HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

This Tender Land (2019)

af William Kent Krueger

Andre forfattere: Se andre forfattere sektionen.

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
1,0677614,264 (4.27)48
For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota--the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.… (mere)
  1. 00
    To the Bright and Shining Sun af James Lee Burke (gypsysmom)
    gypsysmom: Krueger and Burke have similar writing styles. Plus both books are about young people caught in difficult economic times.
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 48 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 76 (næste | vis alle)
Another wonderful William Kent Krueger story. I saw this was compared to "Where the Crawdads Sing". "This Tender Land" was far better. An almost mythical story of 4 children and the challenges they face as they make their way in a hostile world. They find cruelty and kindness, family and eventually themselves. ( )
  debfung | Jul 12, 2021 |
Truly great books have unforgettable characters, strong plots, and sometimes a great setting, either in time and/or place. WKK has written a classic, and deserves literary recognition for his latest novel. Set in the early 1930s, the story starts at a school for native Americans, run with the antiquated philosophy: Kill the native, save the man. The headmistress, nicknamed the Black Widow, is abusive as are some of the teachers, but not all. Odie and Albert O’Banion, are white, but placed there because the county school for orphans was full. Mosie is a Native American, who cannot speak, but signs perfectly well and is a strong worker. Odie is a defender of the weak and helper of the poor, and eventually gets into deep trouble, forcing the three friends to flee. As they are leaving, a young friend (Emmy), whose mother was killed in a tornado, is rescued from the Black Widow and beg them to take her along. Nicknamed the Vagabonds, they take a canoe down various rivers, all the while being hunted relentlessly by law enforcement and the Black Widow, accused of kidnapping Emmy. On their odyssey to find their aunt in St. Louis, they fall in with an evangelist, and some other caring people, who help each other. Eventually though, Odie continues the quest alone, only to learn the truth about his parents, his aunt, and the Black Widow.

Highly recommended. ( )
  skipstern | Jul 11, 2021 |
While reading this book I didn't think I would rate it very highly. It's well paced, as are all of Krueser's novels, but some small parts you have to suspend belief. However, if you don't tear up at the ending, you might want to check your pulse. ( )
  SusanWallace | Jul 10, 2021 |
[This Tender Land] is the story of four children who escape from a school for Indian children where they are being abused and taken advantage of in the 1930s. They travel down rivers in the Midwest, bonding to each other, and meeting a varied cast of characters, all of whom impact their lives in some way. It's a book full of life and love and helping each other through tough times. For all of those reasons, I really enjoyed it.

It also gets a bit sentimental, a bit predictable, and doesn't hit some of the big topics as hard as it could have. The treatment of Indian children ("Kill the Indian, save the child") and Native Americans in general is always in the background of the book, but it didn't take the foreground as strongly as I'd hoped it would. Only one of the four children is a member of the Sioux tribe. The others are white (or at least identify that way). To me, this book is more about childhood friendships, family, and finding your identity. While I liked that, it also disappointed me a little.

I'd be happy to read more by [[William Kent Krueger]], but I won't be running to do so. This book would make a great movie, though. ( )
  japaul22 | Jul 10, 2021 |
One of the few books that I rate as 5 stars ( )
  Joe87 | Jul 9, 2021 |
Viser 1-5 af 76 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Krueger, William Kentprimær forfatteralle udgaverbekræftet
Brick, ScottFortællermedforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Sing in me, Muse, and through me tell the story.
-Homer, The Odyssey
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Boopie, with love
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
In the beginning, after he labored over the heavens and the earth, the light and the dark, the land and sea and all living things that dwell therein, after he created man and woman and before he rested, I believe God gave us one final gift.
Citater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
“Ask me, God’s right here. In the dirt, the rain, the sky, the trees, the apples, the stars in the cottonwoods. In you and me, too. It’s all connected and it’s all God. Sure this is hard work, but it’s good work because it’s a part of what connects us to this land. This beautiful, tender land.”

William Kent Krueger. This Tender Land: A Novel (Kindle Locations 4-6). Atria Books. Kindle Edition.
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesota--the Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie O'Banion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendent's wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en­thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.27)
0.5 1
1
1.5 1
2 5
2.5 2
3 25
3.5 24
4 88
4.5 22
5 122

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 160,498,584 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig