HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

No Ocean Too Wide: A Novel (Mcallister Family) (2019)

af Carrie Turansky

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingSamtaler
4714419,339 (3.92)Ingen
"In this historical adventure for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, the three youngest McAllister children are taken to Canada as British Home Children without their mother's knowledge or permission. The oldest McAllister sibling follows them across the Atlantic to search for them and bring them home. When Laura McAllister, a young lady's maid, learns her three siblings have been taken from their mother and emigrated to Canada without her mother's knowledge, Laura determines to search for them and reunite the family. But lack of funds and resistance from authorities push her to use a false name and take a position with a child emigration society to gain passage to Canada. Andrew Frasier, a wealthy young lawyer, is surprised to see his mother's former lady's maid on board ship escorting a group of child immigrants, especially when she uses a different name. Laura eventually convinces Andrew to help her search for her siblings and uncover the truth about the treatment of British Home Children. Romantic feelings grow between this unlikely couple, and though they have different backgrounds, they share a growing faith and desire to seek justice and relief for the children who are mistreated"--… (mere)

Ingen.

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

Viser 1-5 af 14 (næste | vis alle)
Based on true life events when impoverished British children were sent to Canada to work on farms or house servants. Upon the death of their father and sickness of their mother, three children from one family were sent to Canada without the knowledge of their mother or sister. The story follows the sister in her search for her siblings. ( )
  myers3 | Feb 8, 2020 |
I purchased this book from Amazon to read with the local bookclub Well Read Ladies. All opinions are my own. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 No Ocean Too Wide by Carrie Turansky. Ya'll this book made me want to cry then feel encouraged and then cry some more. It truly was a tear jerker! The McAlister family suffered a tragedy when they lost their father in an accident but when their mother takes ill and their oldest sister so far away working the three youngest children will suffer a tragedy none of the could foresee. Laura knows she must act quickly to save her younger siblings from the hardship of an orphanage, but every time she tries to do things respectfully or legally she hits a dead end. In order to save her one brother and two sisters she will travel the entire ocean to ensure they are safe. Her goal is to reunite her family, unfortunately fate has different ideas. Review also posted on Instagram @borenbooks, Twitter @jason_stacie, Facebook, Amazon, Goodreads/StacieBoren, Library Thing, and my blog at readsbystacie.com ( )
  SBoren | Jan 13, 2020 |
This is a good story! I very much enjoyed it. The subject matter is rather heavy, but I really liked the way the story was told. This author seems to have a knack for bringing her characters to life in such a way that they seemed very real. I felt for Laura, and could hardly stop reading, as she searched for her siblings. I'm looking forward to reading the sequel!
  momofeight | Dec 23, 2019 |
Okay story but more a woman’s book. ( )
  lynngood2 | Nov 1, 2019 |
A captivating tale that strings together fiction and history and opens the readers' eyes to a part of history that isn't so wonderful. I had not realized that child emigration was such a thing until reading this story; after finishing I appreciate the writer's research and information that she shared even more so than when I started and assumed this was a fictional tale only. I enjoyed the fictional aspect of this book as well as it is an easy story to follow and the read is quick. The descriptions of the times is also enjoyable for anyone interested in stepping back in time. I received an advanced electronic copy from Waterbrook & Multnomah. These are my own honest thoughts on the book. ( )
  HayleyMRS | Aug 18, 2019 |
Viser 1-5 af 14 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"In this historical adventure for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, the three youngest McAllister children are taken to Canada as British Home Children without their mother's knowledge or permission. The oldest McAllister sibling follows them across the Atlantic to search for them and bring them home. When Laura McAllister, a young lady's maid, learns her three siblings have been taken from their mother and emigrated to Canada without her mother's knowledge, Laura determines to search for them and reunite the family. But lack of funds and resistance from authorities push her to use a false name and take a position with a child emigration society to gain passage to Canada. Andrew Frasier, a wealthy young lawyer, is surprised to see his mother's former lady's maid on board ship escorting a group of child immigrants, especially when she uses a different name. Laura eventually convinces Andrew to help her search for her siblings and uncover the truth about the treatment of British Home Children. Romantic feelings grow between this unlikely couple, and though they have different backgrounds, they share a growing faith and desire to seek justice and relief for the children who are mistreated"--

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.92)
0.5 1
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 2
3.5
4 8
4.5
5 6

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 155,727,759 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig