Forfatter billede
1 Værk 381 Medlemmer 22 Anmeldelser

Værker af Breanne Randall

Satte nøgleord på

Almen Viden

Køn
female

Medlemmer

Anmeldelser

Oof I did not like this one. It has too many things trying to happen, from a dying grandmother, an estranged mother and maybe brother, a love interest who maybe isn't, magic that is poorly developed, inexplicably Christian witches, the strangest paragraph about drugs and gangs and trauma from the love interest, morally questionable actions treated as fine, and the cringiest use of swear words.
A Wizard's Guide to Defensive Baking is far better for magical baked goods.
 
Markeret
KallieGrace | 21 andre anmeldelser | Feb 27, 2024 |
The story is all right with likeable characters. I like the idea of balance with Magic, but i am not emotional attached to the main characters. She came across a bit needy and whiney sometime
 
Markeret
Baochuan | 21 andre anmeldelser | Feb 13, 2024 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I thought this would be a fun, cute, and cozy romance, but it wasn't as much like I thought it would be.

This was very much like Practical Magic, etc like, almost too close and too much like it. And, well, I didn't enjoy it as much as I thought I would. I thought this would be a light-hearted, cozy, fun romance, but it wasn't as light-hearted as I'd hoped, it had some fun parts and some humor, but not quite the light-hearted fun type of romance story I was hoping for.

I know a lot who will like this and if you like this kind of story, then feel free to check it out. This just wasn't what I hoped and not for me.

Thanks to Alcove Press and LibraryThing for letting me read and review this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
… (mere)
 
Markeret
Kiaya40 | 21 andre anmeldelser | Jan 16, 2024 |
Ever since Sadie Revelare was told about her four heartbreak curse that accompanies her magic, she’s never doubted the price wouldn’t be worth it. But when Gigi, her grandmother, is diagnosed with cancer and only has weeks to live, and her first heartbreak, Jake, returns after being gone for a decade, Sadie’s life feels like it’s unraveling and her magic can’t fix it. Even more, upon hearing about Gigi’s diagnosis, Sadie’s estranged twin brother, Seth, returns as well, uncovering family secrets that will tear her world apart.

Gigi has been the backbone to the Revelare family for generations, and with her death, Sadie must try with everything she’s got, to not only keep her family together, but her magic as well. As her feelings for Jake begin to respark, Sadie must decide if love is more important than her magic.

I don’t actively go about reading romance books, but this had the tagline “for fans of Practical Magic and Gilmore Girls” and I decided to give this a shot. I absolutely called the ending pretty early into the book, especially once everything was established. Though I was a little confused about Sadie’s curse… I still am to be honest. Also - witches who go to a christian church? What?

Overall, the book was okay. The premise of it was excellent, but it fell short for me.

*Thank you Alcove Press and NetGalley for an advance digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
… (mere)
 
Markeret
oldandnewbooksmell | 21 andre anmeldelser | Dec 21, 2023 |

Hæderspriser

Måske også interessante?

Associated Authors

Statistikker

Værker
1
Medlemmer
381
Popularitet
#63,387
Vurdering
½ 3.4
Anmeldelser
22
ISBN
11
Sprog
1

Diagrammer og grafer