HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Indlæser...

Discovering Wes Moore

af Wes Moore

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingSamtaler
1885145,442 (3.32)Ingen
Biography & Autobiography. Multi-Cultural. Geography. Young Adult Nonfiction. HTML:

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.
 
The story of the other Wes Moore is one that the author couldnt get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his namejust two years his seniorgrew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boynow a mana letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failureand the choices that make all the difference.
 
Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moores bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.
 
Includes an 8-page photo insert.


Praise for Discovering Wes Moore
 
Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly.Publishers Weekly
 
He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults.Kirkus Reviews

.… (mere)
Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

Viser 5 af 5
Kid's version of an adult memoir. Wes Moore is a Bronx survivor and a challenge to the statistics of poverty and violence. He grew up with a single mother after his father died suddenly when he was 4. Despite their surroundings, Wes' mother was determined to give her kids choices for their future. She works a few jobs to pay for Wes to go to an elite school, but when he begins to squander this opportunity and succumb to 'hood influences, she ships him off to military school in PA. After a rocky start that breaks him down, Wes flourishes, goes on to be one of the youngest leaders in the school, graduates from Johns Hopkins, and becomes a Rhodes scholar. Meanwhile he learns from his Mom about another Wes Moore, about the same age, also from the Bronx, who has chosen a completely different path and has just been jailed for murder. The name connection is what gets to Wes, so he strikes up a correspondence with the jailed Wes and learns his story and bears witness to its outcome. A tale of triumph, but also evocative of Gang Leader for A Day, so a little disheartening in that inner city woes have no easy solution. A very interesting correlation -- true, as I did further research! between reading scores around 3rd grade and the likelihood of jail time. Good discussion and eye-opening narration. ( )
  CarrieWuj | Oct 24, 2020 |
Biography of Wes Moore and the challenges of growing up. He counterpoints his story with another Wes Moore who is now serving a life sentence for murder. ( )
  ShellyPYA | Jul 16, 2015 |
A young Rhodes scholar learns of another African-American young man of his own age from the same neighborhood with the same name who is accused of killing a police officer during a robbery. Why did the two boys grow up into such different lives? ( )
  lilibrarian | Aug 2, 2013 |
WATCH BOOK TRAILER (video of author Wes Moore speaking about the book)

Two kids named Wes Moore were born blocks apart and within a year of each other. Both grew up fatherless in similar Baltimore neighborhoods and had difficult childhoods; both ran into trouble with the police. How did one grow up to be a Rhodes Scholar and business leader, while the other ended up a convicted murderer serving a life sentence? When Wes Moore wrote to his namesake in prison, they began a remarkable friendship. This story looks at the challenges of growing up and the power of the choices that people make in their lives.
  KilmerMSLibrary | Apr 30, 2013 |
Adaptation for young people of the adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore (2008). See my forthcoming review in Kirkus. ( )
  Sullywriter | Apr 3, 2013 |
Viser 5 af 5
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

Biography & Autobiography. Multi-Cultural. Geography. Young Adult Nonfiction. HTML:

For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turned into a movie produced by Oprah Winfrey.
 
The story of the other Wes Moore is one that the author couldnt get out of his mind, not since he learned that another boy with his namejust two years his seniorgrew up in the same Baltimore neighborhood. He wrote that boynow a mana letter, not expecting to receive a reply. But a reply came, and a friendship grew, as letters turned into visits and the two men got to know each other. Eventually, that friendship became the inspiration for Discovering Wes Moore, a moving and cautionary tale examining the factors that contribute to success and failureand the choices that make all the difference.
 
Two men. One overcame adversity. The other suffered the indignities of poverty. Their stories are chronicled in Discovering Wes Moore, a book for young people based on Wes Moores bestselling adult memoir, The Other Wes Moore.
 
Includes an 8-page photo insert.


Praise for Discovering Wes Moore
 
Moore wisely opens the door for teens to contemplate their own answers and beliefs, while laying out his own experiences honestly and openly.Publishers Weekly
 
He argues earnestly and convincingly that young people can overcome the obstacles in their lives when they make the right choices and accept the support of caring adults.Kirkus Reviews

.

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Current Discussions

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.32)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 3
3.5 1
4 5
4.5
5

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 205,762,776 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig