Picture of author.

Robert Marasco (1936–1998)

Forfatter af Ond nat

4+ Works 645 Members 30 Reviews

Om forfatteren

Includes the name: Marasco Robert

Image credit: Photo by Alan Carey

Værker af Robert Marasco

Ond nat (1973) 569 eksemplarer
Parlor Games (1979) 42 eksemplarer
Child's Play (1970) 33 eksemplarer

Associated Works

Best Mystery and Suspense Plays of the Modern Theatre (1971) — Bidragyder — 54 eksemplarer

Satte nøgleord på

Almen Viden

Fødselsdato
1936-09-22
Dødsdag
1998-12-06
Køn
male
Nationalitet
USA
Fødested
The Bronx, New York, USA
Dødssted
Manhasset, New York, USA
Bopæl
High Falls, New York, USA
Uddannelse
Fordham University
Erhverv
playwright
novelist
teacher (high school English, Latin, Greek)
Kort biografi
Robert Marasco (1936-1998) was an American horror writer best known for the 1970 Broadway play Child's Play.

Medlemmer

Anmeldelser

Considering this was first published in the 70s(?), this holds up pretty well if you squint. It's a haunted house story more in the vein of House of Leaves or Amityville Horror and less like, say, Rebecca or The Shining. That is, something is terribly wrong with the house itself vs. an entity haunting it per se.

This book may have been stronger if the main character 'felt' the weight of her choices more and if they all were more likable and relatable. That is, if there had been more investment in the marriage, family, or mother/child relationship so that there's more impact and emotion driving the plot/climax. There's a sort of, I dunno, simmering ennui to their lives and I didn't find myself particularly invested in what happens. But, maybe that's of its time - and captured the 70s well.

This is subtly scary - far more unsettling than terrifying. There's no gore, no jump scares, no drama - it builds slowly and nothing much happens until the end when something does. I've not seen the movie, but there are a couple of scenes in the book that I could see being standout scenes in film.

This has been on my list awhile as a grandaddy in the genre, I finally got around to it, and although it wasn't a favorite, and won't be a re-read, I'm not disappointed I did.
… (mere)
½
 
Markeret
angiestahl | 27 andre anmeldelser | Jan 22, 2024 |
A skillful writer, but a boring story teller. The pacing is agonizingly slow. The characters are one dimensional and formulaic. Marion a housewife who constantly spends outside her means gets the house of her dreams. Ben a stick in the mud pragmatist has to pretend he is OK with everything. And their only precocious child David likes endangering himself. Their only "character traits" are just vehicles to move the plot along. Marion, the housewife is obsessed with making this obviously evil,decrepit house feel like her own. Ben, the pragmatist tries to dissuade her from the allusion. David is kindling waiting to be tossed into the fire. Technically they all are. The sense of ominous, foreboding supernatural dread lurking behind every corner I was expecting was non-existent. The ending was uneventful. I'm really glad word runner was available otherwise it would have been a even more difficult to finish without it.… (mere)
 
Markeret
OnniAdda | 27 andre anmeldelser | Nov 22, 2023 |
“How could three weeks - less even - wipe out nine years?”

When an offer is too good to be true, well…

The first 55 pages or so of this book are VERY slow, and a bit tedious. And the next hundred didn't really heat things up. Basically, a family of three rent a mansion for the summer, and something is wrong with the deal. Especially with regards to the mom. And an old lady may, or may not, also be in the mansion. And something happens at the end, but I'm not quite sure what. But I'm pretty sure that nothing was ever 'burnt'. I think...… (mere)
½
 
Markeret
Stahl-Ricco | 27 andre anmeldelser | Oct 23, 2023 |
Read for a Haunted House graduate seminar at CU Boulder.

I love how the creepy factor in this novel wasn't created from a tangible sense of anything really creepy. To me, this is more of a psychological haunted house than the canonical "hungry house." Though I'm not an avid fan of horror - this one wasn't terrible. I'd recommend giving it a read!
 
Markeret
BreePye | 27 andre anmeldelser | Oct 6, 2023 |

Lister

Hæderspriser

Måske også interessante?

Associated Authors

Statistikker

Værker
4
Also by
1
Medlemmer
645
Popularitet
#39,135
Vurdering
½ 3.6
Anmeldelser
30
ISBN
22
Sprog
6

Diagrammer og grafer