HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

The Poet X

af Elizabeth Acevedo

Andre forfattere: Se andre forfattere sektionen.

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
2,4611645,994 (4.43)155
Poetry. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

Don't miss this acclaimed audiobook, read by the authorwinner of an Odyssey Honor and an AudioFile Earphones Award winner!

The Poet X is also the winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpr Award.

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayersespecially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

.
… (mere)
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 155 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 165 (næste | vis alle)
Sooo good! My favorite poem was the one originally written in Spanish. ( )
  Dances_with_Words | Jan 6, 2024 |
I listened to the audiobook edition of this novel in verse, The Poet X, narrated by the author Elizabeth Acevedo herself.
A Dominican American teen, Xiomara, living in Spanish Harlem, writes of her life with her family: her twin brother, her father and her extremely religious Catholic mother. She write of her hopes and dreams, her internal battles with Catholicism, unwanted attention by males, her first love, her love of writing and poetry. Beautiful! ( )
  deslivres5 | Jan 4, 2024 |
I do not like slam poetry generally. It often comes across as melodramatic to me and this was no exception. Xiomara has legitimate problems (overprotective mother, stifling expectations based on her gender, sexual harassment from boys and men, pressure to go through Catholic confirmation). I get it. But this book was almost too much like a real teenage diary for me (an adult) to enjoy it as literature. Do I think teens will love it? Yes, absolutely. I think a lot of young people will eat it up. It's raw and real and emotionally charged. Reading this book, there were many times when I just sighed and thought about how glad I am not to be a teenager anymore.

I might have given this four stars based on how well I think it will work for the intended audience, but the ending bothered me. So all Xiomara and her mother had to do was counseling with Father Sean? That tidily resolved their dispute? Now Altagracia will let X choose poetry over Bible study and let her go out with her boyfriend? Really? Did I misread that? It just confirmed what I felt about most of the book -- a teen's idea of high stakes is nowhere near my idea of high stakes. ( )
  LibrarianDest | Jan 3, 2024 |
Do yourself a favor and get the audiobook version of it. Give it your full attention. A beautiful, beautiful book.

I need to find a way to erase memory so I can experience it for the first time again. ( )
  PawanK | Dec 14, 2023 |
Verse form, great language, mix of Spanglish, coming of age, finding and creating your own path ( )
  hannah.rose5 | Dec 12, 2023 |
Viser 1-5 af 165 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Acevedo, ElizabethForfatterprimær forfatteralle udgaverbekræftet
Acevedo, ElizabethFortællermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet

Hæderspriser

Distinctions

Notable Lists

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
To Katherine Bolaños and my former students at Buck Lodge Middle School 2010-2012, and all the little sisters yearning to see themselves: this is for you
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Friday, August 24
Stoop-Sitting

The summer is made for stoop-sitting
and since it's the last week before school starts,
Harlem is opening its eyes to September.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Poetry. Young Adult Fiction. Young Adult Literature. HTML:

Don't miss this acclaimed audiobook, read by the authorwinner of an Odyssey Honor and an AudioFile Earphones Award winner!

The Poet X is also the winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpr Award.

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayersespecially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Elizabeth Acevedo's book The Poet X was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.43)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 7
2.5 1
3 29
3.5 15
4 196
4.5 44
5 283

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 201,654,339 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig