HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

This Scepter'd Isle (2004)

af Mercedes Lackey, Roberta Gellis (Forfatter)

Andre forfattere: Se andre forfattere sektionen.

Serier: Doubled Edge (1)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
499736,045 (3.48)12
The evil Unseleighe Sidhe attempt to prevent the rise to the throne of a red-haired child destined to usher in a golden age, while the good Sidhe of Elhame Avalon endeavor to ensure that the child will become Queen Elizabeth I.
Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 12 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 7 (næste | vis alle)
baen ebook
  romsfuulynn | Apr 28, 2013 |
What if the children of King Henry VIII had figured into the politics and machinations of the Elves? And what if Titania and Oberon sent someone to protect and guard the king's older son, the bastard Henry Fitzroy, Duke of Richmond?

This historical fantasy explores the possibility of the Unseleighe and Seleighe faerie courts battling one another, using the children of one of England's most famous kings as their pawns, in a struggle that will affect the future of England.

This series is perfect for fans of Mercedes Lackey's Heirs of Alexandria books, and not yet fans who love historical fantasies. Attention is paid to the prominent events in history, but they're woven into the fantastic story of elven warrior Denoriel, and his task to watch over and protect the illegitimate son of a human king, despite the interference of his dark court half-siblings. ( )
  CATetley | Feb 17, 2013 |
Two sets of sidhe (fairy) twins, one set Seleighe and the other Unseleighe, work behind the scenes to control who becomes Henry VIII's heir. Both sides are driven by FarSeer visions of the future of England. The Unseleighe want Mary to become queen, so the Inquisition and its horrors will provide their court sustenance. The Seleighe work to protect Henry Fitzroy so that a "red-haired infant" (Elizabeth I)can bring a golden age of peace, prosperity, and enlightenment to England.

More likely to appeal to fans of fantasy involving the sidhe than to history buffs. However, it's too rooted in history to feel like a legend, like Marion Zimmer Bradley's The Mists of Avalon or Morgan Llywelyn's Finn Mac Cool. However, it may have cross appeal. ( )
  ktoonen | Jul 30, 2012 |
I got this 2004 hardcover at a library book sale. It took me a while to read this book; there are lots of side characters, many with irritatingly similar names.

It's the reign of Henry VIII, and the story starts Faerie, where there has been a foreseeing of a 'red-haired babe', a child of King Henry, who will bring a golden age to Britain. The Seleighe fae Denoriel has been charged with finding and protecting the child. In human guise, he befriends Henry Fitzroy, Henry's bastard son. Fitzroy is not the child of the vision, but somehow he will be instrumental in protecting the life of the child. The fae of the Unseleighe court will stop at nothing to destroy both Fitzroy and the child of the vision (because they're evil, of course). Denoriel develops a paternal love for Fitzroy as he grows up, and protects him from many attempts to corrupt or kill him.

Not the greatest of stories, but the historical context is very interesting!
  AwesomeAud | Jun 22, 2011 |
As with past books, when co-authored they are best for light reading. Mercedes Lackey takes a back seat in the overall written word, as can be witnessed in this book. That being said .. the concept is a very good one - Historical fiction with a twist of fantasy and magic.

If you are expecting another Valdemar this one is not for you. If you follow the Tudors and love real history don't read this book - you will be disappointed. If you enjoy quick light historical romantic paperbacks i.e. fluff without substance then this will fit right in.

I confess, I did enjoy it .. it passes the time. ( )
  GT-M | Jul 13, 2008 |
Viser 1-5 af 7 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere (1 mulig)

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Lackey, MercedesForfatterprimær forfatteralle udgaverbekræftet
Gellis, RobertaForfatterhovedforfatteralle udgaverbekræftet
Dixon, LarryOmslagsfotograf/tegner/...medforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet

Belongs to Series

Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk (1)

The evil Unseleighe Sidhe attempt to prevent the rise to the throne of a red-haired child destined to usher in a golden age, while the good Sidhe of Elhame Avalon endeavor to ensure that the child will become Queen Elizabeth I.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.48)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 5
2.5 2
3 21
3.5 1
4 23
4.5
5 8

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 155,867,953 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig