HjemGrupperSnakMereZeitgeist
Søg På Websted
På dette site bruger vi cookies til at levere vores ydelser, forbedre performance, til analyseformål, og (hvis brugeren ikke er logget ind) til reklamer. Ved at bruge LibraryThing anerkender du at have læst og forstået vores vilkår og betingelser inklusive vores politik for håndtering af brugeroplysninger. Din brug af dette site og dets ydelser er underlagt disse vilkår og betingelser.

Resultater fra Google Bøger

Klik på en miniature for at gå til Google Books

Choosing to see a journey of struggle and…
Indlæser...

Choosing to see a journey of struggle and hope (udgave 2010)

af Mary Beth Chapman, Ellen Santilli Vaughn

MedlemmerAnmeldelserPopularitetGennemsnitlig vurderingOmtaler
6811634,280 (4.18)9
Viser 16 af 16
57544
  WBCLIB | May 15, 2023 |
Mary Beth Chapman is as transparent as they come, showing that God's grace and mercy shine brightest through our own faults and cracks. ( )
  SarahStir | Oct 23, 2022 |
Anyone who kept track of the Christian music industry in 2008 (and many who didn't) heard about the loss of five-year-old Maria Chapman to a tragic accident in the driveway of the Chapman family's home. This book feels more like two shorter books: the first half being a general biography of Mary Beth's journey as Christian, wife to a CCM superstar, and mother ... the second half being her journey of sorrow and anger and hope after her daughter's death.

My reading diet of primarily fiction may have shaped my view of this book somewhat. The editing could be tighter, especially regarding the repetition. The writing itself is more like conversation than text. However, especially in the last quarter of the book (which consists of blog posts from Mary Beth in the first two years without Maria), a blogging/speaking style seems to be the point.

Choosing to SEE is brave, open, aching. It asks questions and usually doesn't have answers. Yet it settles at last on the choice to "SEE" what God has to show us, through grief and in spite of it--namely, Himself. I have so much respect for Mary Beth, revealing her heart and her flaws, her victories and defeats, to a readership of strangers like me. I'm richer for having read this book. ( )
  AmandaGStevens | Mar 2, 2019 |
This is a book about the life of the author, Mary Beth Chapman. She is the wife of Christian singer Steven Curtis Chapman. They adopted 3 girls from China and one of the girls was tragically killed when she was just 5 years old. She wrote the book about 2 years after Maria's death to help her through the grieving process.



I was hoping to like this book more than I did. We adopted our Cainan from Hunan in 2007, and I followed Mary Beth Chapman's journey and blog during that time. I kept following for awhile after her daughter Maria was killed, but then life got in the way, and I lost track of her. I saw someone reading this book on the subway in Boston one day, and I thought I would see what it was about.



It had its good parts. It talked about the accident and how their family was working through it. But it was an overly religious book, and not well written. I have read other books that were religious, but this one was just......not good. It was over the top and just made me roll my eyes constantly. So - I don't recommend it. ( )
  JenMat | Jan 10, 2019 |
Mary Beth Chapman is the wife of Christian singer Steven Curtis Chapman. The book begins with her marriage at 19 to 21-year-old Steven and continues through the early years of their marriage--the beginning of Steven's career as a singer and the ultimate birth of three children. Mary Beth also frankly discusses her problems with depression, especially during Steven's early tours, and the fact that she takes anti-depressants. I found that brave because many Christians can be judgmental about mental health issues. At some point Mary Beth and her eldest daughter take a Compassion International trip to Haiti, where Emily's heart is turned toward the plight of orphans. She begins to urge her parents to adopt a child. Ultimately they do decide to adopt a baby girl from China. They are so touched by the situation of the orphans that they urge their friends and others to adopt as well, and several in their circle of friends and family do. The Chapmans go on to adopt two more daughters from China, completing their family with six children. Then one day tragedy strikes when their son Will Franklin hits their 5-year-old daughter Maria with his car in their driveway (NOT a spoiler since this is on the dust jacket). The remainder, and point, of the book is the family, especially Mary Beth, dealing with the grief caused by Maria's death. Mary Beth frankly deals with the fact that in the depth of her sorrow she has questions about why God would allow such a tragedy to happen, but continues to choose to SEE that she has a future with Maria in heaven, that there is a purpose and plan that can't be comprehended, and that while she won't get over the tragedy, she and her family will get through it. She also has to deal not only with the death of her daughter, but also her concern over her son and his guilt, and the fact that the oldest adopted daughter witnessed the accident. The Chapmans have a strong faith that holds them together, and friends and family who share that faith and pull together. They also wisely seek counseling for everyone. The aftermath takes the family members in different directions, but they channel their grief into projects that benefit others and allow them to share their faith.

I enjoyed this book because Mary Beth doesn't hesitate to voice her doubts and questions to God. She doesn't pretend that all is well because she believes in an eternal future with her lost child. She spends day in tears and despair. And yet despite her agony, that doesn't really abate, she is able to hang on to her faith and choose to SEE what God can do and how he meets her needs from day to day. This book was heartbreaking, but inspirational. ( )
  LeslieHurd | Jan 11, 2017 |
Frankie mclauren recommended this five stars she said ( )
  jothebookgirl | Jan 3, 2017 |
This was an excellent book. Mary Beth takes you into her life and her heart. I laughed and cried with her. ( )
  imakittycat | Sep 5, 2015 |
Mary Beth Chapman shares about her struggles--with depression, with the road that led their family to adoption, and with the road of grief that followed them after the death of her daughter Maria. Her honesty gives the reader a lot of insight into her families struggles and what they are passionate about. It is very inspiring to see how her relationship with God has been her source of strength through it all, and to see how others have also helped along the way. The stories shared will bring tears, but some will also bring laughter, and many f them encouraged my heart. Fans of Steven Curtis Chapman's music will definitely love it, but anyone who enjoys reading memoirs written by people of faith will enjoy this read. Just be sure to have a few tissues handy. ( )
  debs4jc | Dec 6, 2013 |
Great inspirational book, specially for those who grieve the lost of a love one. ( )
  Isabelmore | Nov 1, 2013 |
This book is a myriad of emotions. You will laugh, you will scream, you will cry, and you will feel hope blossom inside of you. Mary Beth gives you a tour of her life in a way that anyone can relate to. She goes from the early part of her life as an awkward, self-conscious teenager, to meeting Steven Curtis Chapman, to their marriage, growing family, life struggles, heartache, and finally, the adoption of their three Chinese daughters. This is a well-rounded, well-written story of hope in the midst of life's tragedies. ( )
  MortimerFolchart | Jul 3, 2012 |
In May 2008, tragedy struck the family of recording artist Steven Curtis Chapman. His 5-year old daughter Maria was accidentally struck with a vehicle and killed by their older son. In Choosing To SEE: A Journey of Struggle and Hope, Mary Beth Chapman writes of the impact the devastation and loss had on her and her family. In sharing a little of her life story, she reveals her struggle with accepting things that she could not change (both the good and the bad) and learning to follow God in what came into her life. Part of the difficulties came through battles with depression and part came through coming to terms with things she could not control. This lesson was to help her when tragedy struck. Interspersed throughout the book are lyrics from various songs her husband wrote. It gave these songs a whole new life to discover the backdrop of why they were written.

Chapman is very open, raw and brutally honest with the challenges she faced and continues to face. This is not a book written from the perspective of someone who has all the answers, someone who has it all together. Rather, it is from a mother who still aches for her daughter and longs for the burden and guilt her son carries to be taken away. It is from a person who still asks God "Why?" In one of the most poignant statements, Chapman says "When people ask how we are doing, the first thing I always say is, `I want Maria back. I want my son Will Franklin not to have this as a chapter in his story. I want my children to be healthy, my family secure. I don't really care whose life has been touched or changed because of our loss!'" Throughout the book and especially after the death of their daughter, Chapman writes of her trust in God, a trust in his sovereignty that says although things look bleak now, one day God will make all things new.

Choosing to SEE is not an easy book to read. I had to put it down several times to relieve the ache in my heart for her family and deal with the fears I had of such a thing happening to my own family. As my wife has said to others in recommending the book "You might as well buy Walmart out [of tissues] now!" Having gone through (and currently going through) the adoption journey, I also enjoyed reading of their family's journey in bringing home their three daughters from China. Ultimately, it is encouraging to see someone who is living through a tragedy not only admit they still struggle (something I'm too often afraid to admit!), but confess an unwavering trust in a God who gives us hope. ( )
  Eskypades | Mar 7, 2011 |
An uplifting, though sad, inspirational journey through the pain of losing a child and the healing that begins with faith. ( )
  SherylHendrix | Dec 20, 2010 |
This book tells the story of the Steven Curtis and Mary Beth Chapman family and chronicles how they have coped with the death of their daughter. Chapman is a Christian singer, and although I had heard of him, I had not previously listened to his music. I found this book moving and inspiring. ( )
  mhanderson | Nov 13, 2010 |
*** Here’s a link to the book trailer for this book… there are some spoilers in it, but only if you come to the book not knowing who the Chapmans are and what happened that inspired the writing of this book. I guess you could call “Spoiler Alert” on everything in this review from here on out, but everything I’ll mention was in the news at some point, so decide for yourself whether you want to keep reading or not ***

Choosing to SEE Book Trailer

If you’re a parent, this is going to be a really difficult book to read. I’ll warn you that right up front. Even if you’re not a parent, it’s going to be tough going in places.

For those of you who don’t know, or who may have forgotten, Mary Beth Chapman is the wife of Award-Winning Gospel singer/songwriter Stephen Curtis Chapman. Several years ago, tragedy struck their family when one of their young daughters was struck and killed in the driveway by a truck, driven by their son. The event made headline news, and Stephen Curtis didn’t release any new music for awhile afterward.

This book is Mary Beth’s story of a life she never asked for and never wanted. She married a man who would become a superstar, their family grew and grew, and they had times of blessing and times of disaster (she mentions some of that in the book trailer above).

What I found most intriguing was Mary Beth’s honesty about her struggles with anxiety and depression. Here was this woman who seemed to have it all – a beautiful home, children, and a husband whose success provided for their needs and more – and yet she felt like she was dying inside. She took medications, visited doctors, and learned how to cope…

And then, the worst tragedy of all… the death of a child. I’m so glad the book didn’t dwell on that, but instead focused on her life, her faith in God, her personal struggles, and how the family put themselves back together after being shattered into a million pieces.

Mary Beth’s book is a blatant testimony of faith; an incredible display of God’s power to bring light into the darkest places.

This book won’t be for everyone. For others, it may be too difficult to read. Still, I’m glad that Mary Beth told her story, because it affirmed for me that no one is perfect. Everyone is human. No matter how put-together someone appears on the outside, we all struggle with doubt, anxiety, and fear (some of us more than others). And that in the end, God is so much bigger than all that.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group". ( )
  dk_phoenix | Oct 15, 2010 |
This book was inspiring but also extremely sad. A quick read that touched my heart and made me think about what I will choose to SEE. Recommended. ( )
  TFS93 | Aug 9, 2010 |
From WorldCat:
The wife of recording artist Steven Curtis Chapman relates her story of finding hope amidst life's challenges, covering her marriage, struggles for emotional balance, and living with grief after the loss of her daughter.
This review has been flagged by multiple users as abuse of the terms of service and is no longer displayed (show).
  faithluth | Feb 15, 2014 |
Viser 16 af 16

Aktuelle diskussioner

Ingen

Populære omslag

Quick Links

Vurdering

Gennemsnit: (4.18)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 9
3.5 5
4 15
4.5 5
5 24

Er det dig?

Bliv LibraryThing-forfatter.

 

Om | Kontakt | LibraryThing.com | Brugerbetingelser/Håndtering af brugeroplysninger | Hjælp/FAQs | Blog | Butik | APIs | TinyCat | Efterladte biblioteker | Tidlige Anmeldere | Almen Viden | 207,106,408 bøger! | Topbjælke: Altid synlig