HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The City of Brass: A Novel af S. A.…
Indlæser...

The City of Brass: A Novel (udgave 2017)

af S. A. Chakraborty (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
3,8201343,271 (3.97)189
"Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty--an imaginative alchemy of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts. Nahri has never believed in magic. Certainly, she has power; on the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, she's a con woman of unsurpassed talent. But she knows better than anyone that the trade she uses to get by--palm readings, zars, healings--are all tricks, sleights of hand, learned skills; a means to the delightful end of swindling Ottoman nobles and a reliable way to survive. But when Nahri accidentally summons an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior to her side during one of her cons, she's forced to question all she believes. For the warrior tells her an extraordinary tale: across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire, and rivers where the mythical marid sleep; past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises, and mountains where the circling birds of prey are not what they seem, lies Daevabad, the legendary city of brass--a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound. In Daevabad, behind gilded brass walls laced with enchantments, behind the six gates of the six djinn tribes, old resentments are simmering. A young prince dreams of rebellion. And when Nahri decides to enter this world, she learns that true power is fierce and brutal. That magic cannot shield her from the dangerous web of court politics. That even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences. After all, there is a reason they say to be careful what you wish for"-- "A brilliantly imagined historical fantasy in which a young con artist in eighteenth century Cairo discovers she's the last descendant of a powerful family of djinn healers. With the help of an outcast immortal warrior and a rebellious prince, she must claim her magical birthright in order to prevent a war that threatens to destroy the entire djinn kingdom. Perfect for fans of The Grace of Kings, The Golem and the Jinni, and The Queen of the Tearling"--… (mere)
Medlem:mlmazza13
Titel:The City of Brass: A Novel
Forfattere:S. A. Chakraborty (Forfatter)
Info:HarperAudio (2017)
Samlinger:Physical Library, Dit bibliotek, Skal læses
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

The City of Brass af S. A. Chakraborty

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 189 omtaler

Engelsk (130)  Hollandsk (1)  Alle sprog (131)
Viser 1-5 af 131 (næste | vis alle)
società, fanatismo e politica delle varie tribù Jiin ( )
  LLonaVahine | May 22, 2024 |
Loved it!
I hadn't come across anything in this genre, so it's quite welcome. It's like an Islamic (magical djinn) Harry Potter story, but not. The plot is completely different, it is only in how it pulls you in to an entirely new and intricate world that it is similar. As with Harry Potter, for those who know the myths, legends, and folklore, the stories are based on, the construct probably isn't *as* entirely new as it seems to one with far less exposure, like me.
The inspiration to listen to this well narrated (Soneela Nankani) book was actually the very attractive book cover of the 2nd in the series, "The Kingdom of Copper". (Who says you shouldn't judge a book by its cover?) I'd coveted it upon seeing it in Barnes and Noble, so snatched it up when my favorite Friends of the Library bookshop was selling it for $8.00. BUT, you can't read the 2nd book of a series without having first read the first, so I downloaded the audio from Overdrive.
Now I can dig out that beautifully covered Book 2 from my tower of "please read me NOW" books next to my bed and find out what happens next! ( )
  TraSea | Apr 29, 2024 |
An absolutely decadent and luminous fantasy novel- I loved every single page! Nahri is one of my new favorite characters and she really carries the novel so well. Ali became more interesting as the story went on, and I'm super curious to know what happens next with his plot. Super hyped that the third and final book in this trilogy comes out this summer so I can binge the second one and be ready for the finale. :) ( )
  deborahee | Feb 23, 2024 |
Kinda confusing but merman ending so what’s not to like ( )
  salllamander | Feb 11, 2024 |
I love this book. It has been while since I've read a good epic fantasy and I thoroughly enjoyed this one. I can't wait for book 2. ( )
  Woodardja | Jan 30, 2024 |
Viser 1-5 af 131 (næste | vis alle)
At the moment, speculative fiction has an exciting relationship with protest fiction and feminist narratives, and while “The City of Brass” doesn’t blow away cultural notions of difference or reconfigure the male-female divide, it does exploit the genre’s penchant for inclusion. In fact, the novel feels like a friendly hand held out across the world. (I hope very much that it will be translated into Arabic and Farsi.) It reads like an invitation for readers from Baghdad to Fairbanks to meet across impossibly divergent worlds through the shared language and images of the fantastical.
tilføjet af melmore | RedigerNew York Times, Suzanne Joinson (Dec 15, 2017)
 
The expected first-novel flaws—a few character inconsistencies, plot swirls that peter out, the odd patch where the author assumes facts not in evidence—matter little. Best of all, the narrative feels rounded and complete yet poised to deliver still more.

Highly impressive and exceptionally promising.
tilføjet af melmore | RedigerKirkus Reivews (Aug 21, 2017)
 

» Tilføj andre forfattere (1 mulig)

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Chakraborty, S. A.primær forfatteralle udgaverbekræftet
Alcaino, MicaelaOmslagsdesignermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Nankani, SoneelaFortællermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Information fra den hollandske Almen Viden. Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Wees voorzichtig met wat je wenst
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Alia, the light of my life
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
He was an easy mark.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"Step into The City of Brass, the spellbinding debut from S. A. Chakraborty--an imaginative alchemy of The Golem and the Jinni, The Grace of Kings, and Uprooted, in which the future of a magical Middle Eastern kingdom rests in the hands of a clever and defiant young con artist with miraculous healing gifts. Nahri has never believed in magic. Certainly, she has power; on the streets of eighteenth-century Cairo, she's a con woman of unsurpassed talent. But she knows better than anyone that the trade she uses to get by--palm readings, zars, healings--are all tricks, sleights of hand, learned skills; a means to the delightful end of swindling Ottoman nobles and a reliable way to survive. But when Nahri accidentally summons an equally sly, darkly mysterious djinn warrior to her side during one of her cons, she's forced to question all she believes. For the warrior tells her an extraordinary tale: across hot, windswept sands teeming with creatures of fire, and rivers where the mythical marid sleep; past ruins of once-magnificent human metropolises, and mountains where the circling birds of prey are not what they seem, lies Daevabad, the legendary city of brass--a city to which Nahri is irrevocably bound. In Daevabad, behind gilded brass walls laced with enchantments, behind the six gates of the six djinn tribes, old resentments are simmering. A young prince dreams of rebellion. And when Nahri decides to enter this world, she learns that true power is fierce and brutal. That magic cannot shield her from the dangerous web of court politics. That even the cleverest of schemes can have deadly consequences. After all, there is a reason they say to be careful what you wish for"-- "A brilliantly imagined historical fantasy in which a young con artist in eighteenth century Cairo discovers she's the last descendant of a powerful family of djinn healers. With the help of an outcast immortal warrior and a rebellious prince, she must claim her magical birthright in order to prevent a war that threatens to destroy the entire djinn kingdom. Perfect for fans of The Grace of Kings, The Golem and the Jinni, and The Queen of the Tearling"--

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.97)
0.5 1
1 8
1.5 3
2 28
2.5 9
3 118
3.5 37
4 270
4.5 44
5 197

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 206,269,351 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig