HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

The All of It: A Novel af Jeannette Haien
Indlæser...

The All of It: A Novel (udgave 2011)

af Jeannette Haien (Forfatter)

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
5622943,706 (3.79)48
JeannetteHaien's award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien's intimate novel of conversations anddilemmas-perfect for readers of Paul Harding's Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson's Gilead, and Flannery O'Connor'sWise Blood-is "an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way" (NewYork Times Book Review).Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition withan introduction by Ann Patchett.… (mere)
Medlem:christinedux
Titel:The All of It: A Novel
Forfattere:Jeannette Haien (Forfatter)
Info:Harper Perennial (2011), Edition: Reprint, 145 pages
Samlinger:Fiction
Vurdering:****
Nøgleord:Ireland, siblings, mystery, romance

Værk information

The All of It af Jeannette Haien

Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 48 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 29 (næste | vis alle)
Written in 1986, this novel burns with a subtle flame. ( )
  ben_r47 | Feb 22, 2024 |
Loved this book. Could have done without the fly fishing storyline. I know what it was supposed to represent, but it fell flat for me. Perhaps that is because the rest of the story was marvelous and I kept wanting to get back to it. ( )
  DebCushman | Aug 25, 2022 |
The All of It, is Enda's tale, told after the death of Kevin, her husband. She tells her and Kevin's story to the parish priest while Kevin lays dead. Her story is about two young people and love but not as you would expect. The priest is gripped by her story but struggles to know what to do, as it is also a story of sin. The next day he is fishing on a wet day and this gives him a chance to think. This novel, set in Ireland, spans the years from before motor cars to nearer the present day. It is a short novel and an enthralling read. ( )
  CarolKub | Mar 18, 2022 |
The title refers to Enda Dennehy's "come clean" tale told to her priest Father Declan just after her husband's deathbed confession. While this sounds dramatic and sordid, it is more a story of love and devotion, though less in the traditional marital sense. It also reveals Fr. Declan's own character as he initially tries to treat this a case for the confessional and traditional absolution, but Enda isn't having it. He becomes enthralled by her story and manner of telling and has a bit of inner turmoil about upholding his priestly duties and decorum, but is so in need of honesty and the removal of the barriers that his cloth and collar create. Endorsed winningly with an introduction by Ann Patchett, this book is a nice find and the Irishness of it is engaging. "A quiet little stunner" was a good blurb of praise and piqued my interest. ( )
  CarrieWuj | Oct 24, 2020 |
A short, sweet tale of a rural Irish priest who discovers that sometimes his faith doesn't give clear answers for all that happens to his parishioners. When a member of his flock dies, the widow, Enda, tells Father Declan an astonishing story of their life together, forcing Declan to rethink some of the certainties upon which he has always relied. Delightful. ( )
  auntmarge64 | Oct 21, 2019 |
Viser 1-5 af 29 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse

» Tilføj andre forfattere (2 mulige)

Forfatter navnRolleHvilken slags forfatterVærk?Status
Jeannette Haienprimær forfatteralle udgaverberegnet
Steinberg, JamesOmslagsfotograf/tegner/...medforfatternogle udgaverbekræftet
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Ernest Ballard
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Thomas Dunn, the head ghillie at the Castle, wasn't telling Father Declan anything he didn't already know: the river too high and wild from all the rains, and the salmon, therefore, not moving, just lying n the bottom, not showing themselves at all, and the midges terrible, and only the two days left to the season so of course all but the least desirable of the river-beats, number Four, was let already; "and Frank and Peter'll be ghillieing for the Americans stayin' at the Castle, Father, so I'll have to give you Seamus O'Connor and he's hardly worth the pay and that on top of the twenty pounds for the beat and you know yourself, Father, how beat Four is after a rainfall such as we've been having, the piers awash and the banks slippery as grease.
Citater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Author's Note: In Ireland, stretches of a salmon-river which run through privately owned land are divided by the owner into sections, called "beats." Beats are let (rented) by the owner, by the day, to an angler. The angler is called the "rod." A "ghillie" (or "gillie") is a servant who attends to the rod.
Sidste ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
(Klik for at vise Advarsel: Kan indeholde afsløringer.)
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

JeannetteHaien's award-winning first novel relates theseemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangledconfession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not onlythe clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien's intimate novel of conversations anddilemmas-perfect for readers of Paul Harding's Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson's Gilead, and Flannery O'Connor'sWise Blood-is "an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way" (NewYork Times Book Review).Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition withan introduction by Ann Patchett.

Ingen biblioteksbeskrivelser fundet.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Aktuelle diskussioner

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.79)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 6
2.5 1
3 26
3.5 11
4 51
4.5 12
5 16

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 208,946,084 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig