HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

Overwatch

af Matthew Betley

Serier: Logan West (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
864244,926 (3.68)6
When Logan West, a former Marine officer, impulsively answers a dead man's ringing phone, he triggers a global race against the clock to track down an unknown organization searching for an Iraqi artifact that is central to a planned attack in the Middle East--one that will draw the United States into a major conflict with Iran. -- from jacket flap.… (mere)
Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 6 omtaler

Viser 4 af 4
"Overwatch" was very much in the style of Matthew Riley's books - short chapters, non-stop action, an implausible plot, an ever growing body count, a roller-coaster of a ride and an extremely entertaining read. However, unlike most of Riley's heroes, Logan West was a flawed man - a relapsing alcoholic struggling with PTSD and his own inner demons - which made him human and very likeable. He also redeemed himself throughout the novel.

I also liked Logan's wife, Sarah; his best friend, Mike Benson, and his former Platoon Sergeant, John Quick. The three men knew they could rely on each other regardless of how dangerous the situation they found themselves in.

"Overwatch" was an enjoyable start to a new series and I am looking forward to seeing what Logan's next mission will be. Overall, a fun read. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 29, 2021 |
The Military Times' Top Ten Books of 2016 Pick

"Overwatch is a brilliantly conceived thriller that surges from the first chapter through mounting deception to a powerful conclusion." - Clive Cussler
  mcmlsbookbutler | Jul 30, 2017 |
Given that "Overwatch" has really high reviews on Amazon, I was quite disappointed that it wasn't any better than it is. It's not bad; it's just nothing special.

Logan West, a former soldier, is the protagonist. Much was made in the reviews about his vulnerability as an alcoholic, but this is a very small part of the book. In fact, it really only appears at the beginning where he wakes up from a massive hangover, only to take out a baddie who's described as clearly having had special forces training.

These same bad guys then go attack a fellow former soldier of Logan's to get an Iraqi flag and it takes quite a while to understand why. And of course all the while, something big and bad's expected to happen. When we find out what that is (finally) it's quite a let down (and maybe, arguably, not a bad idea anyway).

Those comparing Logan West to Mitch Rapp, Jack Reacher, etc. see something I don't. Again, not bad; just not great. ( )
  Jarratt | Jan 9, 2017 |
Matthew Betley has managed to do the nearly impossible: stand out in the crowded action thriller field. Logan West is the next great action here, and Overwatch, Betley’s new book, is a great start to the series.

Overwatch starts the action on page one and keeps it going to the last page. Logan West and a handful of main characters are introduced and sketched out quickly, but with enough depth to hook you and keep you interested. Battle-scarred veterans with the intelligence and experience to make them credible and dangerous. The scars are emotional as well as physical and one of the things I appreciated most about this book was that Betley didn’t ignore the flaws in his heroes, particularly Logan West. His problems are real, they have consequences and he has to deal with them or be done in by them.

The action in Overwatch travels across the United States, into Mexico and on the other side of the world in Iraq. The enemy is smart, tough, and with a plan that is both realistic and frightening. Betley ties Logan West’s past and present together in a clever way that explains both why he was targeted and why he has the skills and motivation to pursue the enemy. The battle scenes are gritty, exciting and well-written. Mike Benson, Logan’s friend in the FBI is an interesting character that I would have liked to have known a little more about. John Quick, Logan’s old gunnery sergeant, is a tough as nails old soldier and a great character in his own right. Put them all together and you’ve got one great book.

Great characters, great writing, interesting plot and non-stop action. That’s your formula and Matthew Betley nails it. Sign me up for the next Logan West adventure. Fans of Vince Flynn, Brad Taylor, Lee Child, Brad Thor have a new series to check out. Overwatch is highly recommended.

I was fortunate to receive an advance copy of this book. ( )
  tottman | Mar 9, 2016 |
Viser 4 af 4
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

When Logan West, a former Marine officer, impulsively answers a dead man's ringing phone, he triggers a global race against the clock to track down an unknown organization searching for an Iraqi artifact that is central to a planned attack in the Middle East--one that will draw the United States into a major conflict with Iran. -- from jacket flap.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.68)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 4
3.5 2
4 3
4.5 1
5 1

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 159,003,641 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig