HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The Shadow Queen (Ravenspire, 1) af C. J.…
Indlæser...

The Shadow Queen (Ravenspire, 1) (udgave 2016)

af C. J. Redwine (Forfatter)

Serier: Ravenspire (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
9344322,859 (3.51)8
I've always strongly disliked Snow White, but Shadow Queen I like a lot - it's so much better than Snow White!

Also I love C.J. Redwine’s books - they're awesome! I love The Traitor Prince - it might be my favorite of her books so far. I'm reading The Wish Granter now after this book.

I love Lorelai, she's so much more relatable and awesome and Irina is even more understandable even though she is detestable and disgusting with her evil wickedness.

And I love Kol and his little group of friends and Kol and Lorelai together complement each other.

I am gaining a new level of appreciation and interest in the fairy tales because of these great retellings.

If you haven't checked this book out or any of these by C.J. Red wine, you should.
( )
  Kiaya40 | Jun 19, 2023 |
Viser 1-25 af 43 (næste | vis alle)
I wasn't crying at the end, I just had some dust that fell in my eye, lol. I really loved this, my first snow white retelling and reminded me of the show Once upon a time, the twist with the huntsman and dual hearts was definitely different but in a good way. ( )
  Enid007 | Apr 11, 2024 |
The was an average retelling and change to a classic story. It didn't wow me even with the unique elements it possessed. That being said, I didn't hate it.

In the beginning I was just NOT feeling it. Once I got to the climax of the story, it got better. The beginning was too slow for me.

If you like fairy tale retelling this one might peak your interest and I deem it worthy of picking up.

Full review: wanderinglectiophile.wordpress.com/2017/10/24/review-the-shadow-queen-by-c-j-redwine-narrated-by-khristine-hvam/ ( )
  RochelleJones | Apr 5, 2024 |
I really enjoyed this book. It was a fast paced read and the start of the book suprised me alot. I did not expect the way this started. I love the presence of magic and dragons in a snow white retelling. I love the lead guy in this so much and the villain was terrible. Very fast pace read. ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
I really enjoyed this book. It was a fast paced read and the start of the book suprised me alot. I did not expect the way this started. I love the presence of magic and dragons in a snow white retelling. I love the lead guy in this so much and the villain was terrible. Very fast pace read. ( )
  lmauro123 | Dec 28, 2023 |
I've always strongly disliked Snow White, but Shadow Queen I like a lot - it's so much better than Snow White!

Also I love C.J. Redwine’s books - they're awesome! I love The Traitor Prince - it might be my favorite of her books so far. I'm reading The Wish Granter now after this book.

I love Lorelai, she's so much more relatable and awesome and Irina is even more understandable even though she is detestable and disgusting with her evil wickedness.

And I love Kol and his little group of friends and Kol and Lorelai together complement each other.

I am gaining a new level of appreciation and interest in the fairy tales because of these great retellings.

If you haven't checked this book out or any of these by C.J. Red wine, you should.
( )
  Kiaya40 | Jun 19, 2023 |
The Shadow Queen
3 Stars

While this epic fantasy retelling of Snow White has an intriguing premise and some exciting, action-packed moments, there is something missing.

Perhaps it is the world-building, which is not as developed as it could be. Various countries, rulers and peoples are mentioned, but there is actually very little detail about the numerous lands that comprise the world Redwine has created.

The nature of magic is also lacking. There are different magical species - dragons, witches, ogres - yet neither their origin stories nor explanations of powers and abilities are sufficiently provided. The dragons, in particular, are underutilized in the narrative and come across as weak rather than the all powerful beings that they should be.

The relationship between Lorelai and Kol is the highlight of the book as they struggle against the machinations of the wicked queen. They are both likable characters and it is easy to root for their success.

Overall, a solid addition to the YA epic fantasy genre but not as captivating as Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass or ACOTAR series. ( )
  Lauren2013 | May 5, 2023 |
It’s been a while since I’ve read a book that I literally did not want to put down!

The Shadow Queen is a Snow White retelling with a rogue princess, a telepathic falcon, a huntsman who can shapeshift into a dragon, an awesome brand of magic, and enough twists in the story that I was hooked on every page! Even though I knew how it would inevitably end, I was never quite sure how it would get there. ( )
  vvbooklady | Feb 1, 2023 |
Spring 2018:

I am a fairytale fanatic, and so choosing to read another Snow White retelling had me a little leery, but this recommendation came from my favorite librarian. This is a clever, dark, and beautiful tale of princesses, sorceresses, and dragons, and it just as glorious in its own right as every other retelling. People will enjoy the macabre acts of the Queen, and the rebellious princess, as well as the stalwart prince-who-is-a-monster, too.
  wanderlustlover | Dec 26, 2022 |
NOPE, couldn't do it. Didn't get too far in and had to stop when our heroine walked in on a mother killing her 4 starving children. That there is the line for me. ( )
  fellanta13 | Feb 14, 2022 |
Intriguing elements and twists unfortunately weren't enough to pull this fairy tale retelling together. More character development would be nice, in addition to better pacing. ( )
  bookwyrmqueen | Oct 25, 2021 |
Lorelai is a princess on the run from the evil queen who used her magic to enslave the kingdom and take control over Lorelai’s father. Using her own magic and the help of her younger brother and the man who has helped them survive for years as fugitives, Lorelai plans to defeat Queen Irina. Her challenge increases when Queen Irina makes a deal with Kol, the heir to the throne of a neighboring kingdom called Eldr. Kol needs magic to protect his kingdom against the ogres invading it, so he promises to bring Queen Irina Lorelai’s heart in exchange for the magic he desperately needs. When Kol and Lorelai start to fall in love, they combine forces to take control back over their kingdoms and protect the things they care most about from Irina.

This book is Snow White retold with classic fantasy elements of a heroine wanting to reclaim her kingdom, getting a group of friends to assist her, and falling in love along the way. Most of the story isn’t well developed and just puts Snow White into those fantasy tropes. The world has some interesting elements like the dragon huntsman, but a lot of it isn’t developed. The use of magic, ogres, and the Russian sounding words aren’t explained so sometimes it feels like the author merged Snow White and the Huntsman with the Grisha trilogy. The characters are also generic. Kol and Lorelai don’t have much chemistry and their dialogue was unoriginal. Magic is rare, but somehow Lorelai has it and more than anyone ever has before. Most of the characters are stereotypical, and the most interesting character dies at the beginning of the book. Some of the ideas are fun and interesting, but it needed more originality to bring readers in. ( )
  vivirielle | Aug 4, 2021 |
Rating 1.11 out of 5 starts

I did not like this book at all. I had to skim the last 60 pages cause I couldn't take anymore. I really wanted to like it too. I love fantasy, retellings, and romance, but this book just was sooooo boring to me. It didn't hold my attention at all and I had to force myself to read it. I won't be continuing the series, and honestly not sure if I'll read anything else by this author.

My rating system:
initial feeling= 1
writing=2
story= 0.5
originality= 1.5
unpredictability= 2
ending= 0.5
interest= 0.25
( )
  starslight86 | Jul 20, 2021 |
Loved the world building in this book and from what I know although this is a series, they can be read as stand alone novels. Have to say the Queen is an awesome villain in this one. She's nasty as they come but I love how she's portrayed. (The apples!!!)

Two things I didn't really like much. Leo. That wasn't cool and what was the point in that? Was it to give Lorelai that special push to finally get her to do something about it? I thought he would have made a great addition to the cast as he was the comic/witty relief. Oh well.

Next thing. The romance. Wow. Sappy. Too sweet for my tastes. I would rather have my characters have that nice chemistry and bonding but this just didn't feel right. We knew where it was going but the way it was executed just didn't sit well with the novel. Did Lorelai really need someone though? seriously? she was fine on her own and I liked her personality. Why is it that we need the main character have to have a romance in it? it puts a monkey wrench in quests and distracts from everything. Gets annoying after a while.

I did like Kol though, this idea about a shape shifting race of dragons with two hearts was a clever one. Definitely unique from the other books I have read in the fantasy genre. So well done.

Loved the plot overall. The magic aspect was good and it stayed true to fairy tale elements and characteristics. ( )
  sensitivemuse | Jan 31, 2021 |
Meh. I couldn't be bothered to finish this one. Too goofy and trope-y to be taken seriously, but it took itself too seriously (and had too much gore) to be fun.
  AnnaWaffles | Aug 28, 2020 |
This was totally action packed and tons of wicked magic spells and horrible ending to people. Real cool. The romance was too much. It's like just get on with it , but the action moved really fast , like a hamster free on the run around a bedroom fast. ( )
  MrNattania72 | Mar 17, 2020 |
Another fantastic retelling of a much loved fairy tale.
This book has surpassed my expectations. I've heard mixed things about it so I was a bit wary of starting it but I'm happy to say I had no reason to be worried.
The Shadow Queen is a magical adventure with a kick-ass princess, dragons (one of which is the swoon worthy huntsman..who also happens to be a king) and some nice world building. Can't wait to see what's next in the Ravenspire series.
( )
  maebri | Mar 10, 2020 |
And so breaks my streak of excellent reads for 2020.

I had a lot of fundamental problems with The Shadow Queen – from tired tropes to convenient magic to an awkward retelling in general… I just couldn’t get into this one at all.

As The Shadow Queen is a retelling of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, some of the tropes are expected and thus need to be excused. For example – a fugitive princess? You really can’t have a Snow White retelling (one that includes a Snow White character, anyway) without a fugitive young royal. You also have an evil step-parent, and while I personally would love to see less of these in YA fantasy, the Evil Queen is also a Snow White staple. So those two characters are excused in that way. The tropes are exhausting, but expected, so there you are.

Things that really drove me crazy? C.J. Redwine based her entire world around magic and dragons and used them only as was convenient. The rules of magic are basically just “if you need it, it’s there, and you’ll maybe sleep for half the day as a result”. But okay, I’m talking “sleep half the day” for controlling an entire river. We have Lorelai, who is a fugitive on the run, but she has as much magical knowledge as Irina who has been trained in the craft her entire life. I know nobody wants the Evil Queen to win, but it drives me absolutely crazy when the underdog heroine has just as many “magically acquired” skills as anyone else. Give me some struggle. Make me root for her. In a single sentiment… make her worthy. Nothing about Lorelai was worthy of my love as the reader. A little sympathy in regards to how badly her original coup went, but otherwise? She did not impress.

Outside of our hero and villain, I felt like we had another cast of cookie cutter characters that failed to win my heart. At the beginning, there was hope for Leo and Gabriel, but that went out the window as soon as it became clear that they, like the world building, were just a means to an end. Every character should serve his purpose in the story, but to be just an instrument to move the plot forward does not necessarily create purpose. I could write a whole blog post on this topic. Even Kol – who is easily the most significant character after Irina and Lorelai – does not make sense in his role. His whole character was a hot mess for me, honestly, and I found it frustrating that he came into the story and played the role he played considering the role he should be playing.

Basically, this is all just an epic rant about my distaste for books that don’t make sense. Even within the constructed limits of fantasy – which is broad – there are still some rules and framework, and when storytelling elements are used haphazardly to get your protagonist from Point A to Point B, those fragile worlds fall apart and the book becomes indulgence rather than storytelling. And I guess that’s a bit cruel, but that’s honestly how I felt about this book. There were so many tools at its disposal at the beginning, and all were tossed to the wind for a more convenient trail ride. I can see many ways in which the author could have took Lorelai on her journey without pulling princes from neighboring kingdoms and the such.

Listen.

The Shadow Queen can be entertaining enough if you like Snow White, and don’t mind a little simplistic fantasy. It has a beautiful cover (I’m also disappointed that the apples didn’t play a bigger role) and could work if you’re in the mood for a love story that doesn’t make sense, but does include healing kisses and cheesy one-liners. The Shadow Queen has its audience… but it’s not me. ( )
  Morteana | Jan 6, 2020 |
I like retellings of fairy tales and this was a pretty good Snow White and the Huntsman story. The plot moved at a pretty good pace and had some great character, love Gabril!. I did feel like some of the writing was unnecessary and ended up skipping over paragraphs I felt were unimportant. I wish there was some more explanation on certain things, like the history of magic and why there aren't more mardushkas. The backstory needed some work and there was a character I wished I could've seen more of. The Draconi were really cool and definitely put a twist on the original story that I loved. Hopefully there's more dragons in book 2! ( )
  AlyP59 | Apr 25, 2019 |
It is a re-telling so it's not the most original storyline. I really liked what she did with the characters though. This was no damsel in distress waiting for her prince to kiss her and make it all better, no Lorelai was kick ass.

I know I seem to be in the minority here but after having two books in a row where I just couldn't connect with the characters and spent most the time wondering 'why the hell did they do that', it was nice seeing a smart, independent, strong female lead take care of herself.

I mean the plot wasn't the most original but I like what was done with it. I liked the mystical realm Redwine built and honestly I'm pretty excited for the next one. ( )
  NerdyHousewifey | Feb 1, 2019 |
Started kinda slow and it took awhile to connect with the characters but I was enchanted by the end. ( )
  Catsysta | Aug 5, 2018 |
I really enjoyed Redwine's Defiance Trilogy for its strong characters and thrilling plotline, so I was eagerly awaiting her next series. Not only did the Shadow Queen have an awesome cover but I'm a sucker for a good fairy tale retelling and I knew Redwine would do a great job.

I'm not sure how many people watch ABC's Once Upon a Time but Lorelai reminded me a lot of Snow (and not just because they are Snow White). She's a kickass lead with a heart of gold but she also has her own flaws. I like that she isn't perfect and I like that she isn't defenceless and requires a "prince" to save her from her troubles. And the same can be said about Kol--he isn't some flawless character either.

The cast as a whole was a lot of fun. It was easy to root for the good guys and despise the bad guys (you always need a good villain). They were all so likeable to me and that made me want to read more about their story. And there were some heartwarming moments as well.

Somewhere around the latter half of the book, I started to get a little bored. Which was weird because things were happening--it wasn't like the characters were just sitting around waiting; there was plenty of action. I think I just wanted to get to the climax that little bit sooner. One plot device in particular seemed like it was just regurgitated in a slightly different way after it had been resolved and that really slowed down the story for me.

Otherwise, the pacing was great and the story kept my attention.

Check out more spoiler-free book and series reviews on my blog SERIESousBookReviews.com as well as read book series recaps!

Full Review: http://wp.me/p7hLUw-1Sg
Actual Rating: 4/5 ( )
  seriesousbooks | Feb 7, 2018 |
For nine years Loreli and her brother have been on the run from their evil stepmother, Queen Irina who killed their father and assumed (stole) the throne of Ravenspire. These nine years, Queen Irina has grown weak, the magic she uses to bewitch the land and the people in it to bend to her will, has taken its toll. In a neighboring kingdom of Eldr, Prince Kol suddenly finds himself King after his family his killed in a ogre attack. Unable to fend off the beasts and fearing the destruction of his kingdom, he takes off for Ravenspire to strike a deal with Queen Irina. The price for her magic is steep, kill the lost Princess Loreli. Both young royals find themselves in a terrible battle of self will and preservation, but can they pool their talents and resources to defeat Queen Irina and restore their respective kingdoms to peace, or will she fare too formidable of a foe?

This book absolutely came alive on the pages. Everything from the characters, Ravenspire and surrounding lands, the intense and fierce battles, the devastation and heartbreak - it all just radiated from the pages. Redwine has such a rich and vibrant writing style, I was immediately immersed (addictively so) within the books pages, wresting myself back to reality (begrudgingly) when real life called. Lorelei was fierce, brave, selfless, and strong all things that make an enjoyable heroine. I loved that she was the one who saved Kol, countless times; no damsel in distress here, she definitely kicked ass! The Draconi were fantastically unique, adding another dimension to the plot and Kol as a character which was fun. Now I have to add Draconi to my list of fictional future husbands... *sigh*..... Although seemingly heartless and wicked to the core, I was surprised to find our villainess, Irina, written with glimpse of humanity as well. While I wasn't rooting for her by any stretch of the imagination, I did feel a sense of pity for her throughout most of the book. If only she didn't let her hunger for power consume her, her life could have been so much different. 10000000/10 would recommend this read to any lover of a fairytale retelling. Absolutely enchanting in all the best ways! ( )
  courtneygiraldo | Jan 11, 2018 |
The kingdom of Ravenspire was a prosperous land with a loving king and queen. However, when their beloved queen dies and a new one takes her place, things start to change. Every evening the castle staff eat apples, the queen cast a spell on these apples and they make whoever eats them want to follow her every command. The only one who isn't affected by this spell is little Lorelei, the future queen of Ravenspire. One night she undoes Irina's spell, and in turn, the queen kills her father and destroys the castle. Lorelei, her brother Leo, and the captain of the guard Gabril barely escape with their lives and go into hiding for nine years. During this time they raid wagons and gain the trust of the people of the kingdom. Meanwhile, in the neighboring kingdom of Elder, Kolvansimir, second in line to the throne, is struck with grief after his parents and older brother are killed in the battlefront against the ogres attacking his kingdom. Once a playful trickster, now a king, Kol knows he has to do something for his people, the Draconi, who have the ability to turn into dragons- also have two hearts. He goes to Irina to make a deal, he will pay to feed the desperate people of her kingdom, and she will seal away the ogres attacking his homeland. On his way, a girl, her brother, and a mysterious man save his life and the lives of his friends. So when the queen twists her words and makes him do whatever she says, he does until he realizes that the princess he's supposed to kill, is the girl who saved his life. In a battle of magic and will, Irina and Lorelai fight for the land indirectly at first, but it leads up to the final fight, where Lorelai sacrifices herself to save Kol- who is completely under Irina's control- and Ravenspire from the evil magic within it. Kol saves her and they live in peace and harmony.
I really enjoyed this darker, exciting version of Snow White. It was absolutely awesome, and I'm happy that I got it because it was just a random book off the shelf. I would recommend this book to most of my friends. I personally like dark twists on fairy tales, so I absolutely loved this book. If you like books full of action, adventure, magic, death, and you have a bit of a dark side, this book is for you. Especially if you like other versions of fairytales. I would rate this book five stars. ( )
  PiperP.G1 | Dec 13, 2017 |
Cool interpretation of Snow White though I feel like this is typical. ( )
  jwmchen | Nov 4, 2017 |
I loved this retelling of Snow White complete with an evil stepmother and the Huntsman. Princess Lorelai is hell-bent on getting revenge against her aunt/stepmother, the evil queen Irina for killing her family and determined to regain her rightful place on the throne. Caught in between this web of destruction is Kol, the Prince of Eldr. When he travels to Ravenspire to ask for the Queen's help, he happens upon the Princess Lorelai and now he is trapped between fulfilling the duty to his throne and following his heart.

I just love a good retelling and this one is filled with action, romance, magic, and dragons! ( )
  DMPrice | Oct 29, 2017 |
Viser 1-25 af 43 (næste | vis alle)

Aktuelle diskussioner

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.51)
0.5
1 5
1.5
2 10
2.5 2
3 38
3.5 6
4 38
4.5 1
5 20

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 207,106,199 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig