HjemGrupperSnakUdforskZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

This Tender Land: A Novel af William Kent…
Indlæser...

This Tender Land: A Novel (original 2019; udgave 2019)

af William Kent Krueger (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
1,1718012,956 (4.25)57
For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota--the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.… (mere)
Medlem:cjyap1
Titel:This Tender Land: A Novel
Forfattere:William Kent Krueger (Forfatter)
Info:Atria Books (2019), 464 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:*****
Nøgleord:Ingen

Work Information

This Tender Land af William Kent Krueger (2019)

Nyligt tilføjet aftibobi, Bridget737, Rennie90, jenniferw88, avanders, privat bibliotek, balajiv20398, miakuether, WiebkeK, BALE
  1. 00
    To the Bright and Shining Sun af James Lee Burke (gypsysmom)
    gypsysmom: Krueger and Burke have similar writing styles. Plus both books are about young people caught in difficult economic times.
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 57 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 80 (næste | vis alle)
The Short of It:

A lot of heartbreak, but these characters quickly pulled me in.

The Rest of It:

In the summer of 1932, on the banks of Minnesota’s Gilead River, Odie O’Banion is an orphan confined to the Lincoln Indian Training School, a pitiless place where his lively nature earns him the superintendent’s wrath. Forced to flee after committing a terrible crime, he and his brother, Albert, their best friend, Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. ~ Indiebound

This was the book I was reading when I got hit with all my health issues and so the details of the story are not forthcoming and I had to miss my club’s discussion so I have no idea how they felt about the book but here is my take:

I loved these characters but this book is filled with one heartache after another. These kids do not live an easy life and the people they encounter are both filled with good, and bad. It’s been compared to Huckleberry Finn and Where the Crawdad’s Sing and I can see that comparison, but honestly what it reminded me most of is The Wizard of Oz. Everyone is searching for something, mostly a place to call home. But the rhythm of heartache was hard to read over and over again and parts of the story were a tad hard to swallow. Nevertheless, I did enjoy it but felt that it got a little repetitive halfway through and could have been edited down a bit.

Have you read it? I had no idea how many books this author has written. I will absolutely read another book by him because I was really into these characters.

For more reviews, visit my blog: Book Chatter. ( )
  tibobi | Dec 2, 2021 |
While this is a nice immersion into 1932 Minnesota, with a young protagonist escaping a brutal school and going on an odyssey down the Mississippi, the story is either too much like Huck Finn or not really an Odyssey. And the final attempt at magical realism tied in to the reflections about faith were just not terribly convincing to me. ( )
  WiebkeK | Nov 26, 2021 |
What a beautifully written and wonderful story!! I die O’Banion and his brother Albert are students at an “Indian school”, the only white children in the school. They were put there after their parents die. The superintendent of the school, Thelma Brickman, is evil, called the Black Witch. When one of their kindly teachers dies, Odie, Albert, their friend Mose, and the teacher’s young daughter, Emmy, all run away.
This story is the tale of their adventure in 1932, as the Depression is changing the lives of Americans, the group of 4, called the Vagabonds, face many hardships, meet all sorts of characters, all in the hopes of finding home.
I absolutely loved this story. Read it!! ( )
  rmarcin | Nov 11, 2021 |
This Tender Land. William Kent Krueger. 2019. What a beautiful coming of age novel! Krueger is a fabulous writer. He reminds me of Harper Lee. Even though they are not Indians, Odie and his brother are put in the Lincoln Indian Training School when they are orphaned. The superintendent is a sadistic bitch. Because of a series of misadventures, acts of God, and luck they manage to escape from the school in a canoe . They take a mute Indian friend and the young daughter of one of their favorite teachers. The plot revolves around their adventures as they paddle down Minnesota’s Gilead River to the great Mississippi to their Aunt in Saint Louis. Kruger has done his research on Indian schools and the depression. This is as beautiful as his Ordinary Grace was. ( )
  judithrs | Sep 4, 2021 |
Wonderful book with amazing children heroes who have lost all of their family and fallen into the hands of adults who play at being good. Their only hope seems to be escape from the school.

1932: Located on the banks of the Gilead River in Minnesota, Lincoln School is home to hundreds of Native American boys and girls who have been separated from their families. The only two white boys in the school are orphan brothers Odie and Albert, who, under the watchful eyes of the cruel superintendent Mrs. Brickman, are often in trouble for misdeeds both real and imagined. The two boys' best friend is Mose, a mute Native American who is also the strongest kid in school. And they find another ally in Cora Frost, a widowed teacher who is raising her little girl, Emmy, by herself.

When tragedy strikes down Mrs. Frost, it's the catalyst for a series of events that will send Odie, Albert, and Mose to rescue Emmy and flee down the river in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi, leaving a dead body in their wake. Soon, they are wanted by the law, and they know that Mrs. Brickman will stop at nothing to track them down for dark reasons of her own. Over the course of this unforgettable summer, Odie, Albert, Mose, and Emmy carefully make their way through the small river towns and big cities filled with people who are by turns desperate and generous, cruel and kind. As they search for a place to belong, these four remarkable children will lose their innocence but gain the strength to survive in the face of terrible loss. ( )
  Gmomaj | Aug 30, 2021 |
Viser 1-5 af 80 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Krueger, William Kentprimær forfatteralle udgaverbekræftet
Brick, ScottFortællermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Sing in me, Muse, and through me tell the story.
-Homer, The Odyssey
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Boopie, with love
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
In the beginning, after he labored over the heavens and the earth, the light and the dark, the land and sea and all living things that dwell therein, after he created man and woman and before he rested, I believe God gave us one final gift.
Citater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
“Ask me, God’s right here. In the dirt, the rain, the sky, the trees, the apples, the stars in the cottonwoods. In you and me, too. It’s all connected and it’s all God. Sure this is hard work, but it’s good work because it’s a part of what connects us to this land. This beautiful, tender land.”

William Kent Krueger. This Tender Land: A Novel (Kindle Locations 4-6). Atria Books. Kindle Edition.
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota--the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.25)
0.5 1
1
1.5 1
2 6
2.5 3
3 28
3.5 28
4 105
4.5 28
5 136

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 164,457,185 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig