HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.
Hide this

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Filaree: A Novel of an American Life af…
Indlæser...

Filaree: A Novel of an American Life (udgave 1979)

af Marguerite Noble

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
483430,515 (3.5)1
This moving novel of pioneer life in Arizona has become a classic. Based on the life of the author's mother, it overturns every stereotype of western womanhood. "Comes closer to the truth and the validity of the so-called winning of the West than anything I have ever read. It is terrifying, heartbreaking and remarkable. . . . Filaree is also one of the most magnificent portraits of a woman that exists in our literature."--Howard Fast "I loved Filaree, I didn't just read it, I crawled between the pages and lived it."--Lily Tomlin "An extraordinary performance. . . . a powerful antidote to the romantic illusions some people have about ranch people and life on the range. . . . As a writer, Mrs. Noble makes no compromises. She tells her story in plain country American dialect, offers no exaggerated sex or violence, no vulgar talk. She is a realist in the best sense, a breath of fresh air in these free-wheeling times."--C. L. Sonnichsen… (mere)
Medlem:stevenmc
Titel:Filaree: A Novel of an American Life
Forfattere:Marguerite Noble
Info:Random House
Samlinger:Dit bibliotek
Vurdering:
Nøgleord:Autographed

Detaljer om værket

Filaree: A Novel of American Life (A Zia Book) af Marguerite Noble

Ingen
Indlæser...

Bliv medlem af LibraryThing for at finde ud af, om du vil kunne lide denne bog.

Der er ingen diskussionstråde på Snak om denne bog.

» See also 1 mention

Viser 3 af 3
This totally surprised me. I found it on the library discard book shelves and the fact that both Lily Tomlin and Barry Goldwater blurbed it made it too intriguing to pass up. It's the story of a woman's life in early 20th c. Arizona, unceasingly harsh, but beautifully written and with some wonderful twists. The hardships she endures may make you feel the tiniest bit lazy if your job is cushier than cooking for miners or laboring as an itinerant farm worker. I'll certainly be complaining less!

For fans of The Moonflower Vine and The Good House. ( )
  laurenbufferd | Nov 14, 2016 |
This moving novel of pioneer life in Arizona has become a classic. Based on the life of the author's mother, it overturns every stereotype of western womanhood.

"Comes closer to the truth and the validity of the so-called winning of the West than anything I have ever read. It is terrifying, heartbreaking and remarkable. . . . Filaree is also one of the most magnificent portraits of a woman that exists in our literature."--Howard Fast

"I loved Filaree, I didn't just read it, I crawled between the pages and lived it."--Lily Tomlin

"An extraordinary performance. . . . a powerful antidote to the romantic illusions some people have about ranch people and life on the range. . . . As a writer, Mrs. Noble makes no compromises. She tells her story in plain country American dialect, offers no exaggerated sex or violence, no vulgar talk. She is a realist in the best sense, a breath of fresh air in these free-wheeling times."--C. L. Sonnichsen

ABOUT THE CONTRIBUTORS

Marguerite Noble (1910 - 2007) was an important Arizona novelist, teacher and community member.

ACCLAIM

"The literature style of Filaree is simple, fitting to the people, time, place."
-- Library Journal

"Filaree . . . celebrates her adaptability and accomplishment. This novel is a spunky commemoration of the stubborn spirit of the frontier to resist, survive, and prevail."
-- Western American Literature

". . . an engrossing tale . . . recommended for historical fiction readers."
-- The Midwest Book Review
  Bonneville_Dam | Apr 2, 2015 |
This book by my beloved seventh grade teacher, who taught me just about all I know about the English sentence structure, is a fictionalized account of her mother, who rode a wagon trail from Texas to Arizona in the early 1900's. If you are interested in what life was like for pioneering women in the West, this is a book that will lay it out for you. Marguerite Nobel was the real deal, a Westerner through and though, who was as cowboy tough as she was literate. ( )
  co_coyote | Mar 31, 2008 |
Viser 3 af 3
ingen anmeldelser | tilføj en anmeldelse
Du bliver nødt til at logge ind for at redigere data i Almen Viden.
For mere hjælp se Almen Viden hjælpesiden.
Kanonisk titel
Originaltitel
Alternative titler
Oprindelig udgivelsesdato
Personer/Figurer
Vigtige steder
Vigtige begivenheder
Beslægtede film
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Indskrift
Tilegnelse
Første ord
Citater
Sidste ord
Oplysning om flertydighed
Forlagets redaktører
Bagsidecitater
Originalsprog
Canonical DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Henvisninger til dette værk andre steder.

Wikipedia på engelsk

Ingen

This moving novel of pioneer life in Arizona has become a classic. Based on the life of the author's mother, it overturns every stereotype of western womanhood. "Comes closer to the truth and the validity of the so-called winning of the West than anything I have ever read. It is terrifying, heartbreaking and remarkable. . . . Filaree is also one of the most magnificent portraits of a woman that exists in our literature."--Howard Fast "I loved Filaree, I didn't just read it, I crawled between the pages and lived it."--Lily Tomlin "An extraordinary performance. . . . a powerful antidote to the romantic illusions some people have about ranch people and life on the range. . . . As a writer, Mrs. Noble makes no compromises. She tells her story in plain country American dialect, offers no exaggerated sex or violence, no vulgar talk. She is a realist in the best sense, a breath of fresh air in these free-wheeling times."--C. L. Sonnichsen

No library descriptions found.

Beskrivelse af bogen
Haiku-resume

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (3.5)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 3
4.5
5

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 163,179,169 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig