HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants af Florence…
Indlæser...

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants (udgave 2018)

af Florence Gonsalves

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingSamtaler
523390,808 (3.58)Ingen
This acclaimed, darkly funny debut for fans of Jesse Andrews and Robyn Schneider about a teen who's consumed by love, grief, and self-destructive behavior is now in paperback. Freshman year at college was the most anticlimactic year of Danny's life. She's failing pre-med and drifting apart from her best friend. One by one, Danny is losing all the underpinnings of her identity. When she finds herself attracted to an older, edgy girl who she met in rehab for an eating disorder, she finally feels like she might be finding a new sense of self. But when tragedy strikes, her self-destructive tendencies come back to haunt her as she struggles to discover who that self really is. With a starkly memorable voice that's at turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Love and Other Carnivorous Plants brilliantly captures the painful turning point between an adolescence that's slipping away and the overwhelming uncertainty of the future.… (mere)
Medlem:yrthroat
Titel:Love & Other Carnivorous Plants
Forfattere:Florence Gonsalves
Info:Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 352 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:to-read, queer-lit

Detaljer om værket

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants af Florence Gonsalves

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

Viser 3 af 3
This book covers a great range of emotions, from discovering your sexuality to dealing with the death of someone close, exacerbated by the main character's eating disorder and alcohol abuse.

The story was well written and the plot felt like a natural way to explore the mental state of someone working through these emotions. ( )
  MarcDam | Aug 4, 2019 |
I very much wanted to love this book, and it didn't happen for me. There was a lot going on that I wanted to get behind, a lot of topics I love to see rep for (people come in all shapes and sizes!) but I felt that there were some flaws in the writing and characterization.

Depending on the type of reader you are, that may be a complete non-issue. I just didn't believe Danny. I felt like she was a flat characters. We heard all about the different horrible, crazy things going on in her life, but through the entire novel, I never felt like I felt any of it. Even though this was first person, I felt like I was watching things fall to pieces through a thick, dirty window, were you could only see some things and the dialogue was muted. And that's a real bummer to me because with a little emotional involvement, I think this could have been a much more successful book.

I do support the conversations had throughout the book about the seriousness of alcoholism and eating disorders. I think people will experience things in different ways, grieve and cope in different ways, and as such... this book may feel more relatable to others than it does to me. I hope that others find what they are looking for when they read this story - I just wish I loved it more. ( )
  Morteana | Sep 1, 2018 |
I really liked this book all the way up to the end---the last few pages. I sort of understood the ending and I sort of didn't. No spoilers.

Danny was waitlisted at Harvard and made it four weeks before school starts, ruining her Plan with her best friend Sara. However, she developed an eating disorder, had to drop out at the end of second semester. She was institutionalized which is where she met Bugg, who used to pass her notes written on napkins. When Danny is released and home for the summer, she is surprised to find that Bugg and Sara know each other from yoga class. As Danny and Bugg get to know each other sparks fly.

Love and other Carnivorous Plants is all about love and self respect, being true to yourself, eating and alcohol abuse and death. While it is written in a humorous manner, the subject matter is not humorous at all. Everyone has secrets. Everyone must cope. I was going to give this book 4 1/2 stars, but knocked it down to 4 because of the ending. I liked the characters. I liked the story. The author got her point across without hitting you over the head.

I'd definitely give this book a read and I'll be on the alert for Florence Gonsalves' next book. ( )
  EdGoldberg | Jun 4, 2018 |
Viser 3 af 3
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

This acclaimed, darkly funny debut for fans of Jesse Andrews and Robyn Schneider about a teen who's consumed by love, grief, and self-destructive behavior is now in paperback. Freshman year at college was the most anticlimactic year of Danny's life. She's failing pre-med and drifting apart from her best friend. One by one, Danny is losing all the underpinnings of her identity. When she finds herself attracted to an older, edgy girl who she met in rehab for an eating disorder, she finally feels like she might be finding a new sense of self. But when tragedy strikes, her self-destructive tendencies come back to haunt her as she struggles to discover who that self really is. With a starkly memorable voice that's at turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Love and Other Carnivorous Plants brilliantly captures the painful turning point between an adolescence that's slipping away and the overwhelming uncertainty of the future.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.58)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 2
4.5 1
5

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 159,204,010 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig