril, authors!) ( )
  Herenya | Apr 13, 2021 |
What a lovely book about people in a tiny British town (set in the 1940s) who care so much about Jane Austen and preserving her legacy.

Are there plans to make this book into a movie? ( )
  yukon92 | Apr 12, 2021 |
Viser 1-5 af 58 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"--

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.79)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 5
2.5 5
3 25
3.5 18
4 70
4.5 6
5 24

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 162,401,625 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig