HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora af Pablo…
Indlæser...

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora (udgave 2018)

af Pablo Cartaya (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
6001740,309 (3.83)5
Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. HTML:A 2018 Pura Belpr Author Honor Book

Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can thirteen-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, EPIC FAIL? 

For Arturo, summertime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping cool under banyan trees. And maybe a few shifts as junior lunchtime dishwasher at Abuelas restaurant. Maybe. But this summer also includes Carmen, a poetry enthusiast who moves into Arturos apartment complex and turns his stomach into a deep fryer. He almost doesnt notice the smarmy land developer who rolls into town and threatens to change it. Arturo refuses to let his family and community go down without a fight, and as he schemes with Carmen, Arturo discovers the power of poetry and protest through untold family stories and the work of Jos Mart.

Funny and poignant, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora is the vibrant story of a family, a striking portrait of a town, and one boy's quest to save both, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.
… (mere)
Medlem:dawntreaderlibrary
Titel:The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora
Forfattere:Pablo Cartaya (Forfatter)
Info:Puffin Books (2018), Edition: Reprint, 272 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Værk information

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora af Pablo Cartaya

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 5 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 17 (næste | vis alle)
Book for intermediate children's. Chapter book but easy to follow. The main character works at his family restaurant when a developer comes into town and tries to take down his family restaurant to put in a shopping mall. Arturo must work with his friends to save the day.
good book for a school library for kids to read on their own time.
  Brianna.phelps | Mar 11, 2024 |
A 2018 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book, Pablo Cartaya delves into the heart of the gentrification debate, unveiling profound insights in his captivating and heartfelt debut novel. The novel follows the journey of a thirteen-year-old boy as he navigates his family's path in an ever-evolving world. This tale explores the essence of identity, our origins and the choices that shape our aspirations. As Arturo unravels the rich history of his Cuban American heritage, he not only gains a deeper understanding of himself but also emerges as a vital voice within his family and community. With his newfound confidence, Arturo spearheads discussions about the potential changes and growth of their neighborhood, leaving an indelible mark on the ongoing dialogue. ( )
  rebecamp | Jul 13, 2023 |
This book is for middle school aged students. This is a story about a young boy Arturo, who is excited to relax all summer in his home of Miami, even if he has to work some shifts at his family's restaurant La Cocina as a dishwasher. However, some trouble comes into his plan fir a perfect summer when he discovers the plan of a new developer in town: to take over the property his familia has for their restaurant to turn it into a new development for the community. Arturo is horrified; he acan't let this new man take over the restaurant that is central to his family. He must stop it!
This book was a Pura Belpre honor book because of its illustration of the Latino experience in the United States and the cultural values that are portrayed with this story. It was such an engaging read and it was so interesting to hear about the intertwine of the Latino experience in this book told from the perspective of a young boy. I highly recommend this read for middle school students, on independent time.
  ehayes22 | Mar 2, 2023 |
I liked this story and the characters in it, but for some reason they never quite came off the page for me. It felt like I was hearing someone tell me about people they know instead of really meeting them myself. ( )
  kamlibrarian | Dec 23, 2022 |
children's middlegrade fiction - 13 y.o. Arturo in Miami falls for a family friend visiting from Spain, tries to save his family restaurant from being demolished in favor of a fancy high-rise building.

Lots of family and community love in here, keep some tissues handy for sure. ( )
  reader1009 | Jun 19, 2022 |
Viser 1-5 af 17 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

Hæderspriser

Distinktioner

Notable Lists

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
But love, like the sun that it is,

sets afire and melts everything.”


—José Martí

THOUGHTS: ON LIBERTY, SOCIAL JUSTICE, GOVERNMENT, ART, AND MORALITY

(translated by Carlos Ripoll)
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
To Abuela and Abuelo,

this is my love letter to you.
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
I'm officially resigning on love.
Citater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Love is two spirits meeting, joining together, holding each other, helping raise each other from the earth. It is born in the journey of looking for each other, fed by the need to be together. It is incapable of ever breaking apart! Love is not a tempestuous sea; it is a calm river. It is not a bonfire but a quiet ember. It is not an abrupt end; it is peace.
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Juvenile Fiction. Juvenile Literature. HTML:A 2018 Pura Belpr Author Honor Book

Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can thirteen-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, EPIC FAIL? 

For Arturo, summertime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping cool under banyan trees. And maybe a few shifts as junior lunchtime dishwasher at Abuelas restaurant. Maybe. But this summer also includes Carmen, a poetry enthusiast who moves into Arturos apartment complex and turns his stomach into a deep fryer. He almost doesnt notice the smarmy land developer who rolls into town and threatens to change it. Arturo refuses to let his family and community go down without a fight, and as he schemes with Carmen, Arturo discovers the power of poetry and protest through untold family stories and the work of Jos Mart.

Funny and poignant, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora is the vibrant story of a family, a striking portrait of a town, and one boy's quest to save both, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.

Ingen biblioteksbeskrivelser fundet.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Aktuelle diskussioner

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.83)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2
2.5
3 7
3.5 3
4 21
4.5 4
5 3

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 208,808,271 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig