HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Domestic Violets: A Novel (P.S.) af Matthew…
Indlæser...

Domestic Violets: A Novel (P.S.) (udgave 2011)

af Matthew Norman

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
3354958,836 (3.98)8
"In the vein of Jonathan Tropper and Tom Perrotta comes DOMESTIC VIOLETS, Matthew Norman's darkly comic family drama about love, loss, and ambition" --
Medlem:heatherlove
Titel:Domestic Violets: A Novel (P.S.)
Forfattere:Matthew Norman
Info:Harper Perennial (2011), Paperback, 352 pages
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Ingen

Detaljer om værket

Domestic Violets af Matthew Norman

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» Se også 8 omtaler

Viser 1-5 af 49 (næste | vis alle)
I went into this with the wrong expectation. I'd read a few reviews and though it would be a laugh-out-loud comedy. The main character makes a joke of everything and there are a ton of one-liners, but there were underlying currents of sarcasm and sadness that jarred me. Once I got over that, I ended up liking the story. Tom is really juvenile and kind of frustrating, but I was interested to see where he'd end up. His father's story was just as interesting, and I was pleased at how everything came together in the end. Not surprised, but pleased nonetheless. ( )
  JustZelma | Dec 20, 2020 |
Eh. It was OK. Well written enough, interesting enough storyline, but not a whole lot going on. Kind of a beach read, or a book for when you don't want to think too much. I read it quickly, but most of it faded from my memory quickly so it certainly didn't stick with me or strike a chord. ( )
  MissWordNerd | Jul 14, 2018 |
Loved this book! Alternatively hilarious and touching. The office scenes alone had me rooting for Tom. I look forward to reading more from this author in the future. ( )
  dorie.craig | Jun 22, 2017 |
Domestic Violets is a total rarity in modern depressing fiction: a novel with witty dialogue,
a page turning plot that should never end, and real life characters emerging as a literary laugh out loud original.

Five pages in, what came to mind was "Can he possibly sustain this?!?"

Amazingly, Matthew Norman did.

His often oddball cast of characters remain honest, there is blessedly little foreshadowing,
and Pulitzer Dad treats us to a scathing one line review of THE CATCHER IN THE RYE.

A couple of minor wonderings: leaving a dog alone in a car?
alcohol after a cancer diagnosis? and a book left in a gym bag with a damp towel...?

No fatalities here with dogs or humans (thank the gods) so many readers who love sarcasm,
great plot twists, and true characters will be hoping that a successful bone marrow transplant
will give us many more years with a Great Sequel! ( )
  m.belljackson | Feb 14, 2017 |
Tom Violet is the less successful and not famous son of Curtis Violent, serial womanizer and celebrity, currently short-listed for the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. Tom is stuck at a dead end job writing copyright for a firm that... well, even Tom isn't quite sure what they do. When the economy starts to tank and everyone begins losing their jobs, Tom decides to go out in a blaze of glory on his own terms. Now without a job but with a secret book of his own that just may be published, Tom has to deal with his father's drama with his most recent ex, Tom's attraction to a much younger woman at work, his feelings of insecurity, and other family issues, all at the same time. Fortunately, Tom tends to see the humor in every situation and tells his first hand account from a deeply sarcastic perspective, which makes this "domestic" tale hard to put down and seriously funny. Highly recommended for anyone with a sense of humor. ( )
1 stem voracious | Aug 26, 2016 |
Viser 1-5 af 49 (næste | vis alle)
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige steder
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
For Kate & Caroline
Første ord
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
I splash cold water on my face.
Citater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
When I was little, I read books because I thought that’s what people were supposed to do, because that’s what my mom did and what my dad did. While I stumbled and squinted my way through math and science and everything else useful in the world, I was always confident in words and stories and the things lurking in the brains of the characters who wandered in and out of my life. Sometimes I wish I’d been born to normal people — people to whom a book was just a book and people could be fixed like Fords.
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Oplysninger fra den engelske Almen Viden Redigér teksten, så den bliver dansk.
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

"In the vein of Jonathan Tropper and Tom Perrotta comes DOMESTIC VIOLETS, Matthew Norman's darkly comic family drama about love, loss, and ambition" --

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Quick Links

Populære omslag

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.98)
0.5
1 1
1.5 2
2 3
2.5 1
3 16
3.5 9
4 54
4.5 12
5 28

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 159,236,492 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig