Picture of author.

Yutang Lin (1895–1976)

Forfatter af Jordisk lykke

147+ Værker 2,998 Medlemmer 47 Anmeldelser 7 Favorited

Om forfatteren

Though he was never considered to be a serious original thinker or a leading writer in his native China, Lin Yu-t'ang's role as an essayist and popularizer of things Chinese in the West is worthy of attention. He was a native of Changchow in Amoy, son of a Presbyterian minister, and vis mere third-generation Christian. He was brought up in a strict household and prepared for the ministry, and after middle school he was sent to the Protestant College of Amoy. In 1911 he entered the famous St. John's University in Shanghai, and it was during his time there that he became disillusioned with the choice of a religious career and renounced Christianity. After graduation (with a rather weak academic record), Lin Yu-t'ang became a professor of English at Tsinghua University because his grounding in foreign languages was much stronger than in classical Chinese. In 1919 he decided to pursue further study in the United States, where he spent one year at Harvard University and then went on to France where he worked for the YMCA. He moved to Germany for a term, and at last in 1923 earned a Ph.D. in Leipzig in the field of archaic Chinese phonology. Lin Yu-t'ang then returned home and tried out various teaching posts, and in 1927 became secretary to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the Wuhan government. But politics was not to his liking, and he resigned in the following year. In 1932 he founded the Analects Fortnightly, a magazine of wit and satire that proved to be an instant popular success. Two years later he began another periodical, This Human World, which contained short essays. Unfortunately, his satire angered intellectuals on both the Left and the Right, and this was the beginning of his lifelong friction with Chinese literary and academic circles. In 1936, feeling hostility at home but an increased demand for his writings in the West, Lin Yu-t'ang went to New York City and remained there until 1943, when he went back home to lecture briefly and again became embroiled in controversy. However, in the United States, his essays and ideas were greeted with great enthusiasm. Early in 1954 he was appointed chancellor of the new Chinese University in Singapore, but, because of a disagreement with the trustees on policy, he and his staff left early in 1955 before the university opened its doors. Not long after this, in New York, he and his wife publicly announced their reconversion to Christianity. In addition to his many books of essays, Lin Yu-t'ang published a novel, Moment in Peking, a saga about a Chinese family spanning the years 1900--38. He also published a number of translations of classical Chinese works, the best of which is perhaps Shen Fu's Six Chapters of a Floating Life, the moving autobiographical account of a happy marriage marred by parental disapproval and the tragic early death of the wife. Lin Yu-t'ang's writings are marked by an appreciation of both Eastern and Western culture, and their sparkling, idiomatic English style has endeared him to thousands of Western readers. (Bowker Author Biography) vis mindre
Image credit: Library of Congress

Værker af Yutang Lin

Jordisk lykke (1937) 891 eksemplarer
The Wisdom of Laotse (1948) — Oversætter — 274 eksemplarer
The Wisdom of China and India (1942) 232 eksemplarer
My Country and My People (1938) 218 eksemplarer
Moment in Peking (1939) 191 eksemplarer
Famous Chinese Short Stories (1954) — Forfatter — 148 eksemplarer
Between Tears and Laughter (1943) 82 eksemplarer
From Pagan to Christian (1959) 72 eksemplarer
Lady Wu (1965) 72 eksemplarer
A Leaf in the Storm (1940) 52 eksemplarer
With Love and Irony (1940) 52 eksemplarer
The Wisdom of India (1942) 42 eksemplarer
The Vigil of a Nation (1945) 37 eksemplarer
Chinatown Family (1952) 35 eksemplarer
Kinakvinde i slacks (1961) 34 eksemplarer
The Chinese Theory of Art (1967) 31 eksemplarer
The Vermillion Gate (1953) 29 eksemplarer
The Wisdom of China (1949) 26 eksemplarer
The Pleasures of a Nonconformist (1962) 24 eksemplarer
Juniper Loa (1963) 15 eksemplarer
The Chinese way of life (1959) 15 eksemplarer
The flight of the innocents (1968) 14 eksemplarer
Imperial Chinese Art (1983) 13 eksemplarer
Miss Tu (1950) 12 eksemplarer
The Secret Name (1958) 8 eksemplarer
Looking Beyond (2011) 6 eksemplarer
Visdommens Ø (1955) 3 eksemplarer
A GOLDEN RING (1994) 3 eksemplarer
支那のユーモア 2 eksemplarer
啼笑皆非 (1994) 2 eksemplarer
Peking, Teil 1 und 2 2 eksemplarer
The Wisdom of China 2 eksemplarer
Mi patria y mi pueblo 2 eksemplarer
The Su eastern ascent spreads (2006) 2 eksemplarer
京華煙雲 (下) (2006) 2 eksemplarer
朱門 1 eksemplar
人生就像一首詩 (2013) 1 eksemplar
大城北京 (2003) 1 eksemplar
武則天傳 (2006) 1 eksemplar
生活的藝術 1 eksemplar
京華煙雲 1 eksemplar
行素集 1 eksemplar
吾國與吾民 1 eksemplar
Imperial Peking 1 eksemplar
武則天 1 eksemplar
生活的藝術 1 eksemplar
風聲鶴唳 1 eksemplar
正當徬徨少年時 (1991) 1 eksemplar
紅牡丹 1 eksemplar
信仰之旅 1 eksemplar
信仰之旅 1 eksemplar
China 1 eksemplar
Un genio alegre 1 eksemplar
El nombre secreto 1 eksemplar
京華煙雲 (上) (2006) 1 eksemplar
Widow Chuan (1952) 1 eksemplar
Un Genio Alegre 1 eksemplar
La vida en China (1986) 1 eksemplar
Teachings on Avalokitesvara (2002) 1 eksemplar
Buddhisme untuk pemula (2021) 1 eksemplar
勵志人生 1 eksemplar
Ren sheng bu guo ru ci (2007) 1 eksemplar
Universally Responding (2001) 1 eksemplar
京華煙雲 1 eksemplar
Die rote Peony (1969) 1 eksemplar
Punainen portti 1 eksemplar
Boundless 1 eksemplar
Harvest Moon On West Lake (1990) 1 eksemplar
Diamond Wisdom 1 eksemplar
Lin Yutang 1 eksemplar
Sabiduría Hidú 1 eksemplar
Sabiduría China 1 eksemplar

Associated Works

The Wisdom of Confucius (1938) 547 eksemplarer
A World of Great Stories (1947) 263 eksemplarer
The Best of Both Worlds: An Anthology of Stories for All Ages (1968) — Oversætter — 25 eksemplarer
Secrets of Chinese Cooking (1960) — Bidragyder, nogle udgaver24 eksemplarer
The Analog Sea Review: Number Two (2019) — Bidragyder — 18 eksemplarer
A history of Chinese literature (1964) — Forord, nogle udgaver8 eksemplarer

Satte nøgleord på

Almen Viden



Indeholder "Forord", "Lao Hsiang: Enken Chuan", "Liu O: En nonne fra Taishan", "Lin Yutang: Frøken Tu".

"Forord" handler om ???
"Lao Hsiang: Enken Chuan" handler om ???
"Liu O: En nonne fra Taishan" handler om ???
"Lin Yutang: Frøken Tu" handler om ???
bnielsen | Apr 24, 2013 |



Måske også interessante?

Associated Authors


Also by

Diagrammer og grafer