Picture of author.

Margaret Yorke (1924–2012)

Forfatter af Dangerous to Know

52+ Works 1,678 Members 52 Reviews 7 Favorited

Om forfatteren

Margaret Yorke was born Margaret Beda Larminie Nicholson in Surrey, but lived in Dublin until 1937, before moving back to England. During the war, she served in the Woman's Royal Naval Service as a driver. She then worked in the libraries of two Oxford colleges, and was the first woman ever to work vis mere in Christ Church library. She campaigned for Public Lending Rights for authors in Britain, and was also chairman of the Crime Writers' Association between 1979 and 1980. Her first novel, Summer Flight, was published in 1957. She then turned to the subject of crime with Dead in the Morning, published in 1970. With No Medals for the Major published in 1974, she began writing novels of suspense, which include The Point of Murder, Serious Intent and Act of Violence. In 1982, she won the Swedish Academy Detection award for the best translated novel, The Scent of Fear. Her books are published in 16 countries. In 1993, she won the Golden Handcuffs award, which is given in recognition of the popularity of the country's leading crime writer within the library service and to its borrowers. Margaret Yorke died November 17, 2012. (Bowker Author Biography) vis mindre

Omfatter også følgende navne: Margaret Yorke, Margaret Yorle

Omfatter også: Margaret York (1)

Disambiguation Notice:

(eng) aka Margaret Beda Larminie Nicholson


Værker af Margaret Yorke

Dangerous to Know (1993) 101 eksemplarer
Serious Intent (1995) 91 eksemplarer
Almost the Truth (1994) 90 eksemplarer
Dead in the Morning (1970) 68 eksemplarer
Crime in Question (1750) 67 eksemplarer
Speak for the Dead (1988) 63 eksemplarer
The Price of Guilt (1999) 62 eksemplarer
Criminal Damage (1993) 59 eksemplarer
Grave matters (1973) 59 eksemplarer
A Small Deceit (1991) 56 eksemplarer
Intimate Kill (1985) 52 eksemplarer
The Small Hours of the Morning (1975) 51 eksemplarer
A Question of Belief (1996) 50 eksemplarer
Admit to Murder (1990) 49 eksemplarer
The Point of Murder (1978) 48 eksemplarer
Act of Violence (1997) 48 eksemplarer
Evidence to Destroy (1987) 48 eksemplarer
Cast for death (1976) 46 eksemplarer
No Medals for the Major (1974) 43 eksemplarer
Find Me a Villain (1983) 42 eksemplarer
False Pretences (1998) 39 eksemplarer
The Hand of Death (1981) 37 eksemplarer
A Case to Answer (2000) 37 eksemplarer
Safely to the Grave (1986) 37 eksemplarer
Pieces of Justice (1994) 35 eksemplarer
The Cost of Silence (1977) 35 eksemplarer
The Scent of Fear (1980) 31 eksemplarer
Death on Account (1980) 31 eksemplarer
The Smooth Face of Evil (1924) 31 eksemplarer
Cause for Concern (2001) 30 eksemplarer
Devil's Work (1982) 25 eksemplarer
Silent Witness (1972) 24 eksemplarer
Mortal Remains (1974) 20 eksemplarer
Guilty Secrets (1992) 7 eksemplarer
No Fury (1987) 6 eksemplarer
Deceiving mirror (1988) 6 eksemplarer
Full Circle (1965) 4 eksemplarer
Christopher (1992) 4 eksemplarer
The Birthday (1991) 3 eksemplarer
The China Doll (2002) 3 eksemplarer
Früchte der Angst - bk1160 (1985) 2 eksemplarer
The Limbo Ladies (1992) 1 eksemplar
The Apricot Bed (1986) 1 eksemplar
Weekend Lady (1998) 1 eksemplar
Devil’s Work 1 eksemplar

Associated Works

The Folio Book of Christmas Crime Stories (2004) — Bidragyder — 117 eksemplarer
A Classic English Crime: 13 Stories for the Christie Centenary (1990) — Bidragyder — 77 eksemplarer
A Classic Christmas Crime (1995) — Bidragyder — 76 eksemplarer
The Detection Collection (2005) — Bidragyder — 75 eksemplarer
2nd Culprit: A Crime Writers' Association Annual (1993) — Bidragyder — 64 eksemplarer
1st Culprit: A Crime Writers' Association Annual (1992) — Bidragyder — 59 eksemplarer
Mysterious Pleasures (2003) — Bidragyder — 34 eksemplarer
Women of Mystery - Book 3 (1998) 24 eksemplarer
New Crimes 1 (1989) — Bidragyder — 20 eksemplarer
Deadly Pleasures (2013) — Bidragyder — 19 eksemplarer
Crime Waves: No. 1 (1991) — Bidragyder — 12 eksemplarer
John Creasey's Crime Collection, 1983 (1983) — Bidragyder — 8 eksemplarer
Dangerous Ladies (1992) — Bidragyder — 8 eksemplarer
Winter's Crimes 9 (1977) — Bidragyder — 6 eksemplarer
Winter's Crimes 13 (1981) — Bidragyder — 6 eksemplarer
John Creasey's Crime Collection, 1990 (1990) — Bidragyder — 5 eksemplarer
Perfectly Criminal 2: Whydunit? (1997) — Bidragyder — 4 eksemplarer
John Creasey's Crime Collection, 1982 (1982) — Bidragyder — 3 eksemplarer
John Creasey's Crime Collection, 1978 (1978) — Bidragyder — 3 eksemplarer
Winter's Crimes 23 (1991) 2 eksemplarer
Winter's Crimes 18 (1987) — Bidragyder — 2 eksemplarer

Satte nøgleord på

Almen Viden

Juridisk navn
Nicholson, Margaret Beda Larminie
Compton, Surrey, England, UK
Long Crendon, Buckinghamshire, UK
Dublin, Ireland
Prior's Field School
crime novelist
Crime Writers Association (Chairman | 1979-80)
Priser og hædersbevisninger
Cartier Diamond Dagger 1999
Oplysning om flertydighed
aka Margaret Beda Larminie Nicholson



BooksInMirror | 2 andre anmeldelser | Feb 19, 2024 |
I have become an avid fan of author Margaret Yorke since I discovered her books a number of years ago. I have now just finished her Speak For The Dead, originally published in 1988. This was a twisty thriller where we learn how a wife murderer who originally was able paint himself as a hapless, hen-picked mouse served a light prison sentence, was freed, and remarried but when he came home one night he found his new wife dead on the sofa. In a panic that he would be suspected, he hid her body, destroyed any evidence and tried to convince people that she had left him. Of course there was more going on with this second wife than her husband knew and the actual murderer is suffering realms of guilt and tried to confess but the police are totally zeroed into the husband and don’t believe him.

This author is to be commended on the originality of her plots and her well developed characters. The story was intricate yet all the various threads were woven together seamlessly. Speak For The Dead was a very entertaining murder story recounted in an understated, straight forward style.
… (mere)
DeltaQueen50 | 1 anden anmeldelse | Jan 9, 2024 |
Deceiving Mirror by Margaret Yorke was first published in 1960. Instead of being a mystery or crime story, this book is a well plotted, suspenseful psychological study. We are introduced to Nesta Falconer who has made a pleasant life for herself as a young widow, raising a daughter and living in an elegant cottage close to her brother-in-law’s farm. All too soon we learn how cold and manipulative Nesta is. She uses everyone in her life to promote the picture of herself that she wants others to see.

When her sister arrives to visit from the United States and becomes close to Nesta’s daughter and then to Nesta’s brother-in-law, she is seen as a threat to Nesta’s controlling ways. The author skillfully builds the tension to a revealing conclusion with plenty of twists along the way.

I admire Margaret Yorke’s work and find her stories compelling and interesting. Deceiving Mirror was unique and totally drew me in. Luckily, I know that I can always reach for one of her books and receive a very satisfactory read.
… (mere)
DeltaQueen50 | Dec 17, 2023 |
kind of stupid. quite disappointed
mahallett | Jun 14, 2022 |



Måske også interessante?

Associated Authors


Also by
½ 3.5

Diagrammer og grafer