HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground af Rita…
Indlæser...

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground (udgave 2018)

af Rita Williams-Garcia (Forfatter), Frank Morrison (Illustrator)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
2029102,999 (3.8)7
From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen--he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live. Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him. National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Youth/Teens Winner * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017 "This slim novel strikes a strong chord."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." --School Library Journal (starred review) "Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." --The Horn Book (starred review) "Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." --Booklist (starred review)… (mere)
Medlem:sarahann.91
Titel:Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
Forfattere:Rita Williams-Garcia (Forfatter)
Andre forfattere:Frank Morrison (Illustrator)
Info:Quill Tree Books (2018), Edition: Reprint, 176 pages
Samlinger:Realistic Fiction
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Detaljer om værket

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground af Rita Williams-Garcia

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 7 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 9 (næste | vis alle)
Clayton lives with his mom and his blues-man grandfather who he idolizes. His dream is to play a harmonica solo with his grandfathers group on stage one day. Meanwhile his relationship with his mother is strained and he doesn't feel like she understands who he is as a musician and a person. When Clayton experiences loss he leaves home, hoping to fulfill his own dreams. ( )
  klnbennett | Oct 7, 2020 |
Digital audiobook performed by Adam Lazarre-White.
4.5****

From the book jacket: When, Cool Papa, when? That’s what Clayton Byrd is always asking his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd. When does he get a solo to show off his talent on the blues harp? Clayton feels most alive when he’s with Cool Papa Byrd and the Bluesmen, playing the music he feels in his bones. But then the unexpected happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies. Clayton’s mother forbids him from playing the blues. For Clayton, that’s no way to live. Armed with his grandfather’s porkpie hat and his blues harp, he runs away from home and to the New York City subways in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road.

My reactions:
This was wonderful on so many levels. First on a purely superficial level, I loved the lesson in blues history that Williams-Garcia has given to young readers, introducing them to historic figures in the development of this uniquely American music.

Secondly, I loved the relationship between Clayton and his grandfather. The respect and love between them was palpable, even after Cool Papa has died, you can feel the deep connection they had and Clayton remembers some of the lessons his grandfather imparted, which help him when he’s “underground.”

Third, I really liked that Williams-Garcia did NOT paint a rosy picture of Clayton’s “adventure” as he ran away. He was in real danger and he suffered some consequences of his inexperience, rashness and youth. On the other hand, he also showed himself to be an astute observer, a clever negotiator, and he had the kind of determination and grit that will see him through on his life’s journey.

And I loved the way in which this wrapped up. The apologies and understandings that Clayton, his mother and his father came to, by really talking about what was important and putting aside some of their own hurt to help one another through this terrible grief.

Adam Lazarre-White does a marvelous job of performing the audiobook. I love his deep bass voice for Cool Papa and Clayton’s dad. I would have liked a little blues music underscore, but that’s not enough to deter me from listening again or re-reading the text. ( )
  BookConcierge | Sep 22, 2020 |
I found this novel to be delightful, with plenty of meaty subjects to engage kids in discussions. A great choice for classroom libraries! ( )
  NeedMoreShelves | Oct 26, 2018 |
Rather realistic, but it just kind of ends, like it needed to be tied up really fast. ( )
  bookwyrmm | Feb 20, 2018 |
Clayton and his grandfather Cool Papa share a love of music and in particular, the blues. His mother, Cool Papa's daughter, does not approve of the blues. Clayton is devastated when his grandfather dies unexpectedly but his mother's reaction makes matters worse. His mother's reaction seemed so cruel to me, I actually had to pause reading the book. An interesting cast of characters populate this book, something I enjoy with Williams-Garcia's works. ( )
  geraldinefm | Dec 19, 2017 |
Viser 1-5 af 9 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen--he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live. Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him. National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Youth/Teens Winner * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017 "This slim novel strikes a strong chord."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." --School Library Journal (starred review) "Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." --The Horn Book (starred review) "Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." --Booklist (starred review)

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.8)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 7
3.5 1
4 16
4.5 4
5 3

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 159,133,727 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig