HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) af…
Indlæser...

Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) (original 2017; udgave 2017)

af Min Jin Lee (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
3,5531922,629 (4.06)285
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--… (mere)
Medlem:susanramirez
Titel:Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)
Forfattere:Min Jin Lee (Forfatter)
Info:Grand Central Publishing (2017), Edition: Reprint, 512 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:to-read

Detaljer om værket

Pachinko af Min Jin Lee (2017)

  1. 10
    The Lowland af Jhumpa Lahiri (doryfish)
    doryfish: A man marries a woman already pregnant with another's child and they immigrate together.
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 285 omtaler

Engelsk (189)  Spansk (1)  Tysk (1)  Hollandsk (1)  Alle sprog (192)
Viser 1-5 af 192 (næste | vis alle)
This novel encompasses three generations and has an epic feel. Following the same family through much of the twentieth century, this book starts in Korea and follows the family as they emigrate to Japan, where they still experience discrimination due to their Korean origins. I had a little trouble with some of the characters (they're not all likable or even relatable!), but overall this was a great read. ( )
  wagner.sarah35 | Apr 21, 2021 |
This is an epic family tale that spans four generations, beginning in 1910 in Korea and ending in 1989 in Japan.

Sunja is the naive daughter of a lowly disabled fisherman in Korea when she becomes pregnant. After learning her illicit lover is married, she marries a kind English missionary she barely knows. They will travel to Osaka, Japan where he has been encouraged to come by his brother. Sunja will remain a Korean living in Japan for the rest of her life.

Pachinko excels as a well researched historical novel. It excels as well as a novel based on the life of a woman and mother who had to fight with determination against racisim and sexism to provide for her family. Unfortunately as a character driven novel I thought there was weakness. The characters didn't breathe for me, they were always characters on a page. Still I learned a lot from Lee, I knew nothing about the history of Koreans in Japan and I was always engaged by the story.
  clue | Apr 17, 2021 |
A family saga covering 5 generations of a working-class Korean family that immigrates to Japan in the 1930s.

This story is wrapped in Korean and Japanese 20th century history and culture. Lee does a magnificent job of making sure her readers understand without stopping to explain anything.

The story begins in 1910, when Japan annexed Korea. An elderly couple begin taking in boarders as their rent went up. Their only surviving child, Hoonie, had a cleft lip and bad foot, yet in 1911 a matchmaker comes with a proposal to marry the youngest of 3 very poor sisters. And that marriage between Hoonie and Yangjin sets the story rolling. Their daughter Sunja moves to Japan with her Christian missionary husband from the North, Isak, who is joining his brother and sister-in-law.

Korean immigrants to Japan were never treated well--they often worked in pachinko parlors and were considered gangsters. Most Japanese would not hire or work with or live near Koreans. Even Sunja's grandson, the second generation born in Japan, is not a citizen and carries a South Korean passport and an alien registration. And that is largely what this book is about--should they stay or return to Korean? But Korea is facing a war, then is split, and they hear of hunger. Sunja's sons have no knowledge of Korea and can't imagine living anywhere but Japan. Yet they still feel trapped--by what jobs they can hold, who they an date/marry, where they can live.

I really enjoyed this novel. I love family sagas, and I love immigration stories (this is the first Korea-to-Japan story I have read). I may up this to 5 stars later (if it really sticks with me), but for now it somehow felt distant and not emotional. And no book hangover. ( )
  Dreesie | Mar 13, 2021 |
4.5 stars

This follows a family through a few generations. They are from Korea. They are poor and end up in Japan for more opportunities. The Japanese look down on them. I've never thought about the prejudices between different East Asian countries. Even Koreans born in Japan for a couple of generations are still considered not to be citizens. They have to have permit cards. And they have no Korea to go back to either, especially the ones who came from North Korea. Japan took over Korea during the war. After Japan was defeated, no one was in power in Korea so in the north a dictator took over. I never knew how it came about before reading this book. Anyways, the history in the book was really interesting to me. I became totally wrapped up the lives of the characters also. I rooted for their success. I felt their loses. This book leaves a lingering effect. ( )
  ToniFGMAMTC | Feb 17, 2021 |
I was pleasantly surprised by this book. Actually, I liked it a lot.
From page one the story of Sunja and her parents grabbed me. I'm not sure what it was that draw me into the book, for usually I'm not so very fond of these family saga kind of books. Apart from a few exceptions. And this was one of them.

The flowing text, the way the words painted a world that is utterly foreign to me, both in the geographical sense of the word as well as in the every day life sense. I have no idea how it is to live in an Asian country, or in a country whose inhabitants don't want me to be there. I have no idea how it is to be really poor, or to be a female in an old fashioned patriarchal family/society.

The family history of Sunja and her relatives/acquaintances/friends is an interesting one. Many things are touched upon, not everything elaborated. Mostly that's good, because the book has a limited number of pages. But especially when nearing the end I missed the detailed descriptions of early in the book.
And if you're looking for a 'they lived happily ever after'-book I wouldn't recommend it, it tends to be quite sad at times.

Nevertheless I loved it and it was with a big sigh that I closed it today. No more pages to read, no more things to discover, no more steps taken by Sunja to follow. I'll miss it. ( )
  BoekenTrol71 | Feb 15, 2021 |
Viser 1-5 af 192 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere (13 mulige)

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Lee, Min Jinprimær forfatteralle udgaverbekræftet
Lecq, Paul van derOversættermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Leger, PatrickOmslagsfotograf/tegner/...medforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Lenting, InekeOversættermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Pearson, BrigidOmslagsdesignermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Home is a name, a word, it is a strong one; stronger than magician ever spoke, or spirit answered to, in strongest conjuration.
-Charles Dickens
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Christopher and Sam
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
History has failed us, but no matter.
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Information fra den hollandske Almen Viden. Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.06)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 27
2.5 8
3 117
3.5 74
4 384
4.5 70
5 252

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 157,319,259 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig