HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

New Kid af Jerry Craft
Indlæser...

New Kid (original 2019; udgave 2019)

af Jerry Craft (Forfatter), Jerry Craft (Illustrator)

Serier: New Kid (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
7217323,065 (4.31)39
Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?… (mere)
Medlem:brytniewheeler
Titel:New Kid
Forfattere:Jerry Craft (Forfatter)
Andre forfattere:Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
Info:Quill Tree Books (2019), Edition: Unabridged, 256 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:****
Nøgleord:newbery winner, cultural differences, realistic fiction, graphic novel

Detaljer om værket

New Kid af Jerry Craft (2019)

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 39 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 72 (næste | vis alle)
New Kid is such an amazing book that can relate to so many people. The middle school aged book brings the life of a kid who is trying to fit into middle school being one of a few kids of color. This is a must need book in your classroom ( )
  cdtjomiller | Apr 20, 2021 |
New Kid is an excellent and funny book that all Middle School students should read and will likely enjoy. Jordan Banks is a new kid at a prestigious private school. He is also one of the only students of color. He has to navigate making new friends, balancing those new friends with his existing ones, finding his way around a massive campus, and discovering his voice.

Jerry Craft does an excellent job portraying a variety of nuanced, multi-dimensional characters. The reader really gets to know Jordan, his friends, his parents, and Alex the weird puppet girl. The author portrays everyday racism in a very realistic way - nothing in your face and violent but rather a series of microaggressions that grind away at the recipients. An important, funny read for students and teachers alike. ( )
  MeghanCarden | Apr 19, 2021 |
Instead of going to an art school that he has dreamed of, Jordan's parents sent him to a prestigious private school in seventh grade. In addition to the typical middle school awkwardness and struggles, he has to navigate through being one of few people of color in his school. This would be a great book for upper elementary students or those who are about to enter middle school. This would also be a great book for new students or those who may be in a community where they are the minority. ( )
  sobiec | Apr 19, 2021 |
Middle. This book follows New Kid, Jordan Banks, as he settles in to his new fancy school. The only issue, he doesn't want to be there. Jordan wanted to go to art school, but instead he's at a low-diversity, upperclass school. Will Jordan be able to fit in, or will he be the "new kid" forever?

Great book for young readers, excellent representation and an eye opener for many students on the negative affect of racism and microaggression in daily life. Would be great for all students but especially struggling readers.
  sarahcasimes | Apr 5, 2021 |
New kid by Jerry Craft is a graphic novel that tells a story of a boy named Jordan who is transferred to a new private and very white school. Jordan deals with bullies, social struggles, school conflicts, and racial issues as one of the few kids of color in his grade. He has the love of his family and his close friends that help him get through his day and lives through his art. I would suggest this book for upper elementary students because this book can be something they can relate to and understand. ( )
  EmilyMcDonald | Apr 5, 2021 |
Viser 1-5 af 72 (næste | vis alle)
Don’t let the title fool you. Seventh-grader Jordan Banks may be the new kid at his upper-crust private school, but this remarkably honest and accessible story is not just about being new; it’s unabashedly about race. Example after uncomfortable example hits the mark: casual assumptions about black students’ families and financial status, black students being mistaken for one another, well-intentioned teachers awkwardly stumbling over language, competition over skin tones among the black students themselves. Yet it’s clear that everyone has a burden to bear, from the weird girl to the blond boy who lives in a mansion, and, indeed, Jordan only learns to navigate his new world by not falling back on his own assumptions. Craft’s easy-going art and ingenious use of visual metaphor loosen things up considerably, and excerpts from Jordan’s sketch book provide several funny, poignant, and insightful asides. It helps keep things light and approachable even as Jordan’s parents tussle over the question of what’s best for their son—to follow the world’s harsh rules so he can fit in or try to pave his own difficult road. A few climactic moments of resolution feel a touch too pat, but Craft’s voice rings urgent and empathetic. Speaking up about the unrepresented experience of so many students makes this a necessary book, particularly for this age group. Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.
tilføjet af KaylaHatcher | RedigerBooklist Online, Jesse Karp (Nov 15, 2018)
 

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
To the Jordan Banks in all of us
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
This is how I feel every single day of my life, like I'm falling without a parachute.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers' Literature! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.31)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5
3 15
3.5 8
4 66
4.5 10
5 76

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 157,326,105 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig