HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

Cold Storage (2019)

af David Koepp

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
4862751,199 (3.61)7
For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park, Spider-Man, Panic Room, and War of the Worlds: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism. When Pentagon bio-terror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository. Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it. He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards--one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity?… (mere)
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 7 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 27 (næste | vis alle)
A clever, economically written, compelling thriller in which (mild spoiler alert) the good guys win.

What more do you want from a pulp novel?
  Mark_Feltskog | Dec 23, 2023 |
I don't typically enjoy humor mixed with scifi or horror, but this one appealed to me. Not sure how to describe it, but the humor enhanced rather than dominated the story. Which was actually pretty creepy/icky. There was a tiny but funny reference to Wilt Chamberlain. ( )
  keithostertag | Oct 31, 2023 |
Cold Storage is, Aliens meet, The Thing, meets Bill And Ted's Excellent Adventure, meets The X Files. The narrator speaks like he's sitting across the kitchen table from you, until he does goofy voices - then he cracks me up.
The science in this fiction is serious enough to make you wonder, just what are they hiding in Area 51? I really dug the characters in the story, because most of them are the kind of people that we have all known, met, or grown up around (or maybe there's a character that reminds me of...Me?) Like, Naomi, the Black Chick who manages to keep a cool head, while facing the boogie-man...SMILE!!! ( )
  Madamxtra | Mar 10, 2023 |
I was a little worried about this going in, partly because Blake Crouch had blurbed this calling the book terrifying and hilarious, partly because of the wideshot GR reviews. However, I actually had a good time with the book.

Now, it has to be said that the book isn't actually anything special. Very reminiscent of Andromeda Strain, without being clinical and boring and painfully dated. The plot is a very straightforward and unoriginal "tough guy saves the day" story, but with the added twist of being self aware and poking a little fun at all the cliches that usually come along with that, especially considering our tough guy has recently retired and is starting to show a little ware and tear.

I think I cracked a smile maybe once though, so me and Mr. Crouch clearly have a vastly different concept of what constitutes as hilarious.

Now, I could go further into the paper thin relationship side streams that flowed at the edges of the story, particularly how the woman into married men is the first to die, or how another woman just calmly accepts the reveal that a potential love interest has been literally stalking her as nothing much, however, those were things that were sort of sidelined for me here, in the grand scheme of things, so I'll just let it go and enjoy the book for what it is. A fun scifi thriller movie in book form. ( )
  tuusannuuska | Dec 1, 2022 |
I had read reviews saying this was good sci fi. I had read reviews saying this was funny at times. I picked it up when it went on sale and thought, what the heck. I will say I enjoyed the heck out of this book. It really is sci fi which doesn’t take itself too seriously. The deadly mold even gets character development. I didn’t trust the reviews, but trust the reviews. This one is good sci fi fun. ( )
  Nerdyrev1 | Nov 23, 2022 |
Viser 1-5 af 27 (næste | vis alle)
...the book (and movie) that is most analogous to Koepp’s engaging debut novel, "Cold Storage" is Peter Benchley’s iconic "Jaws." In both cases, humans are put in peril by the evolutionary imperatives of a wild creature, which is particularly frightening since you can’t argue or reason with natural selection.

In Koepp’s world, however, the shark is a fungus.

And the humans in peril aren’t just the folks dumb enough to go in the water… it’s all of us. Which raises the stakes – and the fun – immeasurably. If you find profound anxiety fun.
tilføjet af Lemeritus | RedigerUSA Today, Tod Goldberg (Sep 6, 2019)
 
This is a classic thriller in the tradition of Crichton and Richard Preston. If you loved “The Andromeda Strain” and adored “The Hot Zone,” and if you relish, as I do, horrendous and revolting descriptions of distended bodies writhing and heaving and ribcages bursting open with the sound of snapping sticks and guts flying into the faces of dumbfounded people, and if you like the image of unwholesome green globules of fungus bubbling along the ground toward a paralyzed scientist, then this is the thriller for you. But Koepp is better than Crichton in three significant ways: He writes well, he has a wicked sense of humor and his characters are so keenly, intelligently and even movingly drawn that they might have stepped out of a literary novel. On every level, “Cold Storage” is pure, unadulterated entertainment.
tilføjet af Lemeritus | RedigerNew York Times, Douglas Preston (betalingsside) (Aug 30, 2019)
 
Koepp builds a tight plot as the three race against time and the fungus, a fictional but all-too-convincing monster of an organism that, if it escapes, could bring on global extinctions. Roberto, Travis, and Naomi are engaging, believable characters. Koepp is skilled at sharp, often humorous dialogue, and Roberto’s discovery of the physical barriers to being a hero at age 68 is both darkly funny and an effective source of suspense....Unlikely heroes battle a frightening fungus that could wipe out humanity in this taut, mordant thriller debut.
tilføjet af Lemeritus | RedigerKirkus Reviews (Jun 17, 2019)
 
Breakneck pacing and nonstop action compensate for the predictable story line and the occasional contrivance. Michael Crichton fans won’t want to miss this one.
tilføjet af Lemeritus | RedigerPublishers Weekly (May 30, 2019)
 
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Melissa, who said, "Yeah, sure!"
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
The world's largest single living organism is Armillaria solidpes, better know as the honey fungus. -Prologue
After they'd burned their clothes, shaved their heads, and scrubbed themselves until they bled, Roberto Diaz and Trini Romano were allowed back into the country
Citater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
This colony of Cordyceps novus was a bit like Reno, Nevada—popular once, but limited by location and climate, and not anywhere a serious person would want to go.
This colony was similar to Los Angeles—slow, inevitable, and in no one’s best interests.
In urban terms, this third colony was Atlantic City. Used to be a big deal, dead on its feet now.
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park, Spider-Man, Panic Room, and War of the Worlds: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism. When Pentagon bio-terror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository. Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it. He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards--one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity?

Ingen biblioteksbeskrivelser fundet.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Aktuelle diskussioner

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.61)
0.5
1 4
1.5 2
2 7
2.5 3
3 33
3.5 12
4 54
4.5 3
5 19

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 207,059,850 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig