HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The Ragged Edge of Night af Olivia Hawker
Indlæser...

The Ragged Edge of Night (udgave 2018)

af Olivia Hawker (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
2991466,967 (3.99)15
For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes an emotionally gripping, beautifully written historical novel about extraordinary hope, redemption, and one man's search for light during the darkest times of World War II. Germany, 1942. Franciscan friar Anton Starzmann is stripped of his place in the world when his school is seized by the Nazis. He relocates to a small German hamlet to wed Elisabeth Herter, a widow who seeks a marriage--in name only--to a man who can help raise her three children. Anton seeks something too--atonement for failing to protect his young students from the wrath of the Nazis. But neither he nor Elisabeth expects their lives to be shaken once again by the inescapable rumble of war. As Anton struggles to adapt to the roles of husband and father, he learns of the Red Orchestra, an underground network of resisters plotting to assassinate Hitler. Despite Elisabeth's reservations, Anton joins this army of shadows. But when the SS discovers his schemes, Anton will embark on a final act of defiance that may cost him his life--even if it means saying goodbye to the family he has come to love more than he ever believed possible.… (mere)
Medlem:PaulaGalvan
Titel:The Ragged Edge of Night
Forfattere:Olivia Hawker (Forfatter)
Info:Lake Union Publishing (2018), 330 pages
Samlinger:eBook Library
Vurdering:****
Nøgleord:Ingen

Detaljer om værket

The Ragged Edge of Night af Olivia Hawker

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 15 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 14 (næste | vis alle)
As the author's notes reveal in the back, I was surprised to find this was a true story taken from the life of Josef Anton Starzmann, who lived in the small German town of Unterboihingen during WWII. Part of the resistance effort to assassinate Adolph Hitler, he failed in that endeavor but inspired and brought hope to many with his musical talents and bravery at resisting Hitler's SS demands to turn over the church bells of his small town. I found the book uplifting and was glad to know people like Anton really existed in such turbulent times. ( )
  PaulaGalvan | May 9, 2021 |
Beautiful story set in WWII about the power of resistance and love in the midst of evil and totalitarianism. Yet another angle on the war - I'm always impressed when authors come up with a fresh story - and this one is based on a real person and true family lore and experience. Joseph Anton Starzmann was a Catholic friar until the Nazis disbanded his order and shipped off the special-needs children he had been teaching and caring for. He is then drafted into the Wehrmacht where he paratroops into Latvia to "liberate" Riga. After being wounded in this maneuver, he tries to adapt to civilian life, but seeks God's purpose and answers an ad in a Catholic newspaper from a desperate widow seeking a father for her 3 children in the small country town of Unterboihingen. This charming village has been largely untouched by the war except for the rations and food shortages, but the people look out for each other, have set up a barter system and are mainly loyal to their German heritage, not the Fuhrer's distortion of it. Here Anton becomes husband to Elisabeth, a courageous and devout woman, and father to Albert, Paul, and Maria. He also begins to teach music to local children, befriends the parish priest, Fr. Emil, and quietly finds ways to subvert the Nazis. It is 1943 and resistance is growing - even in Germany, which was so heartening to read about. The Red Orchestra has devised and network and a plan to try to bring down Hitler from within. The White Rose, a teen version of resistance is also spreading. Anton's first love is God, then his new family, then his country and his actions align with his beliefs at every turn. Though the town mostly shares the same views of goodness and right - they vote to take in refugees at one point - there are still dissenters (party loyalists) and even a gauleiter (Herr Franke/Mobelbauer) who watches and reports back to the SS. Anton is haunted by his inability to save his former students and is determined to make a difference any way he can. "Day after day it rises. Like a tide, it swells. Every outrage, every death, each new act of inhumanity wrings from us another drop of resolve, even when we think our spirits dust dry and deadened. We flow together; we merge; ...we are a river eroding its banks. We will no longer be contained. There is a greater force. Its name is Widerstand, resist." Though the author was aware of her grandfather-in-law's (the real Anton Starzmann's) subtle defiance for many years, she chose to write about it in 2016, seeing parallels of rising hatred and abuse of power in our own country. Thus this is a call to action, but also a song of hope. Don't miss it. ( )
  CarrieWuj | Oct 24, 2020 |
Based on a true story. This book is very much like All the Light We Cannot See in that it is suspenseful and keeps the reader on the edge of their seat. All the parts just come together to make for a dramatic true story written as a novel: An ex friar, euthanized children, a widow who places an ad in the paper for a husband, The Red Orchestra, the SS, church bells, etc. 352 pages ( )
  Tess_W | Aug 12, 2020 |
This is loose historical fiction instead of pure fiction.
The plot and general theme is very good and there is plenty of suspense. Several stories are being followed at once, war in an occupied country, marriage, raising morally healthy kids.getting by without a career skill in demand,...
The hero and heroine are real people who did exist, althoug the author has changed names somewhat and slightly switched the timings of some events. Some secondary characters such as the daughter who is a composite of two sisters, were done by the editor mostly.
Much of the author's material came from a diary made by the heroine, most of the rest came from her family's memories of that family.

Overall the book is an exciting suspenseful read on the several topics being followed. ( )
  billsearth | Jun 4, 2020 |
The Ragged Edge of Night is a wonderful historical-fiction novel that ties together a slow smoldering romance with a suspenseful tall of intrigue, heroism, bravery and courage. It tells a side of WW II not often explored in so many books, the story of those within Germany who saw Hitler for the evil despot he was and dared to resist.
While popular fiction uses a broad brush to depict Germany during the war, wiser heads realize that not everyone was taken in by the Nazis and that many stood up to resist. Resisting Hitler was dangerous but necessary, just as it is when any country loses its way and becomes ruled by madmen.
The Ragged Edge of Night, based on a real story, follows the meeting and marriage of two very unlikely spouses who try to scratch out a living and protect their children in a time of desperation and danger. The story engrossed readers, reading far more like a suspense thriller than a fictionalized retelling of actual events. It is a tribute to people who respond to the morality of their hearts rather than to the fears or temptations of those around them.
The writing never waivers from excellence, articulately describing events, settings and characters, making readers feel as if they are part of the action.
I am glad I found this book and hope many, many others do, too. ( )
  Paul-the-well-read | Apr 21, 2020 |
Viser 1-5 af 14 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes an emotionally gripping, beautifully written historical novel about extraordinary hope, redemption, and one man's search for light during the darkest times of World War II. Germany, 1942. Franciscan friar Anton Starzmann is stripped of his place in the world when his school is seized by the Nazis. He relocates to a small German hamlet to wed Elisabeth Herter, a widow who seeks a marriage--in name only--to a man who can help raise her three children. Anton seeks something too--atonement for failing to protect his young students from the wrath of the Nazis. But neither he nor Elisabeth expects their lives to be shaken once again by the inescapable rumble of war. As Anton struggles to adapt to the roles of husband and father, he learns of the Red Orchestra, an underground network of resisters plotting to assassinate Hitler. Despite Elisabeth's reservations, Anton joins this army of shadows. But when the SS discovers his schemes, Anton will embark on a final act of defiance that may cost him his life--even if it means saying goodbye to the family he has come to love more than he ever believed possible.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.99)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5 1
3 5
3.5 4
4 32
4.5 2
5 14

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 159,129,509 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig