HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Carols and Chaos af Cindy Anstey
Indlæser...

Carols and Chaos (udgave 2018)

af Cindy Anstey (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
605342,957 (3.93)4
1817. The happy chaos of the Yuletide season has descended upon the country estate of Shackleford Park in full force, but lady's maid Kate Darby barely has the time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her ailing mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are quite full. Matt Harlow is also rather busy. He's performing double-duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, two of the estate's holiday guests. Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But staving off their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when a devious counterfeiting scheme reaches the gates of Shackleford Park, and Kate and Matt are unwittingly swept up in the intrigue. Full of sweetness, charm, and holiday shenanigans, this companion novel to Suitors and Sabotage is perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey.… (mere)
Medlem:oregongirl1985
Titel:Carols and Chaos
Forfattere:Cindy Anstey (Forfatter)
Info:Feiwel & Friends... (2018), Edition: First Edition, 336 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:*****
Nøgleord:Ingen

Detaljer om værket

Carols and Chaos af Cindy Anstey

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 4 omtaler

Viser 5 af 5
Formulaic of Antsey's other novels, but enjoyable. ( )
  Pascale1812 | Apr 16, 2020 |
Set in the same world as Suitors & Sabotage and in the same voice style as Jane Austen, I enjoyed this book from start to finish. This by no means is a "thriller" but did have so heart racing parts. I don't know what to say without giving away spoilers though. If you enjoy Jane Austen, you will most likely enjoy this as well ( )
  mitsuzanna | Sep 26, 2019 |
Miss Kate Darby has achieved her goal of being a lady's maid, and is saving up for a dress shop with her mum. Mr. Matt Harlow, valet to the fiance of Kate’s mistress, arrives in time for the Yuletide season. Attraction sparks, but can they make time for love when they have goals and responsibilities to see to?

This is a book I would not normally pick up, given that it is a Christmas themed novel. It is also one where I was on the side od everyone telling Kate and Matt to be careful. They flirt from the start, but each are mindful if the position they are in. Why pursue a relationship when they know they a brief time together?

Still, I was intrigued by the idea that a lady’s maid and a valet would have a mystery to solve together. The writing is entertaining, reminiscent of classic Regency tales. The actual mystery takes some time to appear in the story but the pace is enjoyable.

I would recommend this to readers of Regency era fiction looking for a sweet tale. ( )
  TheQuietReader | May 28, 2019 |
Adapted from the book jacket: England, 1817. The chaos of the Yuletide season is in full force at the country estate of Shackleford Park, but lady’s maid Kate Darby barely has time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her demanding mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are full. Matt Harlow is also busy. He’s performing double duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, who are holiday guests at the estate. Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But that is the least of their problems as they get caught up in an intrigue that begins with a missing footman.

My reactions
I picked this up because I was trolling the library’s shelves looking for a particular cover image. It sounded like a quick, fun read and that’s exactly what it was.

The romance plus cozy mystery makes for some interesting twists and turns in the plot, as well as satisfying tension between the two lead characters. I liked Kate; she’s intelligent, self-reliant, dedicated and persistent. I find that she’s a little too “fluttery” around Matt, but given the genre (YA romance), I’ll cut her some slack. Matt is equally intelligent, disciplined, dedicated and protective.

This is the second book in a series, the first being Suitors and Sabotage. I don’t feel I missed anything by reading out of order. The first book apparently deals with “Upstairs” – the relationship between Kate’s and Matt’s employers; while this one is decidedly “Downstairs.” ( )
  BookConcierge | Apr 25, 2019 |
If I had to choose one word for Carols and Chaos it would be charming...what a delightful romp through the early 1800's when the classes were so divided and the world was a "proper" place. Lord forbid that first names were used before a respectable time elapsed. Times were so different then today "when anything goes". Even though Carols and Chaos had a Holiday time frame, it was a "charming" book for any time of the year. ( )
  ccheripka | Jan 20, 2019 |
Viser 5 af 5
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

1817. The happy chaos of the Yuletide season has descended upon the country estate of Shackleford Park in full force, but lady's maid Kate Darby barely has the time to notice. Between her household duties, caring for her ailing mother, and saving up money to someday own a dress shop, her hands are quite full. Matt Harlow is also rather busy. He's performing double-duty, acting as valet for both of the Steeple brothers, two of the estate's holiday guests. Falling in love would be a disaster for either of them. But staving off their feelings for each other becomes the least of their problems when a devious counterfeiting scheme reaches the gates of Shackleford Park, and Kate and Matt are unwittingly swept up in the intrigue. Full of sweetness, charm, and holiday shenanigans, this companion novel to Suitors and Sabotage is perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Downton Abbey.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.93)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 4
3.5
4 7
4.5
5 3

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 158,988,273 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig