HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The Book Charmer af Karen Hawkins
Indlæser...

The Book Charmer (udgave 2019)

af Karen Hawkins (Forfatter)

Serier: Dove Pond (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
3253360,992 (4.02)6
"The New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular MacLean Curse series crafts a charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever. The residents of Dove Pond, North Carolina, know three things: they have the finest bar-b-que this side of Atlanta, their Apple Festival is the best that ever was, and the town has phenomenal good luck whenever the Dove family has seven daughters. Fortunately, that time is now, because Dove Pond desperately needs a miracle. The seventh daughter, Sarah Dove, believes in all things magical. Books have whispered their secrets to her since she was a child. Now the town librarian, she makes sure every book finds the reader who most needs it. But recently the books have been whispering something different--that change is about to come to Dove Pond. Sarah is soon convinced that the legendary Dove Pond good luck has arrived in the form of new resident, Grace Wheeler. After the tragic death of her sister, Grace has moved to Dove Pond with her grieving young niece and ailing foster mother hoping to retrench financially and emotionally before returning to her fast-paced city life. But she soon learns that life in a not-so-sleepy town isn't as quiet as she'd hoped. Despite her best efforts to focus on her family, she can't avoid the townspeople, especially her next-door neighbors, the quirky and talkative Sarah Dove and cynical veteran Chris Parker. Grace's situation grows more complicated when she assumes her duties as town clerk and discovers that Dove Pond is on the verge of financial ruin. Already overburdened by her own cares, Grace tries to stay aloof from the town's issues, but she's never been good at resisting a challenge. With Sarah's encouragement, and inspired by the wise words of a special book, Grace decides to save her new town. And in her quest, she discovers the rich comfort of being a part of a loving community, the tantalizing promise of new love, the deep strength that comes from having a true friend, and the heartfelt power of finding just the right book. With Karen Hawkins's "fast, fun, and sexy" (Christina Dodd) prose, The Book Charmer is a feel-good story with plenty of heart that will appeal to fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Alice Hoffman, Heather Graham, and Jude Deveraux"-- "A charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever"--… (mere)
Medlem:Lea.Pearl
Titel:The Book Charmer
Forfattere:Karen Hawkins (Forfatter)
Info:Gallery Books (2019), 368 pages
Samlinger:Hardcopies, Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:*****
Nøgleord:Ingen

Detaljer om værket

The Book Charmer af Karen Hawkins

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 6 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 33 (næste | vis alle)
This is a charming book about a small town and its residents. Grace, a former foster child, and Sarah, the town librarian, are the main characters. Books speak to Sarah, and they tell her that Grace can help save the town which is in financial difficulty.
A story of love, loss, family, including themes of dementia, PTSD, small town living, and a little magic.
I enjoyed how the town was described, and how the residents all knew each other and their history. I thought it was accurate in describing how people think things should be, just because it has always been done that way. Then, someone new comes along and wants to change everything. Naturally, that doesn't sit well, but perhaps, a fresh perspective is what is needed.
Enjoyable! I look forward to reading the next book in the Dove Pond series, and learning about more characters and their lives. ( )
  rmarcin | May 17, 2021 |
Oh my word, this book was so good. It was everything a book book is. Funny, sad, endearing, moving, lovable characters. I rushed through it, as I could not put it down and did not want it to end. I hope we get more stories about this lovely town and it's residents.
  SharleneMartinMoore | Apr 24, 2021 |
This book doesn't seemed to be well titled, IMO. Yes, there is a character, Sarah Dove, who talks with books, however, she is not the main character. This story centers around Grace Wheeler who moves to Dove Pond with her orphaned niece and her former foster mother, Mama G, who has developed dementia. Grace has taken on the job of town clerk which has duties that she is not interested in undertaking. She only wants to make life easier for Mama G for the time that she has left. But because everyone in town believes that Grace is necessary to save the town from financial ruin, trickery and manipulation are involved in making her stay.

The segments that are related to Mama G's dementia and its effects were well-written and moving, however, the sections which were related to Grace as a mother to her niece and her interactions with the other town folk lack depth that would have made this a great book, now it is only pretty good. I wonder what will come in the future for the residents of Dove Pond. ( )
  cyderry | Mar 4, 2021 |
The Book Charmer by Karen Hawkins is a 2019 Gallery Books publication.
Offbeat and Amusing! This fanciful romance is a lovely gift for book lovers!
Dove Pond librarian, Sarah Dover has a special knack for picking out just the right book for her patrons. When Grace Wheeler moves to Dove Pond, it is only on a temporary basis. Sarah, though, is convinced Grace is the person who will save Dove Pond from financial ruin. Sarah is determined to make a Grace a permanent resident.

Grace proves to be a little more stubborn than Sarah bargained for, though...

I’ve read a few of Karen Hawkins’ delightful historical romance novels over the years, but I must say, I think Hawkins has one-upped herself with this one!

This is an adorable small -town romance, occasionally poignant and bittersweet, with just a splash of magic realism. The special books in Sarah's library are characters themselves and this element will especially enchant book lovers!

Overall, wonderful feel-good kind of story anyone can enjoy!! ( )
  gpangel | Dec 22, 2020 |
How could I not love this magical novel about a small town librarian who has the ability to "talk" to books, and the other wonderful characters inhabiting the southern town of Dove Pond? There are unexpected depths to this story, as it deals with foster care, aging, dementia, loss, and second chances. I loved getting lost in the world the author created, which reminded me why books are good for the soul. I will happily recommend it to fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Susan Bishop Crispell, and some of the novels of Cathy Lamb. More like this one, please! ( )
  KellyWellRead | Dec 17, 2020 |
Viser 1-5 af 33 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"The New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular MacLean Curse series crafts a charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever. The residents of Dove Pond, North Carolina, know three things: they have the finest bar-b-que this side of Atlanta, their Apple Festival is the best that ever was, and the town has phenomenal good luck whenever the Dove family has seven daughters. Fortunately, that time is now, because Dove Pond desperately needs a miracle. The seventh daughter, Sarah Dove, believes in all things magical. Books have whispered their secrets to her since she was a child. Now the town librarian, she makes sure every book finds the reader who most needs it. But recently the books have been whispering something different--that change is about to come to Dove Pond. Sarah is soon convinced that the legendary Dove Pond good luck has arrived in the form of new resident, Grace Wheeler. After the tragic death of her sister, Grace has moved to Dove Pond with her grieving young niece and ailing foster mother hoping to retrench financially and emotionally before returning to her fast-paced city life. But she soon learns that life in a not-so-sleepy town isn't as quiet as she'd hoped. Despite her best efforts to focus on her family, she can't avoid the townspeople, especially her next-door neighbors, the quirky and talkative Sarah Dove and cynical veteran Chris Parker. Grace's situation grows more complicated when she assumes her duties as town clerk and discovers that Dove Pond is on the verge of financial ruin. Already overburdened by her own cares, Grace tries to stay aloof from the town's issues, but she's never been good at resisting a challenge. With Sarah's encouragement, and inspired by the wise words of a special book, Grace decides to save her new town. And in her quest, she discovers the rich comfort of being a part of a loving community, the tantalizing promise of new love, the deep strength that comes from having a true friend, and the heartfelt power of finding just the right book. With Karen Hawkins's "fast, fun, and sexy" (Christina Dodd) prose, The Book Charmer is a feel-good story with plenty of heart that will appeal to fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Alice Hoffman, Heather Graham, and Jude Deveraux"-- "A charming and evocative story about a picturesque Southern town, two fiercely independent women, and a magical friendship that will change their lives forever"--

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.02)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5 2
3 14
3.5 6
4 39
4.5 3
5 24

GenreThing

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 159,199,035 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig