Picture of author.

Maggie Nelson

Forfatter af The Argonauts

16+ Works 4,173 Members 131 Reviews 9 Favorited

Om forfatteren

Maggie Nelson is a poet, critic, and nonfiction author of several books including The Argonauts, The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning, Bluets, and Jane: A Murder: She teaches in the School of Critical Studies at CalArts and lives in Los Angeles, California.

Omfatter også følgende navne: Nelson Maggie, Maggie Nelson, 1973- , author

Værker af Maggie Nelson

Associated Works

Suicide blonde : roman (1992) — Introduktion, nogle udgaver473 eksemplarer
The Best American Poetry 2002 (2002) — Bidragyder — 182 eksemplarer
The Writer's Notebook II: Craft Essays from Tin House (2012) — Bidragyder — 37 eksemplarer
Pathetic Literature (2022) — Bidragyder — 21 eksemplarer
Ellery Queen Mysteries: The Complete Series (2010) — Actor — 21 eksemplarer

Satte nøgleord på

Almen Viden

Medlemmer

Anmeldelser

There are things I don't love about this (it's very white-cis-lady about racism and some trans stuff---trying hard but not all the way there and not always conscious of the ways in which she's not all the way there), but it's also a very theory-heavy book that also manages to be very poetic and very readable, which is not an easy feat. And overall I did like it and did find many valuable things in it, so.
 
Markeret
caedocyon | 78 andre anmeldelser | Feb 13, 2024 |
Great, great, great.
 
Markeret
RachelGMB | 78 andre anmeldelser | Dec 27, 2023 |
Complex musings on freedom as the concept applies to art, sex, drugs, and climate change. Nelson shows through her deeply considered thinking that the complexities ARE the thing. Freedom is never one thing and it must always face its inherent complications and conflicts. In the meanwhile we must speak our moments of joy, we must feel and live. We are after all living.
 
Markeret
BookyMaven | 5 andre anmeldelser | Dec 6, 2023 |
Christmas present from Saul. Very good and strangely relatable. I have nothing in common except so much in common. So many of the same thoughts, influences, and experiences. The exterior details differ, but on the inside I know her well, she’s practically me. A very thoughtful and tender book. The sort of book I might have written but would have worried about being too contrived. Is it contrived? A little, but it’s still good. My but don’t we all have so much to expound upon. In the vein of Sontag and Barthes. Little bits pulled together around a family: its expansions and diminutions, but ultimate steady poignant march.… (mere)
 
Markeret
BookyMaven | 78 andre anmeldelser | Dec 6, 2023 |

Lister

Hæderspriser

Måske også interessante?

Associated Authors

Statistikker

Værker
16
Also by
5
Medlemmer
4,173
Popularitet
#6,035
Vurdering
3.9
Anmeldelser
131
ISBN
125
Sprog
11
Udvalgt
9

Diagrammer og grafer