HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The Binding: A Novel af Bridget Collins
Indlæser...

The Binding: A Novel (udgave 2020)

af Bridget Collins (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
1,0987814,022 (3.7)23
"In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives"--
Medlem:heatheroo83
Titel:The Binding: A Novel
Forfattere:Bridget Collins (Forfatter)
Info:William Morrow Paperbacks (2020), 464 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Detaljer om værket

The Binding af Bridget Collins

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 23 omtaler

Engelsk (72)  Hollandsk (3)  Tysk (1)  Spansk (1)  Ungarsk (1)  Alle sprog (78)
Viser 1-5 af 78 (næste | vis alle)
Initially this book reminded me of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell. Set in a fairy tale landscape, a lone house miles from nowhere (echoes of Hansel and Gretel), with a kitchen stove, and log fireplaces, where travelling is done on horseback. An aging woman takes on an apprentice, in a fantasy world where books are banned, her job is to take away bad memories from the suffering and "bind" them into books before storing them into a vault under her house. Written from the apprentice's point of view in Part One, the boy, Emmett, slowly realises his own missing memories must be stored in a binding. This part of the story is dark (mentions of witchcraft, locked doors, vaults), and the boy seems to have effeminate tendencies (cleaning, passively accepting his situations, noticing little things such as dirt on the floor and beams of light). I thought at first this was because a female author was unable to connect with the maleness of her character, but as I read on I realised how this was actually a very clever literary trick. Part two described the gay relationship developing in the apprentice's past, and reminded me much of the friendship between Sebastian and Charles (Brideshead). Part three was written from the lover's point of view and neatly described the restrictions of being part of a wealthy family household, and the mafia-like dealings of problems (bribery, threats, and staged accidents). Overall the book was good, I liked the descriptions of the physical bindings, the libraries, the effect of reading. The story's predictability makes the reader very satisfied, but I felt there were some loose ends that could have been addressed to make the ending better, mainly what happened to the other characters? ( )
  AChild | Oct 23, 2021 |
This was so amazing. The writing, the concept, the characters, all so beautiful, so unique and so real.
I wish there was another book in this series.
I want for Emmett to use the powers of a binder for the better. I want him to fight against illegal business of selling of books.
I want to know more about Emmett and Lucian. I want to see them live their life and grow together. I want to see them live in their world of prejudices. I want to see them be proud of their love for each other. I want their families to accept them. Although that is doubtful in Darnay's case.
This is the best thing about an open ending. It leaves the reader to decide on the future of the characters.
My version includes a happily ever after and long years together ahead. ( )
  VipashaAiyer | Sep 28, 2021 |
Well, this was another WOW, not what I was expecting book!

Emmett Farmer is just that-a farmer. Until one day a letter arrives and he is summoned to apprentice with a Bookbinder. Emmett lives in a world where books are shunned, as every book is a memory (or two, or three) of a real person. Emmett has always been forbidden to read books and now his parents insist he takes the apprenticeship. He cannot understand why they are making him go.

Only those born to Bind may become Binders....and not all of them are good people.

I will admit, the story was a little slow in the beginning and it also felt as though the author was telling me more than I really needed or wanted to know, about a lot of characters. As the story built, I was enraptured with the tale, caught up in the lives of everyone and in awe of the writer. I am hoping she left the tale opened-ended to write a sequel.

Although this book is pegged fantasy, for me it was more magical realism-a genre I usually do not care for. Do not shy away from the book because you do not like fantasy. There is something you might call magic, entwined in the story, but that is not the soul of it. It is a coming of age story, a mystery, and a beautiful piece of work.

This is [a:Bridget Collins|14717647|Bridget Collins|https://images.gr-assets.com/authors/1548771665p2/14717647.jpg] first foray into Adult Fiction. I am looking forward to her next.

Content Warning There is sexual abuse, and dark content throughout. ( )
  JBroda | Sep 24, 2021 |
I've had a bit of time to reflect on this book now, and gather my thoughts on it. Ultimately, I think that the back half of the story just didn't play out in the way that I thought it would-- which is not necessary to make an enjoyable book, but in this case led to something I found a bit unsatisfying.

I was definitely enthralled by the first half/two-thirds of the book. I had no problem with the slow pace, and found the gradual unraveling of Emmett's circumstances and understanding of the world fascinating. Everything at Seredith's cottage was hypnotically atmospheric, and every revelation in the second third of the book was well-executed and made me want to go back and read from the beginning with fresh eyes and new understanding.

The third part of the book, however, suffered from the fact that all of the twists and surprises had played out-- the main tension and mystery was drained from the story, with nothing quite as powerful to replace it. Also, while I thought the exploration of bookbinding culture in the city was interesting, I felt our time spent with Seredith at the beginning made a promise to explore a world that was then abandoned unceremoniously.

But I'm being too down on the book. In general I really enjoyed it, and there were many parts I found incredibly moving. Unfortunately, I felt that the book petered out a bit rather than continuing to build. ( )
  misslevel | Sep 22, 2021 |
I FINALLY finished this. It took me a while because part one was just so... not interesting. It really wasn't giving me anything. From Part two onwards, the story picks up and becomes so much more enjoyable, almost entirely negating part one, to me, or negating its length. I might write up a full review on my blog at www.coffeeandtrainspotting.wordpress.com at some point so go give me a follow if you're interested! ( )
  SarahRita | Aug 11, 2021 |
Viser 1-5 af 78 (næste | vis alle)
“The Binding” succeeds in creating the magic it proposes: the experience of memory returning, a rush of recollection that can change the whole world, if only for one person at a time — or sometimes two.
tilføjet af KayCliff | RedigerNew York Times, Naomi Novik (May 8, 2019)
 
The Binding is an unpretentious work of escapist fiction. The morality of the book is simple; the good are essentially noble and their enemies unambiguously wicked. The vaguely antiquated setting could as easily be Westeros or Hardy’s Wessex. At the heart of the novel is a love story that develops along a familiar trajectory, from immediate dislike to inexplicable flutters of the heart to full infatuation with its feeling of being “breathless and dizzy, as if my blood was too thin”. When the protagonists are happy, it’s spring outdoors. When things go wrong, a wet snow falls.... The Binding is a kissing novel par excellence, and on this level, it is like a wonderful meal made from a few simple ingredients: the feeling in your chest when you hold someone in your arms for the first time; the sight of a host of bluebells. In recent years, the state of the world has threatened to make us forget the simple pleasures of kisses and bluebells and thick novels that tell stories of heartbreak. Here is a book to help us remember.
tilføjet af KayCliff | RedigerThe Guardian, Sandra Newman (Jan 4, 2019)
 

» Tilføj andre forfattere

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Bridget Collinsprimær forfatteralle udgaverberegnet
Prekopp, CarlFortællermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Nick
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
When the letter came I was out in the fields, binding up my last sheaf of wheat with hands that were shaking so much I could hardly tie the knot.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"In the tradition of Sarah Waters, Helene Wecker, and Jessie Burton, an atmospheric and mystery-laden historical novel set within a magical world where books are not stories but the repository of individual lives"--

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.7)
0.5
1 3
1.5 2
2 17
2.5 2
3 51
3.5 21
4 88
4.5 13
5 36

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 163,419,268 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig